With Sm420, Rear Cone Not Neccisary, Correct? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Land Cruiser
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2003, 05:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3259
Location: NORTHERN NM
Posts: 1,258
Send a message via AIM to FIXXXXAH
With Sm420, Rear Cone Not Needed, Correct?

WHEN YOU DO A SM420/3SPEED XCASE SETUP, THE INPUT SHAFT DOESNT MAKE IT TO THE OLD BEARING AT THE BACK OF THE CASE, AND YOU CAN ACCESS THE LOCKNUT FROM THE PTO COVER, SO THERE IS NOW REASON YOU CANT RUN A PIECE OF FLAT PLATE OVER THE BACK INSTEAD OF USEING THE OLD COVER [WHEN YOU SETUP YOUR REAR SUPPORT CROSSMEMBER]

JUST WANT TO MAKE SURE THERES NOT SOMETHING I'M NOT THINKING ABOUT

MATT

__________________
[SIZE=1] "ANYONE WILLING TO TRADE FREEDOM FOR SECURITY DESERVES NEITHER."
TUBING AND BUGGIES ARE OVERRATED
METRIC ROCKS. [/SIZE]
FIXXXXAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2003, 06:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5983
Location: Round Mountain, NV
Posts: 74
Send a message via Yahoo to rocrawler
I'm doing one right now and your correct you do not need the nosecone on the back of the t-case.
rocrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-20-2003, 06:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1599
Location: Indianapolis, IN. Home of the Brickyard 400, Indy 500, and USGP!
Posts: 1,557
Send a message via Yahoo to SpaceGhost
You are correct, that the stock cover is not required. A cover of some sort is, including a combo mo/cover youmight fab.
__________________
Mike "SpaceGhost" Smythe
R U gettin' it?

UROC Team #180 running:
BFG's 37" Krawlers, Gordon Beadlocks, HP60's, T-Max w/Blue Diamond Rope, Green Filters, Marlin's ToyBox, 3.8 Atlas II, and "I got the shaft from Jesse" but I couldn't have done without Badlands Machine Shop (765-762-2981)!
SpaceGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2003, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3259
Location: NORTHERN NM
Posts: 1,258
Send a message via AIM to FIXXXXAH
OH, THERE IS FABBING IN THE WORKS

AND ROCRAWLER, WHAT ARE YOU ROLLING YOUR EYES FOR DUDE?


MATT
__________________
[SIZE=1] "ANYONE WILLING TO TRADE FREEDOM FOR SECURITY DESERVES NEITHER."
TUBING AND BUGGIES ARE OVERRATED
METRIC ROCKS. [/SIZE]
FIXXXXAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2003, 06:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5983
Location: Round Mountain, NV
Posts: 74
Send a message via Yahoo to rocrawler
OH, THERE IS FABBING IN THE WORKS

Why do you think I'm rolling my eyes. I've got to fab mine also.
rocrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 09:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
shaka 55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member # 17224
Location: Lake Tapps, WA
Posts: 597
Question question on that swap?

I am going to do that swap as well soon and I am still unclear about a few things. I'm doing it on my fj-55 that has the dash mounted 4x4 shift in and out. I changed the three on the tree to floor shift but I still don't now how to change the 3-sp T/C to the floor.

Does anyone know how to do this with the SM420 in place of the stock 3sp? Also, what adapter should I us? I see a place in canada that sells just a plate adapter and Advanced adapters sells a big 5 1/2" thick adapter. Which one are you using?

I am still unclear on what clutch to use. It sounds like you can use the stock flywheel and clutch but use a chevy clutch disk? I herd it was an 11"? What through out bearing and fork do I use?

I already have the SM420, so I just want to get all my parts lind up before I start taking things apart. Any info on this swap is useful.
shaka 55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 01:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1599
Location: Indianapolis, IN. Home of the Brickyard 400, Indy 500, and USGP!
Posts: 1,557
Send a message via Yahoo to SpaceGhost
go HERE and read it all. They have a great adapter plate as well. As far as floor shifting your tcase, it's gonna take parts froma unit that has floor shift, and when you swap the tranny you WILL have to fab linkage for it! Why not just keep what you have, it works doesn't it? Cool factor?
__________________
Mike "SpaceGhost" Smythe
R U gettin' it?

