3 speed auto not shifting - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Suzuki
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2011, 09:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
lenross1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Member # 105385
Location: jackson, MS
Posts: 653
3 speed auto not shifting

Hey Guys,

I installed a 3 speed tracker/kick auto behind my 1.6 8 valve motor. I chose this tranny due to the lack of electrical connections needed. I have first and reverse but i will not shift into second or third. I don't think i can even manually shift it to 2nd.

I have NOT installed any of the wiring or the kick down cable. If the wires half to be installed where does each go?

I have searched and found nothin'

Thanks for the help in advance.
__________________
Www.CottonlandCruisers.com
87 samurai 3sp auto/1.8 kick tcase/4:1 dana300, yota axles, 4 link rear, 39" krawlers.. reds
97 FZJ80 supersets,chromoly rear axles,4.88s , 345 KM2s
lenross1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 10:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member # 168482
Posts: 241
wow your fast you posted the same post on zk and your post are the first ones that come up under new posts. im shure betwwen the two youll get your answer. good luck.
__________________
16v w56 dual toys w/ 4.7s, 5.29 ARBs toys 30 spline longs hydro steer linked f/r 108 wb 39.5 iroks
nickrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-30-2011, 01:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Hvy_Chevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Member # 14094
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,652
Send a message via AIM to Hvy_Chevy
I don't have the kickdown or wires connected, and mine shifts.
Do you have the vacuum line connected?
__________________
Size does matter.
Leave the Zukes to those who really understand.
Hvy_Chevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 08:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member # 68882
Location: sacramento
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hvy_Chevy View Post
I don't have the kickdown or wires connected, and mine shifts.
Do you have the vacuum line connected?
X2 on making sure you have the vacum line connected. i also have no wires or kickdown
hooliganZUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 07:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
lenross1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Member # 105385
Location: jackson, MS
Posts: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooliganZUK View Post
X2 on making sure you have the vacum line connected. i also have no wires or kickdown
Vaccum line is connected. Does it matter which vacuum line to T off of. I picked a line that was pretty small in diameter.
__________________
Www.CottonlandCruisers.com
87 samurai 3sp auto/1.8 kick tcase/4:1 dana300, yota axles, 4 link rear, 39" krawlers.. reds
97 FZJ80 supersets,chromoly rear axles,4.88s , 345 KM2s
lenross1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 07:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
lenross1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Member # 105385
Location: jackson, MS
Posts: 653
This is the vaccuum line i tapped into. Its the one that comes out of the top of intake near the thermostat.

__________________
Www.CottonlandCruisers.com
87 samurai 3sp auto/1.8 kick tcase/4:1 dana300, yota axles, 4 link rear, 39" krawlers.. reds
97 FZJ80 supersets,chromoly rear axles,4.88s , 345 KM2s
lenross1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 07:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
lenross1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Member # 105385
Location: jackson, MS
Posts: 653
I was told it could be the vaccuum modulator ( what i am pointing at) or i could use more tranny fluid.

__________________
Www.CottonlandCruisers.com
87 samurai 3sp auto/1.8 kick tcase/4:1 dana300, yota axles, 4 link rear, 39" krawlers.. reds
97 FZJ80 supersets,chromoly rear axles,4.88s , 345 KM2s
lenross1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 01:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Member # 89104
Posts: 1,004
Low fluid, or lack of fluid will definitely cause it not to shift properly. If you get that vac hose and everything you need hooked up and it still does not shift, pull the pan, and clean the screen and flush the fluid.

Over half the time a good service will cure allot of automatic transmission problems.
skyman6529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Member # 128317
Posts: 134
That's the vacuum modulator. Some have a screw in them you get at through the hole the vacuum line hooks up to. Changes the shift points. You should also hook up the wires, or the torque converter won't lock up. I use to have mine switched so I could leave it hooked and walk the rig down hill like a manual.
There were pic brake downs of the trans on Ebay. Bunch of stuff on Australian Holman site.
baldfatdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
lenross1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Member # 105385
Location: jackson, MS
Posts: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by baldfatdad View Post
That's the vacuum modulator. Some have a screw in them you get at through the hole the vacuum line hooks up to. Changes the shift points. You should also hook up the wires, or the torque converter won't lock up. I use to have mine switched so I could leave it hooked and walk the rig down hill like a manual.
There were pic brake downs of the trans on Ebay. Bunch of stuff on Australian Holman site.
Thatone thing i didnt like coming down hill in the auto no compression braking. So you are saying i could hook up the lock up converter wire to a switch and it would be like having compression braking ?!
I am all for that!
Is it just a matter of hooking to a ground and 12 v source or do i need a freakin relay? I am terrible with wiring..
__________________
Www.CottonlandCruisers.com
87 samurai 3sp auto/1.8 kick tcase/4:1 dana300, yota axles, 4 link rear, 39" krawlers.. reds
97 FZJ80 supersets,chromoly rear axles,4.88s , 345 KM2s
lenross1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.