BHAF help please - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Tow Rigs and Trailers
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2002, 08:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Erik D_lux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Member # 1007
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 5,354
BHAF help please

I have a 94 dodge cummins. I have heard that you can get an airfilter that will replace the stock box with just a huge filter. What I need to know is if anybody knows where to get one of these online, or locally (portland OR) and how much. I found them at Napa for $47 but thought that was a bit steep just for the filter. Here is a pic of what I am talking about


Last edited by Erik D_lux; 08-24-2002 at 08:41 PM.
Erik D_lux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2002, 08:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Erik D_lux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Member # 1007
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 5,354
Here are some numbers for the filter that I found if it helps.

Napa 2790
Fleetguard AH19037
Cummins 3924541
Donaldson ECB105006
Balwin PA2820
Wix 42790
Erik D_lux is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-24-2002, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1533
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,112
BHAF??? I use a NAPA 6639/Baldwin PA2818 on my Powerstroke. It ran me about $35 from NAPA. It's a bit smaller diameter than the PA2820.
CSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2002, 10:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Erik D_lux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Member # 1007
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 5,354
BHAF = Big honkin air filter

Do you know if the input is the same size? I am thinking that I can go get one from a big truck place here but I am not sure who or what to look for. Just look up big truck store in the yellow pages?
Erik D_lux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2002, 01:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Erik D_lux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Member # 1007
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 5,354
anybody?
Erik D_lux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2002, 04:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1533
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,112
You've answered your own question. Get the yellow pages out and find the nearest truck dealer or service shop. They are going to have one of the lines you have part numbers for or a book which cross references your part numbers to a product line they have. I'd get a measurement for you on the outlet of the filter I have, but the truck isn't where I am right now.
CSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2003, 03:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Keith Strong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Member # 477
Location: The Peeplz Republik
Posts: 12,254
Send a message via Yahoo to Keith Strong
We went K&N

http://www.rps4wd.com/cgi-bin/yabb/Y...num=1049420091
__________________
[CENTER][SIZE="5"][URL="http://www.strong-arms.com"]Strong Arms "Survival Slings" For Sale PM me for a PBB only price[/URL]
[/SIZE][/CENTER]
Keith Strong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2003, 06:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Member # 1926
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 3,259
Erik,

The intake hose will fit over the BHAF. I took a small 4" exhaust section (when I installed my 4" exhaust) and put it inside the opening of the BHAF to keep it from collapsing. The factory intake hose will fit over the BHAF and you the factory clamp on the intake hose.

BTW, I heard the Napa filters don't flow as well as the Fleetguard ones. Shop around and you should be able to get one for less than 40.00.

You'll really like the turbo whine. Are you www.turbodieselregister.com member?

Charles
__________________
'69 FJ40 with very few stock parts.
2000 Cummins with some goodies to make it smoke.....

Trail Gear's Bad Ethics=Bad Business.
fj40charles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 08:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Keith Strong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Member # 477
Location: The Peeplz Republik
Posts: 12,254
Send a message via Yahoo to Keith Strong
OK...start here



Then add K&N part number E-1796, and get one of these grates from home repot!



Cut off the grate part and insert it inside the filter to prevent the rubber from collapsing upon tightening the clamp...



and presto....you're golden brown manggggggggg

__________________
[CENTER][SIZE="5"][URL="http://www.strong-arms.com"]Strong Arms "Survival Slings" For Sale PM me for a PBB only price[/URL]
[/SIZE][/CENTER]
Keith Strong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2003, 08:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Go2Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Member # 12158
Location: Lowell, AR/Tulsa, OK
Posts: 4,896
Mallory mount

I've got 2 stainless mounts designed to hold the BHAF in the location shown, I used one on my truck for about a year and the other is new- bought it for a friend who sold his truck. I've also got a good used BHAF (fleetguard) and an "outerwear" custom sock to go over it and keep off the big stuff. I put my 01 back to stock before trading it for my 03.

FWIW- EGT's went significantly down and the filter minder never moved again.

PM me if you're interested in the parts- Like FJ40Charles said- you need to check out the TDR.
__________________
Ken Blume
Rock Rod Racing
Team #192/4192

Thanks to our partners

Maxxis, Trail-Gear, Yukon Gear, Goatbuilt, Tom Woods Custom Driveshafts, Ruffstuff specialties, Warn Winch, Rokit Enterprises, Viair, Edge Perf., Branik Motorsports, PRP seats, 12V unlimited, Bailie built, Alltech, Raceline
Go2Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2003, 09:47 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member # 13809
Location: SEB TOWN
Posts: 104
2003 HO

MY NEW 2003 AIR BOX HAS A COMPUTER PLUG ON THE TOP,
looking for a BHAF for it but dont want to mess up the computer, anyone with a 2003 run a BHAF, if so what did you do with the plug.
according to TDR a drop in AFE filter sucks the same as the BHAF or any of the after market kits(with stock turbo)

any help would be nice
gonzo
__________________
14/88
GONZO86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 05:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
JR2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Member # 13475
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to JR2
GONZO86,
Check out www.wildcatdiesel.com/ go to the dodge performance section and then look on the left hand side colum for the Scotty Air System. The one you want is the RamAir3. Scott the guy who makes the system has been making air boxes for Dodges for about four years. The install instructions say that the stock IAT/AP sensor does not move from its inlet position, and the factory filter minder is used on the unit.

Another option is www.dieseldynamics.com They have an air box replacment listed for the 03 trucks...

Good luck and for more info go to www.turbodieselregister.com

John
__________________
Insert signature here...
JR2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 06:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Chubby Chaser
 
Mustard Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Member # 7889
Location: Dumb Island
Posts: 13,210
Send a message via AIM to Mustard Dog
Quote:
Originally posted by Keith Strong
OK...start here

That's pretty sweet Keith
__________________
Eric Anderson
TIN BENDERS
Hendrix XR Chassis #001


Ultra4 #66 4Wheel Parts, Raceline, PSC, Bilstein, Marlin Crawler, Smittybilt, HendriX, PacificFab, G2 Axle, PAC Spring, G&J, MAXXIS

Roxy's in the industry and I'm a sponsored professional driver. The two of us together make a powerhouse.

Accepting the things I cannot change.
Mustard Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 06:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member # 17947
Location: Santee CA
Posts: 1,363
Send a message via AIM to jaluhn
Any of the larger air filters are going to be at least $30. The filter for our 86 pete was $85! Something that's always gotten me: The pete, with a cat 3406, has a filter that's about 3' tall, and 16" in diameter. This is a 14.6L engine, but redline is 2200 rpm (I think) At this size, it'll be drawling about 16000 L/sec at redline. Assuming 20 psi boost (I ddn't remeber what max is, but I doubt it's even that much) that becomes 21400. (therotical max at 100% efficency) My 6.9 IH used a filter that basically a 4" tall setion of that filter. At red line, (3300) it'd be pulling 11800 l/sec. The 7.3 used the same size filter, and it would pull 12100 l/sec. Essentially I'm pulling 1/2 of the air of the 3406, but the filter is about 1/12 the size. Why? And the turbo's are even worse. I'm sure the psd filter isn't that much bigger than mine (if it even is) and that engine should pull roughfly the same as the 3406 at max rpm.
~John
jaluhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.