UROC Team #180 running:
BFG's 37" Krawlers, Gordon Beadlocks, HP60's, T-Max w/Blue Diamond Rope, Green Filters, Marlin's ToyBox, 3.8 Atlas II, and "I got the shaft from Jesse" but I couldn't have done without Badlands Machine Shop (765-762-2981)!
SpaceGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 02:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
shaka 55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member # 17224
Location: Lake Tapps, WA
Posts: 597
It's all about cool factor. No, realy, I want a 4-sp and with the extra low gear and the fact that the sm420 was free, it just makes sence. Besides chicks dig it.

I'm planning on doing some off-roading!!!
shaka 55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 03:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4783
Location: Orange Co. CA
Posts: 1,797
That EB plate adaptor is nice, but not as nice as the Spaceghost plate.

I can hook you up with SM420 + plate adaptor transfer case shift linkage; PM me if you are interested.
Pin Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2003, 09:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
shaka 55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member # 17224
Location: Lake Tapps, WA
Posts: 597
I did buy what was suposed to be the floor shift linkage for the 3-sp T/C, but I think it is missing parts. The other thing is that my T/C has that werd pump diaphram on the back of it. What do I do with that thing?
shaka 55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2003, 10:30 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3259
Location: NORTHERN NM
Posts: 1,258
Send a message via AIM to FIXXXXAH
THE IMPORTANT THING THAT YOU NEED TO HAVE GOTTEN IS THE SHIFTING MECHANISM THAT WILL BOLT ONTO THE HOUSEING AND REPLACE THE DIAPHRAM SHIFTER YOU HAVE ON THERE. JUST TAKE THE DIAPHRAM OFF, AND BOLT THE ON YOU GOT ON. THE REST OF THE LINK YOU'LL HAVE TO FAB YOUR SELF, BUT YOU WOULD HAVE TO ANYWAY.
__________________
[SIZE=1] "ANYONE WILLING TO TRADE FREEDOM FOR SECURITY DESERVES NEITHER."
TUBING AND BUGGIES ARE OVERRATED
METRIC ROCKS. [/SIZE]
FIXXXXAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2003, 07:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
shaka 55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member # 17224
Location: Lake Tapps, WA
Posts: 597
you wouldn't happen to know of anyone that has this part? All I have is some linkage. That obviously isn't gonna do it.
shaka 55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2003, 10:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3259
Location: NORTHERN NM
Posts: 1,258
Send a message via AIM to FIXXXXAH
TRY SOME OF THE GUYS WHO OWN SHOPS HERE ON THE BOARD. TEXICAN AND PROFFITT COME TO MIND AS GOOD GUESSES
__________________
[SIZE=1] "ANYONE WILLING TO TRADE FREEDOM FOR SECURITY DESERVES NEITHER."
TUBING AND BUGGIES ARE OVERRATED
METRIC ROCKS. [/SIZE]
FIXXXXAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 04:59 AM   #14 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3427
Location: Hamburg, AR
Posts: 1,150
I think you missed the point of SpaceGhost's earlier suggestion to "keep what you have, it works doesn't it?" I think he is suggesting that you go ahead with the swap but keep the old transfer case shift system. These systems are really quite reliable and seldom fail (in my experience). I plan to keep mine when I find the time to use that pile of parts I have gathered in my shop.
__________________
Keep the shiny side up!
wanabecruisen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 12:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Rascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member # 16904
Location: Argyle, Texas
Posts: 575
Send a message via Yahoo to Rascal
Just Curious: what are you trying to resolve by going to a flat plate vs. the cone shaped one?
__________________
Bruce Mitchell
KTM - 450EXC
Rascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 06:28 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5983
Location: Round Mountain, NV
Posts: 74
Send a message via Yahoo to rocrawler
I don't know about FIXXXXAH's reasons but the reason I want to eliminate the nosecone is to gain the about 3" from the back of the t-case to the crossmember.
rocrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.