transfer case shifter? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Land Cruiser
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2004, 05:50 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 37753
transfer case shifter?

is there a way to change my 71 fj40 tranfer case to a direct shift instead of this pull knob type? if there is a way- where do I find whats needed?- incase you coudnt tell- yes I'm new to this stuff and dont know the proper terms!!
onetimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 05:54 AM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 13912
Yes there is. Take the vacuum shift pod of the front drive nose cone on your case, and replace it with later model direct shift stuff. Easy, bolt on mod...
Sponsored Links
Old 12-07-2004, 07:36 AM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 37753
is there any type of adjusting on this "pull knob to engage" system?
Old 12-07-2004, 07:51 AM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 11288
For the engagement there is no adjustment, it's vacuum operated. The pull knob is just operating the three way vacuum switch on the firewall, which directs vacuum to the goesinta or goesoutta side of the diaphragm actuator on the transfer nose cone. You either have a vacuum leak or something frozen, if it's not working. Pretty simple if you're willing to dig in.

Personally, I'd keep the vacuum setup. But that's just me.
Old 12-07-2004, 08:17 AM   #5 (permalink)

Member # 18907
I took my vacume part off and cut it apart. inside I just drilled a hole in it and made some linkage. Works fine, I would sitll like one off a factory manual because my seeps a little. Had if for over a year and works great.
jnau99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 08:40 AM   #6 (permalink)

Member # 12451
Onetimer.. The trucks gotta be running for the vacuum stuff to work.
tornadoalleycruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 08:44 AM   #7 (permalink)

Member # 37753