AVHC Lifter Mount Bracket on 2x2 2x4 4x4 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Vendor Forums > Torchmate CNC Forum
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2012, 10:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
JohnC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3310
Location: WA
Posts: 979
AVHC Lifter Mount Bracket on 2x2 2x4 4x4

Guys with the growth series, how is your AVHC Lifter Station mounted? This is the only way mine fits with the brackets supplied. The problem is that now I only have 22.4" of travel. I think I need to trash the TM mounts and build my own to turn the lift station 90 degrees and mount the back of it directly to the gantry.





JohnC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 10:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Member # 166674
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 569
Im on my phone but that looks like how mine is mounted and i get the full 24x24

Sent from my SCH-I510 using Tapatalk
Speed_Freak_039A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 10:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
JohnC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3310
Location: WA
Posts: 979
The way mine is mounted, I can only get 22.4 of travel across the gantry before the torch hits on the left, or the back of the lifter station hits on the right.
JohnC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 12:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
Join Date: May 2005
Member # 47407
Location: Western, NY
Posts: 297
You can raise the AVHC on the mounting bracket, it's slotted. It will get you real close to 24". However, when running the machine at higher speed doing anything with a lot of direction change, you will get some "flex" in the torch. Which leads to "saw tooth" edges on your cuts. At least for me it did.
ZJunderconst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 12:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Who took my cake?
 
mechanicalmongoose20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Member # 120626
Location: Mooresville, Indiana
Posts: 1,676
Find Jim Colts thread where he made his own mount, but from the pretty side. And there was another thread not long ago where they made a bracket to lower the mount to cut down on deflection, (this one have the lifter station 90 to how you have it mounted.)

Good luck.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 45acp View Post
I can't blame him for that... I would much rather sit around and do bong rips than try and clean all this shit up. :thumbsup:

Last edited by mechanicalmongoose20; 02-24-2012 at 12:26 PM.
mechanicalmongoose20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 12:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Member # 170537
Posts: 183
I have a 4x4 mine mounts right on the gantry why dont you ditch that 90degree bracket and.mount.it right on the gantry
glosasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 01:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Rock God
 
jdh239's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Member # 132992
Posts: 1,548
I drilled new holes in the bracket (mounted in the same direction as yours) and after making my tweaks I can cut 24x48 with plasma. z-axis is another story.
jdh239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 01:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
JohnC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3310
Location: WA
Posts: 979
I agree with all the comments about redoing the bracketry. I'm going to fab my own mounts this weekend. Just disappointed that it doesn't work "out of the box".
JohnC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 01:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Member # 205911
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 29
Looks like your using your manual torch bracket when you should mount the AVHC direct.
__________________
------------------------------------------
TM 4x4 with a HT PM45.....Be One With It..
invader28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 01:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 115338
Posts: 425
The large back plate uses 4 allen head screws to attach it, you can disguard the 90 deg bracket and mount the lifter station to the backing plate, pull two of the existing screws out of the large backing plate and use the bolt holes, you will need to provide slightly longer allen head screws to mount it.
Dnmeistr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 01:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
JohnC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3310
Location: WA
Posts: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZJunderconst View Post
You can raise the AVHC on the mounting bracket, it's slotted. It will get you real close to 24". However, when running the machine at higher speed doing anything with a lot of direction change, you will get some "flex" in the torch. Which leads to "saw tooth" edges on your cuts. At least for me it did.
I just slid the lifter station all the way up in the slots. Still collides when jogged all the way to the right.

And what was .050" of slop is now closer to .100" due to the torch being slid further down in the lift station clamps.



Quote:
Originally Posted by invader28 View Post
Looks like your using your manual torch bracket when you should mount the AVHC direct.
Looks like it, but this is the bracket they supplied with the AVHC. I called tech support, and they confirmed this is the "right" bracket.
JohnC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 01:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
JohnC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3310
Location: WA
Posts: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dnmeistr View Post
The large back plate uses 4 allen head screws to attach it, you can disguard the 90 deg bracket and mount the lifter station to the backing plate, pull two of the existing screws out of the large backing plate and use the bolt holes, you will need to provide slightly longer allen head screws to mount it.
Cool, I will try this! Thanks!
JohnC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 02:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Rock God
 
jdh239's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Member # 132992
Posts: 1,548
Mine would collide too. Drilled holes higher up on the bracket and it works.

I too was disappointed that it didn't work out of the box as it should have.
jdh239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
Zydenet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member # 194708
Posts: 206
Looks like yours is on the opposite side of the braket then mine. Will check when I get home but I get the full 24"x48" out of the box.
__________________
Torchmate 2x4 - Hypertherm Powermax 85
Zydenet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 04:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
JohnC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3310
Location: WA
Posts: 979
Big thanks to Jake in Torchmate Tech Support! He just called and addressed each problem I'm having. He's sending me out replacement parts and assured me that we'd get this taken care of!
JohnC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 11:06 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Member # 184847
Posts: 1,172
soooo they send the wrong part or operator error??
North Shore Fab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 11:32 AM   #17 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
S1036s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Member # 83940
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 234
sending him a whole new unit... time will tell
S1036s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 01:10 PM   #18 (permalink)
Rock God
 
jdh239's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Member # 132992
Posts: 1,548
They sent me a replacement part too, but it didn't work. They assembled my avhc backwards (like yours). It can be switched around, but I didn't bother (the back plate is what has been flipped 180 degrees). I just chucked the replacement bracket as it didn't work anyway. Modified the current one to fit my needs.
jdh239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 07:17 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
JohnC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3310
Location: WA
Posts: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by North Shore Fab View Post
soooo they send the wrong part or operator error??
The lift station I originally received is bad. They're replacing it. The bracket they insist is correct, but it's a crappy design. I'll be redoing it myself.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jdh239 View Post
They sent me a replacement part too, but it didn't work. They assembled my avhc backwards (like yours). It can be switched around, but I didn't bother (the back plate is what has been flipped 180 degrees). I just chucked the replacement bracket as it didn't work anyway. Modified the current one to fit my needs.
Nice. I hope the replacement they're sending me does the trick.
JohnC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.