Fixed my winch again - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - FJ Cruiser
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2010, 08:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Member # 129263
Posts: 391
Fixed my winch again

I'm getting a little better at removing the ALL Pro Bumper to repair my winch( this is the 3rd time) but it is still a pain in the Ass. You have to take the winch motor loose to get to the control box which you have to remove to ge the cover off which invoves blind bolts and alot of fine motor skill finger work which I do not have. Any way at least it was a simple fix this time, even though it took me a while to find it. THere was a wire connector that came loose ono the ground from the control box. While I'm at it though I am going to hard wire the control into the cab. I am also continuing to strip out all of the extra wiring and junk that I can find.

Mad Dog 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 08:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
tacoabuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Member # 157534
Location: Satan Barbara Ca.
Posts: 136
Think the wire coming loose is related to going 70mph across them J.V. whoops?
P.S. we'll be out there again this weekend.

Last edited by tacoabuse; 08-30-2010 at 08:05 PM.
tacoabuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-30-2010, 08:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Rock God
 
BellyDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Member # 100273
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,161
An easy option for hard wiring is to use a winch controller off of ebay for the wire only (toss the rest) then get a trick switch panel from www.12VoltGuy.com and wire it together in the cab. Route the wire to the winch and just plug it in. Later, if you want to use a winch remote, just swap plugs. It's easier than going into the solenoid control.
__________________
-Jon-
MFS/Pirate4x4 essay contest winner
KOH 2010 survivor

Surgical precision with a BFH
BellyDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 08:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Member # 129263
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by BellyDoc View Post
An easy option for hard wiring is to use a winch controller off of ebay for the wire only (toss the rest) then get a trick switch panel from www.12VoltGuy.com and wire it together in the cab. Route the wire to the winch and just plug it in. Later, if you want to use a winch remote, just swap plugs. It's easier than going into the solenoid control.
THat is exactly what I had in mind.I have an extra hand control that I purchased last time the winch didnt work because I thought it might be the controler and not the winch. I was also thinking that I still want to be able to control it from out side as well so using the hand controller is the answer.
Mad Dog 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 08:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Rock God
 
BellyDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Member # 100273
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Dog 1 View Post
THat is exactly what I had in mind.I have an extra hand control that I purchased last time the winch didnt work because I thought it might be the controler and not the winch. I was also thinking that I still want to be able to control it from out side as well so using the hand controller is the answer.
If you look at the diagrams of how to wire up a winch for inside control, they'll show you hard wiring into the solenoid pack. When you do that, the hand remote port is still vacant so you can plug into it at any time. The thing that bugs me is that if you wire it that way, and you plug into the remote port, you can now literally power BOTH directions at the same time. That's not likely to happen, of course, but it still bugs me, so I wired a plug for the port so that I have to swap if I want to run using a winch remote. It's one or the other but not both.
__________________
-Jon-
MFS/Pirate4x4 essay contest winner
KOH 2010 survivor

Surgical precision with a BFH
BellyDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 10:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Member # 77042
Location: NorCal
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by BellyDoc View Post
If you look at the diagrams of how to wire up a winch for inside control, they'll show you hard wiring into the solenoid pack. When you do that, the hand remote port is still vacant so you can plug into it at any time. The thing that bugs me is that if you wire it that way, and you plug into the remote port, you can now literally power BOTH directions at the same time. That's not likely to happen, of course, but it still bugs me, so I wired a plug for the port so that I have to swap if I want to run using a winch remote. It's one or the other but not both.
You could always use a DPDT switch on the interior 'Winch Enable' switch such that the off position would return the 'common power' wire back to the original remote plug on the winch --1 extra wire going into the cab, creating an interior-enable/remote-disable circuit and vice-versa-- and that would eliminate the random chance of the 'winch control war' ....not that I worry about such things late at night. (Oh, and fuse that 'common' power wire out at the winch before sending it to the cab; 5A or so...it's only got a couple hundred amp power supply ) That's how I'm gonna do mine because every time I go to use the winch control, I have to fuss with the plug to break the corrosion on the connectors, one of the big plus' for having a hard-wired control in the first place.

Last edited by MrSammi; 08-31-2010 at 11:02 PM.
MrSammi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 10:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Member # 149856
Posts: 13
winch

I never had my solenoid mounted in my bumper put mine on the right inner fenderwell it stays real clean there I run alot of mud.
hotsteel41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 09:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Member # 129263
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotsteel41 View Post
I never had my solenoid mounted in my bumper put mine on the right inner fenderwell it stays real clean there I run alot of mud.
That is a great idea, I actually had thought of that, would just need to get some longer 14guage cabels to attach. I might go ahead and do that while I have it apart. Do you have an AllPro Bumper? Could you post a pic.I routed my wireing to the cab last night and cut one of the stock holes in my console to fit the new switch in, looks like it is going to work great.
Mad Dog 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 11:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Member # 149856
Posts: 13
whinch

Yes I have the allpro bumper here is a couple of pics I went to the tractor supply (live in kansas small town) and got longer cables.
hotsteel41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 03:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Member # 129263
Posts: 391
Got the control wired to the inside and got the AC out. Feels like more HP



Mad Dog 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 04:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
plnfixr320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member # 142241
Location: 45 minutes from Hammer town
Posts: 275
Is your a/c pump for sale? Mine has been in disagreement with my upper link mount.
plnfixr320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 09:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Member # 129263
Posts: 391
Some one wants to buy the whole set up but if I can do better by selling it part by part I will PM me an offer.
Thanks
Mad Dog 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.