Questions about 2x2 table - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Vendor Forums > Torchmate CNC Forum
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2010, 12:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 96130
Location: Northern Alberta
Posts: 1,912
Questions about 2x2 table

Questions for you guys:

- What do I need for system requirements to run the CAD light software?

- Does the 2x2 table come with a stand?

- Will my Hypertherm 380XP work with the 2x2? I primarily cut 1/8, 3/16 and 1/4.

- One thing that was not clear (for me) on your website was, do I need to buy an additional piece to hold the plasma torch?

- Could you PM me an "all-in" price for the table and the software? Don't worry about a shipping quote.

Thanks,

Corey
__________________
Corey Kruchkowski, [COLOR="DarkOrange"]TEAM TNT motorsports - car 780/car 781[/COLOR]
[COLOR="Lime"]Pitbull Tires [/COLOR]
[COLOR="Red"]ROARK SUPPLY [url]www.roarksupply.com[/url][/COLOR]
[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"]Bilstein Shock Absorbers [/COLOR]
[COLOR="Gray"]Rugged Race Radios[/COLOR]
[COLOR="Orange"]Gear Center Group [URL="http://www.gearcentregroup.com/"]http://www.gearcentregroup.com/[/URL][/COLOR]
YJ_and_Corey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 04:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 84593
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 3,017
Send a message via AIM to HardcorewannabeXJ Send a message via MSN to HardcorewannabeXJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by YJ_and_Corey View Post
Questions for you guys:

- What do I need for system requirements to run the CAD light software?

- Does the 2x2 table come with a stand?

- Will my Hypertherm 380XP work with the 2x2? I primarily cut 1/8, 3/16 and 1/4.

- One thing that was not clear (for me) on your website was, do I need to buy an additional piece to hold the plasma torch?

- Could you PM me an "all-in" price for the table and the software? Don't worry about a shipping quote.

Thanks,

Corey
The minimum system requirements for CAD Lite are 2ghz processor, 1gb ram, and about 5 gb free on the hard drive. It doesn't require any video card, and runs on Windows XP through Windows 7.

The 2x2 table is meant to be a portable table and therefore does not come with a stand, however one can be easily fabricated (plans are being released soon) or sawhorses and bentops can work as well.

I'm not familiar with the 380 xp, but if it is high frequency I would recommend against it.

The machines base price is $1,995, plus a hand torch holder and CAD lite, the prices are available on the website. I'm sure Torchmate can Chime in on this.
HardcorewannabeXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 09:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member # 32262
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by HardcorewannabeXJ View Post
The minimum system requirements for CAD Lite are 2ghz processor, 1gb ram, and about 5 gb free on the hard drive. It doesn't require any video card, and runs on Windows XP through Windows 7.

The 2x2 table is meant to be a portable table and therefore does not come with a stand, however one can be easily fabricated (plans are being released soon) or sawhorses and bentops can work as well.

I'm not familiar with the 380 xp, but if it is high frequency I would recommend against it.

The machines base price is $1,995, plus a hand torch holder and CAD lite, the prices are available on the website. I'm sure Torchmate can Chime in on this.

glad i read this. i thought i read in the other thread that it would run on an 800mhz, 256 ram? if it needs more i'll wait till i get back before ordering the software.
Gusagus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 05:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Torchmate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 98865
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by YJ_and_Corey View Post

- Could you PM me an "all-in" price for the table and the software? Don't worry about a shipping quote.
$1995 for the 2x2 Machine including Torchmate Driver Software
$ 235 for the Hand Torch Holder
$ 250 for Torchmate CADLite

$2,480 Total


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gusagus View Post
glad i read this. i thought i read in the other thread that it would run on an 800mhz, 256 ram? if it needs more i'll wait till i get back before ordering the software.
The driver software that runs the machine does not take as much computer to run. The Torchmate CAD on the other hand can lock up a lesser computer. Especially when you get into the regular version and full nesting. There are so many options as to how you want it to cram pieces into the plate that it can choke itself out.

How are things going over there? Staying safe?
__________________
WWW.TORCHMATE.COM

We are hiring! Email your resume to our Human Resources Manager at cnichols@torchmate.com and ask about openings.


Buy your consumables here! www.torchmatestore.com
Torchmate Racing Homepage: www.torchmateracing.com
Torchmate CNC Forum here: /forum/125-torchmate-cnc-forum/
Torchmate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 06:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member # 32262
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torchmate View Post
$1995 for the 2x2 Machine including Torchmate Driver Software
$ 235 for the Hand Torch Holder
$ 250 for Torchmate CADLite

$2,480 Total




The driver software that runs the machine does not take as much computer to run. The Torchmate CAD on the other hand can lock up a lesser computer. Especially when you get into the regular version and full nesting. There are so many options as to how you want it to cram pieces into the plate that it can choke itself out.

