Medium Duty Trucks? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Tow Rigs and Trailers
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2003, 10:02 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 18716
Medium Duty Trucks?

So, I graduated college in May and now have a decent job. I've always planned on buying a used CTD for about 15,000 when I graduated and using it as a daily driver/ tow rig....So I'm at my girlfriend's sisters horse farm and notice the owner just got a Kodiak truck. It's a 92, has a 6.6 Liter Cat, 6 speed, and has 52000 miles. They got it for a steal at 5500.

So now I'm thinking, why buy a CTD when I could have a Daily Driver that gets good gas mileage and have a medium duty truck for towing/other duties. I could get my dads F-150 for a reasonable price and that would be my DD. So I could have 2 trucks for basically what I would be spending on a CTD.

So what I really want is something that is crewcab, so I can bring more than me and my girlfriend, and a place to store stuff. I've been looking on trucktrader and truckpaper, but don't find many crew cabs....But I know of an older one in a equipment yard with a tired IH motor in it.

The guy said around a $1000 for it. I haven't seen it in a while, but i would be buying it for the cab, frame, and rear end. Then swap a different motor and tranny into it and restore the interior. Does this sound dumb to do?

What engine tranny combo's would be good? The 8.3L Cummins?? How much do these diesels go for? Trannys?

I'd like A/C, and for it to be a decent ride. I know some of these ride pretty rough.

I'd have a budget of around $8,000-10,000 for this.

Flame away....
KrebsATM02 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2003, 12:56 PM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 9448