320 miles on a tow bar? With a 1/2 ton? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Tow Rigs and Trailers
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2002, 08:33 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 3011
320 miles on a tow bar? With a 1/2 ton?

hey guys, I need to get my rig up to the 'con, which is 160 miles each way. I'm just a high school kid w/no money, so a trailer is gonna have to wait a couple months. but for right now I can to buy a '72 chevy 1/2 ton w/350, th400, 12 bolt posi for around 600-700 bucks from a buddy. I also have a nice towbar that I can make fit onto my 4runner and throw some tiny 225/70 tires on it. my question: is it alright to tow this far with this combo? Its also worth mentioning that I have little experience with towing, but am not too much of a dumbass. And no, driving it up there is not currently an option.

thanks,
chris

W6MTN
mrnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2002, 10:32 AM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 422
Cool

Do it!! Just take it easy coming back down IceHouse, keep it in low gears. I wouldn't change out the tires, then you'll need a place to stash them. I flat tow mine with 37's.
Formula Toy #006; Thanks to Deaver Spring, High Angle Driveline, Longfields, Rock Buggy Supply, PRP Seats, Marlin Crawler, Coast Motor Supply and RockStomper.

[url=http://www.tinbenders.org]TinBenders.org[/url]
RE:Todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-19-2002, 11:05 AM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 7163
You should have fun trying to stop. I'm willing to bet that the 72 has manual brakes and drums up front? You might want to look into a better braking setup or a trailer with its own brakes because you'll unfortunatley be trying to stop the whole mess on those old brakes.

There's always UHaul. $50/day and they have surge brakes.

Bryan
Oxjockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2002, 11:21 AM   #4 (permalink)