FJ60 rear axle question - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Land Cruiser
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2004, 10:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Something...
 
fj40_rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18522
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to fj40_rico Send a message via MSN to fj40_rico
FJ60 rear axle question

I am toying with the idea of swaping my rear axle for a fj60 axle. my question is what is the gear ratio on them and if they are different? can I just swap the 3rd out of the 40 axle. or the gears.

Thanks for any info.

- Rico.
__________________
Rico
No Rigs...
fj40_rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2004, 10:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Moderator
 
RustyNailJustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Member # 8568
Location: Klamath Falls,OR,Fruita,CO,Montrose,CO,
Posts: 7,407
60s have 3.73s. your 3rd member will go right into the 60 housing.You realise the 60 is 3 inches wider right?
__________________
Thanks to our Sponsors, Crossed Up Customs, Valley Hybrids, Rock Tactics, Sky Manufacturing for helping put together the 4619. Finished 6TH
KOH 2009 Team 435
KOH 2010, 2011,2012,2013,2014 Team 4431
TLCA# 5305

Last edited by RustyNailJustin; 12-19-2004 at 10:18 AM.
RustyNailJustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-19-2004, 10:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Something...
 
fj40_rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18522
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to fj40_rico Send a message via MSN to fj40_rico
Quote:
Originally Posted by RustyNailJustin
You realise the 60 is 3 inches wider right?
Yep.

Thanks for the info.

- Rico.
__________________
Rico
No Rigs...
fj40_rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2004, 01:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Member # 12451
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Posts: 1,244
Dodge perches, your rear disks wont' work completely, need new brackets. get a IFS hub spacer kit for the front and call it "wide"..
tornadoalleycruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 01:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Rock God
 
OnTheSpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member # 34900
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,200
I put a fj60 rear in mine and like it so far. the width is nice.
__________________
Applying the Beef Treatment
OnTheSpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 07:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Something...
 
fj40_rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18522
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to fj40_rico Send a message via MSN to fj40_rico
Quote:
Originally Posted by tornadoalleycruiser
Dodge perches, your rear disks wont' work completely, need new brackets. get a IFS hub spacer kit for the front and call it "wide"..
I'm planning on using the fj60 brakes. When you say disc do you mean drums?. I'm not planning on re-using my disc brakes. I'll probably trade the whole axle for the 60.

- Rico.
__________________
Rico
No Rigs...
fj40_rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 07:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Something...
 
fj40_rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18522
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to fj40_rico Send a message via MSN to fj40_rico
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnTheSpot
the width is nice.
That's the main reason why I want to do it. Also, I need an emergency brake.

- Rico.
__________________
Rico
No Rigs...
fj40_rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 08:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Member # 12451
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Posts: 1,244
Ebrake? Don't you have one on your Tcase?
Options are good.. THe rear disks on an FJ60 rear axle are very similar to the FJ40 stuff but different brackets..
I'm not saying rear drums, I don't have any of those on my trucks.. I meant re-using your rear disks.. But whatever you wanna do is fine.. Options are good!
tornadoalleycruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 09:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Something...
 
fj40_rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18522
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to fj40_rico Send a message via MSN to fj40_rico
Quote:
Originally Posted by tornadoalleycruiser
Ebrake? Don't you have one on your Tcase?
I've tried to adjust that piece of crap and I can get it to work.

- Rico.
__________________
Rico
No Rigs...
fj40_rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 09:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Member # 12451
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Posts: 1,244
Take it apart, beadblast the inside, re-assemble should work.. Well, till you take off with it engaged!
tornadoalleycruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 10:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
cruiseroutfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Member # 1858
Location: Sandy, Utah, USA
Posts: 3,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by fj40_rico
I've tried to adjust that piece of crap and I can get it to work.

- Rico.
What doesn't work about it? It is by far cheaper to keep your current axle and get the T/C brake working (even assuming it needs complete replacing). The 60 swap will require a new pinion flange (or re-drill), new spring pads, shock mounts, brake lines, etc... Not to mention the cable you will need to convert from a dash PB handle to a floor style cable (not sure there is anything off the shelf you can use).

EDIT: Flang will only be needed if you keep the FS 60 3rd
__________________
Kurt Williams
Cruiser Outfitters - YOUR CRUISER PARTS SOURCE! - ARB - OME - Engel - Helton - AdvAdapt
ExpeditionUtah.com
U4WDA - Member
TLCA #10662
Wasatch Cruisers #028
Mountain Yoats
Red Rock 4 Wheelers #789
Mojave Underground
kurt@cruiseroutfitters.com

Last edited by cruiseroutfit; 12-20-2004 at 10:22 AM.
cruiseroutfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 10:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Member # 12758
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 4,651
Rico it is not hard and actually works great with a floor mount ebrake. But oyu do have to spring for those parts as well. There is a 60 at pick n pull with ebrake and everything, you can probably get everything for $100?

