Connecting AVHC to TD151???? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Vendor Forums > Torchmate CNC Forum
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2012, 08:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
THE ROCK GODS
 
B2Krawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18818
Location: Lake Tahoe
Posts: 1,146
Connecting AVHC to TD151????

Just got a new to me TD151

could someone point me in the right direction to connecting AVHC to this machine?

I have dowloaded PDF manual but didnt see anything.

few other questions
if i dont have AVHC (coming soon), could someone suggests a good cut/pierce height, what is a happy medium w/o height control

This machine has a 50' sl100 torch, how/which screen do i adjust for such a long lead, I have been told with such a long lead that i will need to compensate for the air to get that far down the line to time correctly with the ignite timing?

I understand that there is much less support for this machine, so any suggestions would be great,
__________________
KOH CAR 415, McCarthy Motorsports
THE ROCK GODS, Reno Nv
Hey Tech Fabrication
HTF buggy, 6.0, 40s, Spidertrax/Megas,
RZR XP1000

Last edited by B2Krawler; 04-24-2012 at 08:47 PM.
B2Krawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 11:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Member # 184847
Posts: 1,175
check your PM
if you dont have the THC yet just hook up the small pig tail on the torch lead. TM makes an interface cable that plugs into that 9 pin plastic that goes to the something on the controller. on mine it hooked to the THC but on my bosses table none THC and TD cutter i just opened up the nine pin and took some wire and made a little cable to go the controller

if that doesnt make sense give me a call in the morning ill walk you through it
North Shore Fab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 11:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
THE ROCK GODS
 
B2Krawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18818
Location: Lake Tahoe
Posts: 1,146
thanks, i PMd ya before reading this, I may call you
__________________
KOH CAR 415, McCarthy Motorsports
THE ROCK GODS, Reno Nv
Hey Tech Fabrication
HTF buggy, 6.0, 40s, Spidertrax/Megas,
RZR XP1000
B2Krawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 05:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member # 194730
Posts: 23
All the CM 1 series units have connections for raw arc voltage access on the output pcb. They are E1 (-) and E2(+). You can see them along the bottom edge of the output pcb, halfway across horizontally on the bottom edge.
Raw arc voltage is the voltage signal you need to run the AVHC.
mlinehan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 12:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Torchmate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 98865
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlinehan View Post
All the CM 1 series units have connections for raw arc voltage access on the output pcb. They are E1 (-) and E2(+). You can see them along the bottom edge of the output pcb, halfway across horizontally on the bottom edge.
Raw arc voltage is the voltage signal you need to run the AVHC.
Good to see you on here Mike! Someone just commented in another thread about wanting to see a Thermal Dynamics representative get involved on this forum.
__________________
WWW.TORCHMATE.COM

We are hiring! Email your resume to our Human Resources Manager at cnichols@torchmate.com and ask about openings.


Buy your consumables here! www.torchmatestore.com
Torchmate Racing Homepage: www.torchmateracing.com
Torchmate CNC Forum here: /forum/125-torchmate-cnc-forum/
Torchmate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 03:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
THE ROCK GODS
 
B2Krawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18818
Location: Lake Tahoe
Posts: 1,146
I do have raw connected to E1 and E2, someone at TM suggested that the resistor next to the E1 termninal often burns up, but it should not matter, (what is purpose, if it doesnt matter if it burns up) he also suggested going right to the main raw arc connections on the same board to solve that problem. any thoughts here?

Im getting the AVHC next week, should i just use the raw arc from those terminals, or should i get the 14pin plug that goes on the back of the TD151 that the TD books talks about?
is there any advantage to adding that CNC plug/port?
__________________
KOH CAR 415, McCarthy Motorsports
THE ROCK GODS, Reno Nv
Hey Tech Fabrication
HTF buggy, 6.0, 40s, Spidertrax/Megas,
RZR XP1000
B2Krawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Member # 184847
Posts: 1,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torchmate View Post
Good to see you on here Mike! Someone just commented in another thread about wanting to see a Thermal Dynamics representative get involved on this forum.
me me me!!!

so i guess we are not making sparks yet? like i said i have never cracked the case to see where those wires went but you should be able to just hook them up making sure polarity is right and it will work with your new avhc. it should all work i just cut the one lead out the back and unhooked it from my table
North Shore Fab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 02:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
THE ROCK GODS
 
B2Krawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18818
Location: Lake Tahoe
Posts: 1,146
I made some sparks, very ugly line test, but am waiting on my new consumables, right now i just have the used 100amp tip, i ordered a complete set of tip, electrodes, etc.

think im going to get the AVHC this week to make my life easier

i think its going to work good once its all dialed in
__________________
KOH CAR 415, McCarthy Motorsports
THE ROCK GODS, Reno Nv
Hey Tech Fabrication
HTF buggy, 6.0, 40s, Spidertrax/Megas,
RZR XP1000
B2Krawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 06:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member # 194730
Posts: 23
You can use the 9-8310 interface pcb or you can wire the connections yourself. The advantages of the interface are that you get all your signals at the interface connector and there is a voltage divider function built in, if you ever get an AVHC system that requires something other than raw arc voltage. If you want to look at details of the connections, download the CM 151 manual 0-4691. At Appendix 14 there is a detailed drawing of the interface in connections.
mlinehan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 84593
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 3,017
Send a message via AIM to HardcorewannabeXJ Send a message via MSN to HardcorewannabeXJ
To touch on Mike's interface PCB, the Torchmate AVHC only accepts raw arc voltage, there is no option for divided. If you use something other than the Torchmate AVHC, that board may be required in order to get the AVHC to work properly.

-Mike
HardcorewannabeXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 12:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Member # 184847
Posts: 1,175
What other THC 'S units are out there. I know hypertherm makes something called the edge series but have not been able to get any info on it
North Shore Fab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.