Thermal Dynamics PAK 15XC Plasma - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Vendor Forums > Torchmate CNC Forum
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2011, 08:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Member # 188229
Location: St. Charles, MO
Posts: 252
Question Thermal Dynamics PAK 15XC Plasma

We are seriously considering a TM system and getting our plans finalized.

We have a Thermal Dynamics PAK 15XC plasma machine left over from a tracer type system that was taken out of service some years ago.

We mostly cut 1/4" to 3/4" steel plate with some 1" occasionally.

Does anyone know of any problems we may encounter using this machine.
I've heard of some problems using "high frequency" machines with the TM.
I have no idea if this machine produces any frequencies that would interfere with the TM.

Any comments would be welcome.

Thanks,

Rich
Richie_Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Member # 188229
Location: St. Charles, MO
Posts: 252
Done a little research and it appears there are two ways plasma torches are started.
Pilot arc and High frequency.

The machine I happen to have is started with high frequency, so there is a possibility it may interfere with the TM.
We will have to see about that as the machine is very expensive and it will cut up to 2" plate. We have a project where I will need to cut a bunch of 2" plate. I sure would be nice to be able to do it with a CNC device.

If anyone else has any thoughts, don't hesitate to chime in.
Richie_Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 08:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Member # 157378
Location: San Bernardino, Ca.
Posts: 62
Keep the controller as far away from the torch as the cables will allow. Keep the controller lower than the table. You may need to wrap the cables in aluminum foil and you will need an earth ground close to the machine. The usb cable seems to be very important to shield. Then you need to drive at least an 8' x 5/8" foot earth ground into or right next to your garage/shop, like $8.00 at home depot or lowes. Buy the clips to attach the wires to the ground at the same time! The ground from the machine to earth ground, then to the table, I ran a smaller wire with an alligator clip to the material directly with the clip. Radio shack has ferret cable chocks that will cancel radio frequency. You may not need to do all of this, but the first step will be keep the controller lower and as far away for the torch as possible.Then go from there! You will know when things will not cut wright, or the controller kicks off line! Its all a process but I have the LONGEVITY 60I and it works like a champ! Hope this helps!

Last edited by TRC D; 05-12-2011 at 08:23 PM.
TRC D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 12:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 115338
Posts: 425
With a high frequency plasma cutter you will need to drive a ground rod and it may require more than one, when you test your ground rod you want your reading to be no more than 1.5 ohms the closer you get to zero the better.
Dnmeistr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.