It's also probably easiest to just fix your ebrake though even with the 60 axle, then you don't need to put in the floor mount ebrake...
dieselcruiserhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 02:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 161
Location: GHQ
Posts: 794
What's the difference between a FJ60 axle and an FJ62 axle. I have f & r 1990 FJ62 axles for my 40. I dont really know too much about them except for the width difference. BTW the rear drums with E-brake look like they should be a good setup for me. My stock rear drums and T-case E-brake haven't worked right for years. I never rebuilt them knowing that someday it would all get replaced. I'm actually looking foward to that E-brake.
__________________
1967 FJ45LV/1972 FJ40
Rev. Parsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 03:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member # 25048
Location: meesheegon
Posts: 84
Correct me if I am wrong, but I believe the only difference between them is the gearing.The 60's being 3:73 ,the 62's being 4:10.Maybe the sway bars too?I have a set of both but not right here now or I could be more help.
incogrhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 03:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member # 24859
Location: Where ever my wife says
Posts: 4,597
IIRC the 62 has a gusseted housing .
__________________
Mellonhead
peesalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 03:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 161
Location: GHQ
Posts: 794
Quote:
Originally Posted by incogrhino
Correct me if I am wrong, but I believe the only difference between them is the gearing.The 60's being 3:73 ,the 62's being 4:10.Maybe the sway bars too?I have a set of both but not right here now or I could be more help.
That's what I was hoping to hear. Thanks. Anybody else got any more good info for me?
__________________
1967 FJ45LV/1972 FJ40
Rev. Parsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 04:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Member # 12758
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 4,651
The big thing is that the 3rd member is a 4.10 gearing (just like the early models) but that it has the '78 and later stronger fine spline pinion. So it has the benefits of later model 3rd members but because cruisers (both 40s and 60s) switched to 3.73 gearing (much better for the highway on stock tires) in 1979 the amount of fine spline 4.10 third members is very limited other than in 92 models and later. The 62's had them more or less to compensate for the automatic but offer the lower 4.10 gearing better for off road and more power.

Also the front axle is slightly improved, gussetted housing so less prone to bending and the pinons is slightly turned versus a 60 that is at 90 degrees. Ideally I want to put a 62 axle in the front of my 55 with 3rd member and all...
dieselcruiserhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 06:18 PM   #18 (permalink)
Something...
 
fj40_rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18522
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to fj40_rico Send a message via MSN to fj40_rico
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruiseroutfit
What doesn't work about it?
It just won't grab. I've replaced the pads, adjusted it. I did have a bad rear t-case seal leak so I might have to replace the pads again.

The other reason why I wanted the 60 axle was for the extra width, but it sounds like wheel spacers will be cheaper.

- Rico.
__________________
Rico
No Rigs...
fj40_rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 06:37 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Member # 12758
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 4,651
Probably comparable honestly, plus wheel spacers suck

but I do run then on my DD for what its worth though
dieselcruiserhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 07:16 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member # 19837
Location: atlanta
Posts: 1,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by fj40_rico
It just won't grab. I've replaced the pads, adjusted it. I did have a bad rear t-case seal leak so I might have to replace the pads again.

The other reason why I wanted the 60 axle was for the extra width, but it sounds like wheel spacers will be cheaper.

- Rico.
Buy new pads, springs, pins etc.... measure the inside of the drum and possibly replace it also. Might need to get a new adjuster. The TC e brake works great and is easy to work on. A full rebuild kit is around $100
__________________
If it does not go easy just force it

David Dearborn
Atlanta GA
www.urbanlandcruisers.com
TLCA Associate member

Got a question, need an opinion, do you love puppies, just want to talk or stage a cage match? For all of these issues and more PM Mark, 65SWB45.
dd113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 08:03 PM   #21 (permalink)
Something...
 
fj40_rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18522
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to fj40_rico Send a message via MSN to fj40_rico
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieselcruiserhead
Probably comparable honestly, plus wheel spacers suck

but I do run then on my DD for what its worth though
what's better wheel spacers or rims with bigger offsets?

- Rico.
__________________
Rico
No Rigs...
fj40_rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 11:00 PM   #22 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Member # 12758
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 4,651
Rims and as mentioned somewhere they are about the same price if you get your spacers for $100 (the cheap going rate).

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...ighlight=ethan
dieselcruiserhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 01:43 PM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
theferg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member # 15144
Location: Wandering the Wild West
Posts: 705
Rico I may have some 15x8s with 2" backspacing up for sale. I'm waiting on a shipment and then I gotta test fit the wheels, but if they don't fit, you have frist dibs if you want 'em...

-Ferg-
theferg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 01:56 PM   #24 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 260
Posts: 4,440
Send a message via Yahoo to woody
http://www.ih8mud.com/tech/e-brake.php
__________________
Brian 'woody' Swearingen - IH8MUD Inc.
'74 FJ40, '95 HZJ75, '96 FZJ80, '03 2500 DMax, '09 RZR
woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 06:01 PM   #25 (permalink)
Something...
 
fj40_rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18522
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to fj40_rico Send a message via MSN to fj40_rico
Quote:
Originally Posted by theferg
Rico I may have some 15x8s with 2" backspacing up for sale. I'm waiting on a shipment and then I gotta test fit the wheels, but if they don't fit, you have frist dibs if you want 'em...

-Ferg-

Sign me up. Why wouldn't they fit. Which rims are they? brand?

- Rico.
__________________
Rico
No Rigs...
fj40_rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.