S-shaped rear springs - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Land Cruiser
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2002, 02:01 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 228
Send a message via Yahoo to morgan
S-shaped rear springs

I just noticed this morning that the McCoy / MAF / JTO 2" FJ55 springs under my FJ55 (in SOA configuration) are S-shaped at the rear axle! The axle is canted backwards now - it no longer sits "level" on the apex of the spring. The part of the spring forward of the axle has a shallow arch and the part behind the axle has a pronounced arch. The pinion is pointed more up now. I've been running them for three years, the last year SOA without an anti-wrap bar. The rear of the 55 is sitting lower than the front, but I hadn't noticed the wrap before. I run big tires, and even empty the truck is 5700lbs. I'm putting Paul Decker's anti-wrap bar on this Sunday, and I'm wondering about these springs. Fronts look fine.

What's the effect/prognosis of running "wrapped" springs? I will look into getting some new ones from MAF and others. Any advice?

Morgan
Morgan Fletcher, Oakland, CA - 76 FJ55, 94 FJ80 - TLCA #5973
Ad Astra Per Alia Porci! - [url="http://www.birfield.com/~morgan"]http://www.birfield.com/~morgan[/url]
morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 7412
they are weaker and will break, its just a matter of time. and also how bad they are bent. i ran a bent set for a year before i got around to fixing them. put the traction bar on now before you pop a pinion off. mike
Old 07-11-2002, 02:29 PM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 228
I've already broken one rear pinion, last year, and a friend watching me told me the rear wrapped before it broke.

I'm doing the anti-wrap bar for sure, just don't know whether to go with these springs again or something else.

Morgan