Attn: orangefj45/others - 700r4 tranny questions - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Land Cruiser
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2004, 09:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Rock God

Member # 3427
Attn: orangefj45/others - 700r4 tranny questions

I'm new to this auto tranny stuff and could use some help. I've got a buddy willing to rebuild a 700r4 for my next project and wanted some opinions and information. I "think" I want a reverse manual valve body (tell me if I'm wrong here) and would like some info on how this works, what it will cost for parts, and any other tricks to beef up this tranny. Plans are for a 383 stroker motor running on propane, 700r4/np205 combo, and rockwells. Thoughts?
Old 06-11-2004, 12:36 PM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 12451
If I were to do it again I'd definately go a manual valve body type setup. or see if there is any way to keep it from shifting if your in a lower gear. Crawlin in stupid low sucks if it shifts up. It'd be nice to have it shift like normal in drive but stay in a set gear if your lower than drive.. Dunno if that's possible but I'm sure someone here will be able to tell.. Plenty of beef parts are available nowdays.
tornadoalleycruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-11-2004, 12:59 PM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 4783
Replace the OEM reaction sun shell with a HD aftermarket unit. That is what took a dump in my 700R.
Pin Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2004, 01:41 PM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 6816
first off, thanks for your confidence in me. i'll try to prove myself.