Wire reverse lights to a switch? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Tow Rigs and Trailers
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2009, 09:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80279
Location: In the trees
Posts: 298
Wire reverse lights to a switch?

How would I go about wiring reverse lights to a switch? So I can just flip a switch and they are on. They still need to work when I have the switch off though. Just run a separate feed to the positive side of the reverse circuit and put a switch in it?

I always back up to equipment when I am doing work and would like to be able to flip them on when its dark out in the mornings...
Cork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
Mechanos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6704
Location: Roosterville, Missouri
Posts: 6,987
Just find the two wires that come off of the backup light switch (either a separate switch on the trans if a manual or usually part of the park/neutral safety switch on autos) and wire a toggle switch in parallel with the existing backup light switch.
__________________
It's
IHeavy
aka TORC
KC0UIC
-.- -.-. ----- ..- .. -.-.

Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.
Mechanos is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-16-2009, 11:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Eskimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10429
Location: Danville, PA
Posts: 4,455
and keep in mind, that switch may be providing a ground, not necessarily 12v+
__________________
Rich Q.
FJ-40 Cruggy - tuned 5.3/4WS rockwells/linked/ORI's/42's
Eskimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 05:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Member # 92688
Posts: 75
Not sure if this is a DAN response, but oh well..., I have always just bought a set of cheap-o fog lights and hard wired them into a switch on the dash. Flick them on anytime in any gear. Whenever I've backed up to a trailer or whatnot, I can have the truck turned off and in park and still have the lights on. Cheap, but effective.
bluecrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 08:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
PAToyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 37600
Location: South Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,921
Send a message via AIM to PAToyota Send a message via Skype™ to PAToyota
Taking bluecrew's suggestion a step further, I've wired up aux lights so that switched one way they have their own power and the other way they come on with the reverse lights. Have more light when backing and work lights when you need them.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roxywheels View Post
When a vagina is involved, there is no such thing as no strings attached.
GET INVOLVED - Join the Blue Ribbon Coalition

'93 Chevrolet 6.5TD K2500 NV4500 Std. Cab Longbed 176K
'85 Toyota 22R RN60 4x4 Std. Cab Shortbed 178K (Currently retired for rebuild)
PAToyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 06:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80279
Location: In the trees
Posts: 298
Reverse lights are plenty bright now, there is already 4. I am going to mess around with it some today. Its on a 7400 international truck btw...
Cork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 07:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 107843
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 130
Send a message via MSN to Bump&Grind
I run a 1/0 welding cable from the positve side terminal to the rear of my truck. I have the female twist on welding conector in the bumper for boosting my junk. You could go lighter, run a solenoid and 2 little wires to run as many lights as you want.
Bump&Grind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 09:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Member # 83932
Location: Idaho!
Posts: 915
You can wire another hot lead to the existing harness to power the backup lights, but to avoid backfeeding the other end of the circuit, you will need to install a 3-way switch.

STOCK/OFF/AUX

Stock would be factory configuration.

Off would cut power to the lights all-together.

AUX would cut power from the factory source, and use your new hot lead.

--------------------

Somehow I wound up a spare Pilot driving lamp. Just one.

When I was fabbing p the rear skirt on my flatbed I remembered about it, and flush mounted dead center in the skirt.

Wired in like a standard backup light. But bright as hell!
IDASHO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 03:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
EricCartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 95696
Posts: 52
Here is how I did mine...



The diode on Factory Reverse keeps you from back feeding you reverse lamps in your tailights.

The diode across the relay is common practice to keep the relay from chattering.

You could probably easily adapt this for a 3 way switch...

Good luck,
Cartman
EricCartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.