Volkswagen 1.6L Turbo Diesel - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Suzuki
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2010, 10:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 81152
Posts: 49
Volkswagen 1.6L Turbo Diesel

Few crappy cell phone pics of my recently started Volkswagen Turbo diesel swap into a samurai.

Freshly painted donor motor. 1.6l turbo diesel, eco version.



Freshly painted and rebuilt samurai transmission w/ petroworks heavy duty clutch installed:



Motor and Transmission Bolted together using Acme Adapters kit, heavy duty stuff, and no the jack+plastic lawn chair are not being used to support weight, they were there to assit me aligning the shaft on the transmission so that it would slide on correctly, the motor is bolted to the wooden crate using the motor mount:



Pic of the timing hole in the bell housing showing the new timing mark on the flywheel that came with the acme kit:



Close up showing how beefy the adapter plate is:



Image showing the new transmission position, which will lean slightly to the passenger side of the vehicle once mounted in:



And finally, a pic of something i need help with, identify the wire # 4 on the samurai ignition switch:


What is wire # 4 for!?!?!? its labled "AM" on the black plastic from which it protrudes...

#1. Solid Black w/ Yellow Stripe, labeled "ST" (starter?)
#2. Solid White w/ Black Stripe, labeled "ACC"
#3. Solid Black w/ White Stripe, labeled "IG" (Ignition?)
#4. Solid White, Labeled "AM"

I need help trying to figure out what goes to what so i can wire up the diesel motor....

Last edited by grhawn; 02-09-2010 at 10:28 PM.
grhawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Member # 138552
Location: orting washington
Posts: 315
it might be a ground, but i dont know, i hate electical.
as for a diesel in a samurai, i want to do it some day. sounds sick. i thought about puttin a diesel in my yota for a little while but i think a sammi would be a better application,
81 toyota 4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-09-2010, 10:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 81152
Posts: 49
So far on the samurai i have
31" LTB
SPOA
SKY OTT steering
TT Bonz-eye Springs front and rear
Spidertrax ubolt kit
SKY lower shock mounts
TT HD Bone shackles
Poly U Bushings for springs
High clearance Transmission Mount
Rocky road (...) HD long arm for t-case
Davesport front cage
Fully herculined interior
Rustoleum bed liner sprayed on under belly + engine bay - i REALLY like the way it looks and so far its been pretty tough stuff, highly recommended for its price point...

cant think of anything else that ive done....

Future mods include R&P + Tcase gears along with full rebuild of t-case and axles
TT Chromoly axles front and rear
Rear ARB locker, open front
grhawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 81152
Posts: 49
I highly recommend Acme Adapters if your going with a samurai or toyota application. my next project will likely be an old toyota pick up (round headlights) with a 1.6l TD. Ill post pics of the sammy when i get a chance.
grhawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 05:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72478
Location: pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 141
why will the tranny lean?
ralphdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 08:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 81152
Posts: 49
because the original samurai motor sits "vertically" where as the volkswagen motor's "lean" they are not straight up and down, they sit at an angle in the engine bay.

Last edited by grhawn; 02-10-2010 at 08:47 PM.
grhawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 09:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
tdavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Member # 908
Location: Pinole, CA
Posts: 2,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by grhawn View Post
What is wire # 4 for!?!?!? its labled "AM" on the black plastic from which it protrudes...

#1. Solid Black w/ Yellow Stripe, labeled "ST" (starter?)
#2. Solid White w/ Black Stripe, labeled "ACC"
#3. Solid Black w/ White Stripe, labeled "IG" (Ignition?)
#4. Solid White, Labeled "AM"

I need help trying to figure out what goes to what so i can wire up the diesel motor....
White/Yellow is the +12v feed from the battery. Or since it's probably faded, it's just +12v.
__________________
I take my zuk out for walks.

Last edited by tdavis; 02-10-2010 at 09:32 PM. Reason: cleanup
tdavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 10:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Member # 152273
Location: Greenville,SC
Posts: 1
How easy is the wiring for the engine management?
bulrid8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 09:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48335
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulrid8 View Post
How easy is the wiring for the engine management?
an IDI vw diesel will run perfectly with ONE wire to the injection pump. Aside from that, hook up the alt, starter, gauges, and youre pretty much done. Some of the "complicated" turbo diesels require TWO switched power wires run to the IP, one for the fuel cutoff solenoid, and one for a timing advance thing or some such. In any case, wiring is dead simple.

The vw TDIs, on the other hand, are a whole 'nuther ballgame.
phil_j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 09:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48335
Location: bc, canada
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by grhawn View Post

Image showing the new transmission position, which will lean slightly to the passenger side of the vehicle once mounted in:

Yeah, acme builds a great kit. Are you using their engine mounts as well? I know the vw motors are leaned over pretty good in the stock application, but I sure don't remember mine being leaned that far over in my samurai using their engine mounts. They may have some lean to them, but I would have bet they were much closer to vertical. I've since made my own mounts, and the engine sits dead upright now.
phil_j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 08:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 81152
Posts: 49
I should have been more descriptive when i posted that picture, the transmission only leans slightly to the right once mounted into the vehicle. the picture is exaggerated.

