Enclosed Trailer interior light and stuff wiring? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Tow Rigs and Trailers
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2010, 08:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!

Member # 3370
Enclosed Trailer interior light and stuff wiring?

My enclosed has some interior lights stock, but it doesn't have it own battery so the interior lights only work when plugged in to the towrig. Dumb thing is the marker lights on the truck need to be on and my dodges auto turns them off after a few minutes

I'm thinking I will add an onboard Deepcycle so I can have lights whenever I want, but I also want to wire some other stuff in. I'll make it plug into the RV battery cable wire fromt he tow rig so it charges when driving, maybe add an converter so I can plug in 110v and charge the battery run stuff.

I am an Electrician so I can wire stuff no biggie, but I have never seen what people use as far as panels for power distribution on a trailer before? Are they just using aftermarket 12v fuse blocks or cct breaker setups like delcity sells?

or does someone sell a nice boxed panel ready to go for trailers? I like doing things neat and tidy... I know I can piece my own system together but why reinvent the wheel if there is a reasonably priced part that will speed up the job.

Last edited by Pook; 06-04-2010 at 08:54 PM.
Pook is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2010, 09:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Community Organizer

Member # 32677
If you want something like a real RV you'll need something like this, I'm sure you can find a smaller one if you look.

http://www.dan-marc.com/1-80d.html

It's basically a 12V fuse panel with a 120 volt AC input line that will convert via a transformer to 12V DC and let you run on shore power if you have access plus it'll charge the battery when you're plugged into 120V shore power.