How are things going over there? Staying safe?
all is going good here, i was planning on ordering up the Software here so i could play around with it and kill some time here. unfortunatly all i have here is my little Net book. and it's jsut under the requirements for the CAD stuff. i might order it anyway and see what happens. worst case it doesn't work and i have to wait till i get back to install it on the home computer.

by the way i'm still planning on a mid april return time frame and will place my order about a month out. can't wait to get back.
Gusagus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 07:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 96130
Location: Northern Alberta
Posts: 1,912
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torchmate View Post
$1995 for the 2x2 Machine including Torchmate Driver Software
$ 235 for the Hand Torch Holder
$ 250 for Torchmate CADLite

$2,480 Total




The driver software that runs the machine does not take as much computer to run. The Torchmate CAD on the other hand can lock up a lesser computer. Especially when you get into the regular version and full nesting. There are so many options as to how you want it to cram pieces into the plate that it can choke itself out.
Ok, price is right!

Now - will my Hypertherm 380XP work for this system?
__________________
Corey Kruchkowski, [COLOR="DarkOrange"]TEAM TNT motorsports - car 780/car 781[/COLOR]
[COLOR="Lime"]Pitbull Tires [/COLOR]
[COLOR="Red"]ROARK SUPPLY [url]www.roarksupply.com[/url][/COLOR]
[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"]Bilstein Shock Absorbers [/COLOR]
[COLOR="Gray"]Rugged Race Radios[/COLOR]
[COLOR="Orange"]Gear Center Group [URL="http://www.gearcentregroup.com/"]http://www.gearcentregroup.com/[/URL][/COLOR]
YJ_and_Corey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 08:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Torchmate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 98865
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by YJ_and_Corey View Post
Ok, price is right!

Now - will my Hypertherm 380XP work for this system?
As Mike said earlier, we don't know whether that unit uses high frequency or not. If not, then you should be all good. If so, then you will have some work to do in order to isolate that noise so it will work.
__________________
WWW.TORCHMATE.COM

We are hiring! Email your resume to our Human Resources Manager at cnichols@torchmate.com and ask about openings.


Buy your consumables here! www.torchmatestore.com
Torchmate Racing Homepage: www.torchmateracing.com
Torchmate CNC Forum here: http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=125
Torchmate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 09:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 96130
Location: Northern Alberta
Posts: 1,912
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torchmate View Post
As Mike said earlier, we don't know whether that unit uses high frequency or not. If not, then you should be all good. If so, then you will have some work to do in order to isolate that noise so it will work.
Fair enough. I have no idea, it is no longer made and I long lost the literature it came with.

I may try calling Hypotherm. Thank you for the replies.
__________________
Corey Kruchkowski, [COLOR="DarkOrange"]TEAM TNT motorsports - car 780/car 781[/COLOR]
[COLOR="Lime"]Pitbull Tires [/COLOR]
[COLOR="Red"]ROARK SUPPLY [url]www.roarksupply.com[/url][/COLOR]
[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"]Bilstein Shock Absorbers [/COLOR]
[COLOR="Gray"]Rugged Race Radios[/COLOR]
[COLOR="Orange"]Gear Center Group [URL="http://www.gearcentregroup.com/"]http://www.gearcentregroup.com/[/URL][/COLOR]
YJ_and_Corey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 06:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member # 142120
Location: Granite Falls Wa
Posts: 17
Another question for you...

Can the torch be attached to the z-axis router mount? I didn't want to order the router setup and the manual torch holder if it's not necessary.
TurboKeith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 07:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 96130
Location: Northern Alberta
Posts: 1,912
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboKeith View Post
Another question for you...

Can the torch be attached to the z-axis router mount? I didn't want to order the router setup and the manual torch holder if it's not necessary.
Yes, it seems odd that I need to buy an extra piece to mount my plasma torch to my plasma table....
__________________
Corey Kruchkowski, [COLOR="DarkOrange"]TEAM TNT motorsports - car 780/car 781[/COLOR]
[COLOR="Lime"]Pitbull Tires [/COLOR]
[COLOR="Red"]ROARK SUPPLY [url]www.roarksupply.com[/url][/COLOR]
[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"]Bilstein Shock Absorbers [/COLOR]
[COLOR="Gray"]Rugged Race Radios[/COLOR]
[COLOR="Orange"]Gear Center Group [URL="http://www.gearcentregroup.com/"]http://www.gearcentregroup.com/[/URL][/COLOR]
YJ_and_Corey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 08:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
PAToyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 37600
Location: South Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 8,363
Send a message via AIM to PAToyota Send a message via Skype™ to PAToyota
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gusagus View Post
all is going good here, [snip]

by the way i'm still planning on a mid april return time frame and will place my order about a month out. can't wait to get back.
Stay safe and you have my sincerest thanks for your service!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roxywheels View Post
When a vagina is involved, there is no such thing as no strings attached.
GET INVOLVED - Join the Blue Ribbon Coalition