I am using the Acme motor mounts, i also purchased a new radiator and radiator "kit" from them as well



As stated above the wire is dead simple and soon as i am finished wiring it up ill post pics

i wanted to reuse the samurai ignition switch, i ended up getting rid of the ENTIRE samurai wiring harness so i am starting from scratch

Last edited by grhawn; 02-11-2010 at 08:53 PM.
grhawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 03:17 AM   #12 (permalink)
Skandinavisk pirat
 
ShuDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Member # 30288
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,176
the stock engine lean quite a bit as well, not sure why the mounts in the ACME kit are so the tranny leans a little..when I made mounts I kept the tranny at stock angle. Is it to clear the hood? The engine does not care what angle it sits at anyway
Have you stripped the stock wiring? if not you can just plug the diesel into the +12v plug that goes to the coil. Engine looks good
ShuDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 01:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 81152
Posts: 49
i did strip every last wire out of the samurai. i will not be using the gauge cluster. i will be using a tiny tach for the tachometer (http://www.tinytach.com/tinytach/diesel.php) and a GPS for the speedo and navigation purposes. the tiny tach may not (?) be as accurate as a conventional tach, but for my purposes its fine.

The headlights and turnsignals will be on they're own seperate circut and im hoping to tap my ignition switch for everything else.
grhawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 08:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
azrocktrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 25980
Location: under a rock,az
Posts: 207
looking good rhawn,can't wait to see it on what's left of the GAP
__________________
86 tintop 1.3 w/t MS2 header 2in exhaust 462r/p w/t open diffs 6.5 tcase 33 km2s.
azrocktrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 01:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 81152
Posts: 49
What do you mean "whats left of the gap"?

i havent been up there since the groups last run....


Got the motor mounted in today - realized the Rock 4x high clearance mount wont work without modification because of the new lean.....


trying to figure out a work around
grhawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 04:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Member # 120505
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 112
The engine only leans becasue of teh way the adapter plate HAS to be..

Why doesn`t anyone on Pirate do a 1.9TD?
So much more ponies...

That eco diesel pump , you ll want to get yourself an LDA ASAP. you ll have very little power if you have a turbo.

Once you get an LDA and get yourself a EGT gage and turn the fuel up.
You ll end up breakig the sami tranny...
Until then, have fun with it... BTW when you do exhause 2.5" all the way back, no muffler needed. It runs relatively quite without one...
__________________
95 sidekick, custom longarms, 16" coilovers, VW 1.9TD , Toyota axles tranny and dual cases.
slim_badboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
azrocktrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 25980
Location: under a rock,az
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by grhawn View Post
What do you mean "whats left of the gap"?

i havent been up there since the groups last run....


Got the motor mounted in today - realized the Rock 4x high clearance mount wont work without modification because of the new lean.....


trying to figure out a work around
give me a call when you get to that point with the mount,maybe i can come over and we can toss around some ideas.

and read this and catch up.we need all the help we can get.
/forum/land-use-issues/862408-coronado-national-forest-under-attack-united-states-forest-service.html
__________________
86 tintop 1.3 w/t MS2 header 2in exhaust 462r/p w/t open diffs 6.5 tcase 33 km2s.
azrocktrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:11 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 81152
Posts: 49
what the freaking hell is this....


that pisses me off soo much....


The monkey wrench gang is the only thing that comes to mind...
grhawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:54 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 81152
Posts: 49
LDA isnt ringing a bell for me... could be brain fart...


I probably wont put any time or effort into "tweaking" the power output of the motor so much as dumping money into making it reliable (timing belt, water pump, rollers etc etc).

with stock gearing i heard this combination needs atleast 31" tires. i will be putting 4.16 gears along with r&p, so power wont be an issue with the torque of the motor being at the low end...


I have a 1.9 ready to swap into a samurai... but first i have to wreck the 99 jetta that its in so i can use the motor...
grhawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 06:46 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
azrocktrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 25980
Location: under a rock,az
Posts: 207
how's the build going rhawn?
__________________
86 tintop 1.3 w/t MS2 header 2in exhaust 462r/p w/t open diffs 6.5 tcase 33 km2s.
azrocktrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 04:37 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 81152
Posts: 49
Here are some updates:





















Last edited by grhawn; 02-27-2010 at 04:38 PM.
grhawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 04:37 PM   #22 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 81152
Posts: 49







Last edited by grhawn; 02-27-2010 at 04:38 PM.
grhawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 04:11 AM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Member # 129329
Location: Grovetown, GA
Posts: 155
Nice and clean, I like it! I'm finishing up my body swap now and things, wiring wise, are much neater and clean. No where near like yours though.
__________________
1990 K5 - Tons and more
1988 Sammi - 16v, Yotas, 36's on H1's
Copasetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:58 AM   #24 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 81152
Posts: 49
Thanks, the goal from the beginning was to keep it simple and clean. the headers are painted with the VHT high temp flame proof header paint, not sure why i grabbed orange.... but whatever. i got a deal on convoluted tubing so im going to keep everything wrapped up in that stuff.
grhawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 04:00 AM   #25 (permalink)
Skandinavisk pirat
 
ShuDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Member # 30288
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,176
Why Isn't the perches welded?
ShuDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.