Cutmaster 50 High Frequency? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Vendor Forums > Torchmate CNC Forum
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2010, 05:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Member # 64746
Posts: 43
Cutmaster 50 High Frequency?

Wondering if the Thermal Dynamics CutMaster 50 is suitable for use on the
2x2 and how you would tell if it was high Frequency? TB
dichdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 84593
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 3,017
Send a message via AIM to HardcorewannabeXJ Send a message via MSN to HardcorewannabeXJ
I don't believe the Cutmaster 50 is a high frequency start unit. You could double check with Thermal Dynamics at 800-752-7622 if you want to be sure.

If it uses the standard SL60 hand torch it should have no issues running on a 2x2.
HardcorewannabeXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 11:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Member # 64746
Posts: 43
I'll resurect this thread. I contacted Torchmate sales looking to get in on the current pricing and was told The cutmaster 50 is a high Frequency start unit. Having to buy a plasma at this time would kill the deal for me. Is there another option??? Travis
dichdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 12:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 84593
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 3,017
Send a message via AIM to HardcorewannabeXJ Send a message via MSN to HardcorewannabeXJ
A little more information on what you are trying to do with it. Hand torch or machine torch? Overall goals? I would say that you could try grounding the cover of the Plasma cutter to a dedicated good quality earth ground, and that may reduce the high frequency interference enough to run the machine. There are several more ground steps beyond that, but it could rival the cost of a new Plasma Cutter.
HardcorewannabeXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 01:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Member # 64746
Posts: 43
Hand torch. Not sure what you mean for overall goals??? How would you go about the grounding. Is it realisitic or will I get the 2x2 home and be completely unhappy or worse damage the table???
dichdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 01:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 84593
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 3,017
Send a message via AIM to HardcorewannabeXJ Send a message via MSN to HardcorewannabeXJ
What kind of material are you looking to cut? A lot of cutting or very rarely any use?

High frequency rarely damages any of the electrical components on the machine, most likely you would just be upset that every time the Plasma fires it interrupts the communication between the PC and the Control box.

Grounding I would usually recommend driving a dedicated ground rod, and grounding at least the case of the Plasma cutter, if not the whole machine/table/electronics to it. This should help reduce the radiance of that high frequency noise.

A 35 amp contact start Plasma cutter only runs about $750 these days and will do .25 - 3/8" material.
HardcorewannabeXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 04:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Member # 64746
Posts: 43
I'd be cutting mostly 1/8" to 1/4" maybe some 3/8" RARELY 1/2" steel. I'd expect to use it once every two weeks.

So if it interupts everytime it fires does it stop cutting or will it eventually make contact again and take off?

I have a large copper cable layed out under my slab that the elctrical service is grounded too (difficult to pound ground rods due to rock). Could I just connect a copper ground wire (what guage??) to this ground??

I guess the question is can I go for it while the price is low NOW and "get by" with a high Frequency Plasma with the goal of upgrading in the future when money is available???
dichdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 07:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Member # 145912
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,454
Could sell that high freq start unit and buy a system with blowback start.....Hypertherm or T-D. There are a ton of used Hypertherm Powermax380's and Powermax600 out on the market. Someone on this site just got a 600 for $600, a bargain.

Jim
jimcolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 08:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Torchmate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 98865
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,271
That would be my vote too. Just sell the high frequency unit and get a plasma cutter that you don't have to worry about. Longevity is sending me a couple new low cost cutters to test that are not high frequency either. You have lots of options. Without a really good ground, I would not mess with a high freq unit. Just asking for trouble.
__________________
WWW.TORCHMATE.COM

We are hiring! Email your resume to our Human Resources Manager at cnichols@torchmate.com and ask about openings.


Buy your consumables here! www.torchmatestore.com
Torchmate Racing Homepage: www.torchmateracing.com
Torchmate CNC Forum here: /forum/125-torchmate-cnc-forum/
Torchmate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 05:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Member # 64746
Posts: 43
Good advice thank you. Travis
dichdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 11:54 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Member # 30944
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 3,068
Send a message via AIM to CJHeap
I just picked up a TD 1250 for $1000 . Still on the original consumables, from a shop closing.
__________________
[B]Hammers Post 1461[/B]
[B]Tellico Post 160[/B]

[B][SIZE="4"][COLOR="Magenta"] Nikita Khrushchev said[/COLOR][/SIZE][/B][COLOR="DarkRed"][SIZE="4"]"We can't expect the American People to jump from Capitalism to Communism, but we can assist their elected leaders in giving them small doses of Socialism, until they awaken one day to find that they have Communism. "[/SIZE][/COLOR]
CJHeap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 01:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 84593
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 3,017
Send a message via AIM to HardcorewannabeXJ Send a message via MSN to HardcorewannabeXJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJHeap View Post
I just picked up a TD 1250 for $1000 . Still on the original consumables, from a shop closing.
Probably a Hypertherm 1250

There are a lot of good hand units out there that could probably be had for cheap. Keep an eye out. Any Hypertherm 1000, 1250, 1650, PMax 45. Or Thermal Dynamics 81, 101, 151/82, 102, 152 would work excellent on one of our machines.
HardcorewannabeXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 01:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Member # 30944
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 3,068
Send a message via AIM to CJHeap
Quote:
Originally Posted by HardcorewannabeXJ View Post
Probably a Hypertherm 1250

There are a lot of good hand units out there that could probably be had for cheap. Keep an eye out. Any Hypertherm 1000, 1250, 1650, PMax 45. Or Thermal Dynamics 81, 101, 151/82, 102, 152 would work excellent on one of our machines.
You are correct, I was trying to get a TD 52 when I ran across this beast.

__________________
[B]Hammers Post 1461[/B]
[B]Tellico Post 160[/B]

[B][SIZE="4"][COLOR="Magenta"] Nikita Khrushchev said[/COLOR][/SIZE][/B][COLOR="DarkRed"][SIZE="4"]"We can't expect the American People to jump from Capitalism to Communism, but we can assist their elected leaders in giving them small doses of Socialism, until they awaken one day to find that they have Communism. "[/SIZE][/COLOR]
CJHeap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 02:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Member # 145912
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,454
Thats a steal for that price....new it is about $4200....and it looks new.

Jim
jimcolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 03:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Member # 30944
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 3,068
Send a message via AIM to CJHeap
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimcolt View Post
Thats a steal for that price....new it is about $4200....and it looks new.

Jim
Yep, it still has the extra consumables wrapped in plastic in the side and came with a new PCH/M 102 spare parts kit.
__________________
[B]Hammers Post 1461[/B]
[B]Tellico Post 160[/B]

[B][SIZE="4"][COLOR="Magenta"] Nikita Khrushchev said[/COLOR][/SIZE][/B][COLOR="DarkRed"][SIZE="4"]"We can't expect the American People to jump from Capitalism to Communism, but we can assist their elected leaders in giving them small doses of Socialism, until they awaken one day to find that they have Communism. "[/SIZE][/COLOR]
CJHeap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.