'93 Chevrolet 6.5TD K2500 NV4500 Std. Cab Longbed 176K
'85 Toyota 22R RN60 4x4 Std. Cab Shortbed 178K (Currently retired for rebuild)
PAToyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 06:10 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
Sroufe7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Member # 121758
Location: Brookings, SD
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to Sroufe7
Quote:
Originally Posted by YJ_and_Corey View Post
Yes, it seems odd that I need to buy an extra piece to mount my plasma torch to my plasma table....
They did it that way to keep the cost down. You can build your own holder and save you money.
Sroufe7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 07:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Member # 93306
Location: new jersey
Posts: 749
look at close up pics of the holder and make your own don't seem too involved hell corey if you can build two juggy's i think you can build a holder for your torch

EDIT: THAT'S WHAT SHE SAID!
__________________
[COLOR="Red"]BUY MY JEEP $7000 OBO:[/COLOR][url]http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=754738&highlight=cheep+jeep[/url]

Last edited by bardenk1; 01-26-2010 at 07:10 PM.
bardenk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 07:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 96130
Location: Northern Alberta
Posts: 1,912
Good point
__________________
Corey Kruchkowski, [COLOR="DarkOrange"]TEAM TNT motorsports - car 780/car 781[/COLOR]
[COLOR="Lime"]Pitbull Tires [/COLOR]
[COLOR="Red"]ROARK SUPPLY [url]www.roarksupply.com[/url][/COLOR]
[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"]Bilstein Shock Absorbers [/COLOR]
[COLOR="Gray"]Rugged Race Radios[/COLOR]
[COLOR="Orange"]Gear Center Group [URL="http://www.gearcentregroup.com/"]http://www.gearcentregroup.com/[/URL][/COLOR]
YJ_and_Corey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 03:24 AM   #15 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Torchmate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 98865
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboKeith View Post
Another question for you...

Can the torch be attached to the z-axis router mount? I didn't want to order the router setup and the manual torch holder if it's not necessary.
Yes and No. The column itself is identical. The difference is that there is a knob on the top of the manual torch holder column so that you can reach over and adjust the torch height mid cut if you want. The one that comes with the routing package has a motor mount and motor on top of it that can not be adjusted during a program. So, yes you can do it and no it is probably not the best way to do it.
__________________
WWW.TORCHMATE.COM

We are hiring! Email your resume to our Human Resources Manager at cnichols@torchmate.com and ask about openings.


Buy your consumables here! www.torchmatestore.com
Torchmate Racing Homepage: www.torchmateracing.com
Torchmate CNC Forum here: http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=125
Torchmate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 09:49 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
cccbroncos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member # 61598
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 365
I've seen motors on CNC mills that have the manual wheel and motor together so you can use the mill manually... would that be an option to switch out the motor for one like this...seems like a pain to have to change the whole axis.
cccbroncos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 10:03 AM   #17 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Torchmate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 98865
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,271
We used to use motors with a dual shaft like that, but cut them years ago to save costs. Now our motors are ordered 1,000 at a time in order to get pricing where it needs to be. Making a switch is not as easy as it used to be once you start dealing in huge volume. If you disconnected the motor, and had a shaft on the back end of it then you would be able to turn it. Obviously if it has power to it, then it won't turn.
__________________
WWW.TORCHMATE.COM

We are hiring! Email your resume to our Human Resources Manager at cnichols@torchmate.com and ask about openings.


Buy your consumables here! www.torchmatestore.com
Torchmate Racing Homepage: www.torchmateracing.com
Torchmate CNC Forum here: http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=125
Torchmate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 10:08 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
cccbroncos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member # 61598
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 365
can the end user change the current motor on the z axis with somthing like a Nema23 Mounting 425 oz.in. Dual Shaft Stepper Motor to make a more versitale axis?
I can get that motor for about 50 bucks
cccbroncos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 11:46 AM   #19 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Torchmate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 98865
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,271
You can, but you will void the warranty.
__________________
WWW.TORCHMATE.COM

We are hiring! Email your resume to our Human Resources Manager at cnichols@torchmate.com and ask about openings.


Buy your consumables here! www.torchmatestore.com
Torchmate Racing Homepage: www.torchmateracing.com
Torchmate CNC Forum here: http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=125
Torchmate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 07:23 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
cccbroncos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member # 61598
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 365
ahh! Now that's key Guess I'm leaving it alone for a while
cccbroncos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.