whats everyones feedrates - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Vendor Forums > Torchmate CNC Forum
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2010, 11:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Member # 50132
Location: Too damn far from the Hammers
Posts: 213
whats everyones feedrates

I have a TD cutmaster A80 , just curious as to what feedrates others are at with similar plasma cutters? Mainly smaller stuff 1/8", 3/16", 1/4" etc..... Trying to see if i'm in the ballpark? I am at 80 ipm w/ 1/8", 65 w/ 3/16" and 55 w/ 1/4". I also slow the arc rate down to 70% of those numbers.
bigS-dime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 05:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Rock God
 
BESRK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26393
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 1,332
I cut with a HT1250

1/8" at about 40amps and 60-65IPM using "fine cut" consumables

3/16" at about 40amps and 45IPM using "fine cut" consumables

1/4" at about 60amps and 55IPM using 60 Shielded Nozzles

3/8" at about 65amps and 45IPM using 80amp Shielded Nozzles


I usually check the first few pieces and adjust voltage (height adjustment) if I need to. I also check height periodically while cutting.
__________________
Little CJ5 on 35s.
BESRK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 84965
Location: Maple Valley, WA
Posts: 564
TM3-5x10
Hypertherm 1250
AVHC - I only run in auto mode for large parts or warped sheets.

-I always ground directly to my sheet, not to the slats.

-My Numbers are based off of my hypertherm manual, then i've adjusted from there to what i've found works better on my table.

1/8" -finecut @ 40a -49 ipm - AVHC @ 83 volts
1/8" - finecut @ 50a - 88 ipm - AVHC @ 77 volts
3/16" -40a @ 40a - 60 ipm -AVHC @ 147 volts
1/4" -60a @ 60a - 83 ipm -AVHC @ 138 volts
1/4" - 80a @ 80a -102 ipm -AVHC @ 134 volts
5/16" -80a @ 80a - 80 ipm -AVHC @ N/A
3/8" - 80a @ 80a - 60 ipm -AVHC @ 137
1/2" - 80aa @ 80a - 37 ipm - AVHC @ 140

I'm going to try and use some of the lower amperage and slower speeds you guys are talking about and see how they work too. Right now my cut quality is good, but i know there's always room for improvement.
xr8ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 01:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 84593
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 3,015
Send a message via AIM to HardcorewannabeXJ Send a message via MSN to HardcorewannabeXJ
Everyone should keep in mind that the voltage has a lot of varying factors, and may not be the same at different locations across the country, so don't trust someone else's values to be perfect. Same goes for material, be it hot rolled, cold rolled, P&O, etc. the cut speed and amperage could vary.

That being said, around the shop we do a lot of 1/8" and 3/16".

With a Cutmaster 2 series (82, 102, 152, A60, A80, A120)

1/8" 40 amps @ 85 inches per minute @ 106-111 arc volts
3/16" 40 amps @ 50-55 inches per minute
3/16" 60 amps @ 80 inches per minute @ 110-120 arc volts.
HardcorewannabeXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 05:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Rock God
 
BESRK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26393
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 1,332
I also notice as the electrode burns away, the torch drops a bit to keep the same voltage height.. so I have to adjust voltage for the height control periodically while cutting..
__________________
Little CJ5 on 35s.
BESRK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 07:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Member # 152411
Location: Reno NV
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by BESRK View Post
I also notice as the electrode burns away, the torch drops a bit to keep the same voltage height.. so I have to adjust voltage for the height control periodically while cutting..
Good observation, the arc voltage is actually a measurement between the tip of the electrode and the material. As the electrode wears the height will need some slight adjustment. This is one reason why we suggest running a few cuts in manual mode first to find your working voltage then go into automatic mode. This change is subtle but if you are looking for the sharpest cuts it is something to be aware of.

Some shops will find a voltage that they can set the machine at and cut all day regardless of what the electrode wear is. They may have a bit of cleanup throughout the day but their operators have less to worry about. On the other end of the spectrum we have some customers who will adjust frequently and this time spent gives great cuts throughout the day. It's all about the specifications of the parts cut and the need for simplicity.

-Jack
__________________
Torchmate Technical Support - 6 AM to 4 PM PST
866-571-1066 x3 support@torchmate.com
TorchmateSupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 07:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BLKBOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member # 147477
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 208
Well I finally got my machine up and running. I had a chance to cut some 14G with my powermax 45 @ 30 amps and 100 inches per minute. I found that some of the parts would actually weld themselves back together making them difficult to remove once finished. Any one have something similiar.

Gord
__________________
Miller 211 w/Autoset, Hypertherm Powermax 45 w/machine torch, Torchmate 2x2 CNC w/plate marker and laser crosshairs
BLKBOB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 07:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member # 29097
Location: East of Colorado Springs
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKBOB View Post
Well I finally got my machine up and running. I had a chance to cut some 14G with my powermax 45 @ 30 amps and 100 inches per minute. I found that some of the parts would actually weld themselves back together making them difficult to remove once finished. Any one have something similiar.

Gord
Have you tried running "Line speed 130-10.fgc" that came on the CD with the 2x2? What is your air flow set to?
__________________
"Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable."

[URL="www.sundogquarterhorses.com"]SunDog Quarter Horses[/URL]
SoundManCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 03:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member # 15076
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKBOB View Post
Well I finally got my machine up and running. I had a chance to cut some 14G with my powermax 45 @ 30 amps and 100 inches per minute. I found that some of the parts would actually weld themselves back together making them difficult to remove once finished. Any one have something similiar.

Gord

Is it welding itself back together or not cutting all the way through?
MQYJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 12:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 84965
Location: Maple Valley, WA
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKBOB View Post
Well I finally got my machine up and running. I had a chance to cut some 14G with my powermax 45 @ 30 amps and 100 inches per minute. I found that some of the parts would actually weld themselves back together making them difficult to remove once finished. Any one have something similiar.

Gord
First thing that comes to mind is you're cutting too fast. slow it down and see if that helps.

Maybe try cutting at 40a if you want 100 IPM. Either way you need more power to go faster. Or go slower with 30a.

Last edited by xr8ed; 04-27-2010 at 12:06 PM.
xr8ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 12:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BLKBOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member # 147477
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 208
I'm trying to run the line speed test but can't seem to open the file. Do I open it right in the driver software or in the torchmate cad?

g
__________________
Miller 211 w/Autoset, Hypertherm Powermax 45 w/machine torch, Torchmate 2x2 CNC w/plate marker and laser crosshairs
BLKBOB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 12:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BLKBOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member # 147477
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundManCO View Post
Have you tried running "Line speed 130-10.fgc" that came on the CD with the 2x2? What is your air flow set to?
Air flow is 90psi
__________________
Miller 211 w/Autoset, Hypertherm Powermax 45 w/machine torch, Torchmate 2x2 CNC w/plate marker and laser crosshairs
BLKBOB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 02:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 115338
Posts: 425
The lines speed test is a g-code file ending with .fgc so you will need to open it in the driver software by clicking on Fine then Open G-Code.
Dnmeistr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 03:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BLKBOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member # 147477
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 208
perfect thank you I will give that i try
__________________
Miller 211 w/Autoset, Hypertherm Powermax 45 w/machine torch, Torchmate 2x2 CNC w/plate marker and laser crosshairs
BLKBOB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.