Coordinate System Question - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Vendor Forums > Torchmate CNC Forum
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2012, 09:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Member # 202275
Posts: 15
Coordinate System Question

Hi Group,

I have been working with coordinate systems for way longer I can remember and what I have always seen on all machines I have ever owned and own (until now) is what I expected from math theory. X increases (becomes more positive) while moving from left to right, and y increases while moving away from me, or bottom to top.

On my Torchmate SW this is precisely what I see, but on the table it is not. At least not for the X axis. The Y axis is doing what I expect, but the X axis is backwards. Should I assume there is a setting I am missing?

I assembled the machine as instructed on the manual. The motors are facing to the back and the gantry was mounted into the rails so the plasma torch faces the front.

I guess it is a matter of getting acustomed to, but I would rather not. All my other equipment follows convention and to come into the plasma table and have to rewire my brain is no pleasing endeavor.

Thanks for any help you may be able to provide!
avayan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Member # 134153
Posts: 270
In your instructions there is a section named "Initial configuration". This section has a subsection named "Motion Testing" (page 184 in my growth series instructions) here you should be able to configure the direction of your X and Y axis's to the correct configuration. Hope this helps.

Thanks
Andrew
BigRedSilverado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 84593
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 3,015
Send a message via AIM to HardcorewannabeXJ Send a message via MSN to HardcorewannabeXJ
Yes, the Configuration - System - Motor Signal page lets you adjust the machines axes and directions to make it match your computer screen.

Last edited by HardcorewannabeXJ; 04-13-2012 at 10:37 AM.
HardcorewannabeXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 11:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Member # 202275
Posts: 15
Got it, working gorgeously now! Thanks for the pointers.
avayan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.