Help with 3RZ Problems - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Tacoma
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2007, 03:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Moderating Midget
 
wngrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Member # 1154
Location: Canton, MS
Posts: 22,385
Blog Entries: 6
Send a message via AIM to wngrog
Help with 3RZ Problems

I have a 1997 3rz in my rock buggy.

About 6 months ago, I began having problems with the engine running rich periodically.

It would be running fine and then all of the suden, it woud run rich as if the computer was telling it to turn on the choke or something.

It first, it would happen just when the engine hit 180* and the fan would come one. I thought it was the temp sending unit, so I changed that.

That did not work so once when it did it, I unplugged the throttle body plug and replugged it and it ran great. That fix soon did not work either.

I have scanned the motor with a good OBD-II scanner and it does not throw any codes. Mind you, the wiring harness has most everything programmed out of it. I run a manual temp guage and the idiot light is only for oil pressure so I don't know if the computer will even remember a code or not.

One really wierd thing is once it was running rich and I was winching and it just killed the motor. THat made me think the car was not getting enough juice to run the computer.

I got a good charge on the battery and it still did this sporadically.

It has never stopped running with this problem until the last time out.

Last time out, the buggy died 2 times after running rough for 5-10 minutes and then it would not crank again until it cooled off. I though maybe the fuel was vapor locking the pump since it was hot that day. I changed the filter in front of the pump and it did not quit the next day, but it did still run rough at times.

The fact that it is sporatic is what is so infuriating. Any clues to what to do next?

I am about to replace the battery and the O2 sensor and see what that does.
__________________
Nolen Grogan
1998 Land Cruiser, Slee'd Up on 34's
2013 RZR-XP4
www.cottonlandcruisers.com
www.rockmidgetphotography.com

USAF Veteran 1988-1998 GOD Bless America
wngrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 07:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
fastrexxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member # 29832
Location: Texas
Posts: 360
Got a good ground connection between the engine/frame/computer?
__________________
[SIZE="1"]"An opinion solicited does not equal one freely voiced." -Al Swearengen[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"]Toyota Trail Riders, White Trash[/SIZE]
fastrexxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-29-2007, 10:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Moderating Midget
 
wngrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Member # 1154
Location: Canton, MS
Posts: 22,385
Blog Entries: 6
Send a message via AIM to wngrog
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastrexxx View Post
Got a good ground connection between the engine/frame/computer?

Yes, but I plan on taking it off again and making sure. It sounds like a ground problem to me too seeing that it is so intermittant.
__________________
Nolen Grogan
1998 Land Cruiser, Slee'd Up on 34's
2013 RZR-XP4
www.cottonlandcruisers.com
www.rockmidgetphotography.com

USAF Veteran 1988-1998 GOD Bless America
wngrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 12:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member # 15237
Location: bothell, wa
Posts: 347
best bet to diagnose this is to get a obd monitor. $83 to plug your ecu into a computer and have it tell you 100% of what it's doing

http://obddiagnostics.com/index.html

btw, i was the one who originally wired this buggy for randy, but it's been a while, so i don't remember off the top of my head it's entire configuration.

it should have good grounds inside the harness.. but that might be something to check, make sure none of my splices are coming loose or anything like that.
__________________
my truck is uglier than yours.

83 sr5 convertible rusted camo-rattlecan paintjob. 35"s, dual cases, lockers.. blah blah blah..

Last edited by penguinofdoom; 04-02-2007 at 12:47 AM.
penguinofdoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 06:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Propane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Member # 30839
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,382
Possible ignition module???
__________________

Bulletproof, complete propane kits for carbureted offroad and street vehicles.
Please visit our website for details or call with any questions. 480-430-8033


Free shipping on complete kits!
_____________________________

www.gotpropane.com




Check us out on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/gotpropane?
Propane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 07:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Moderating Midget
 
wngrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Member # 1154
Location: Canton, MS
Posts: 22,385
Blog Entries: 6
Send a message via AIM to wngrog
Quote:
Originally Posted by penguinofdoom View Post
best bet to diagnose this is to get a obd monitor. $83 to plug your ecu into a computer and have it tell you 100% of what it's doing

http://obddiagnostics.com/index.html

btw, i was the one who originally wired this buggy for randy, but it's been a while, so i don't remember off the top of my head it's entire configuration.

it should have good grounds inside the harness.. but that might be something to check, make sure none of my splices are coming loose or anything like that.

You did a great job on this for sure.

So when I plugged in that generic OBD-II scanner, you are saying that that would not do the same job as the computer based tool you posted a link to?

I just ordered a new O2 sensor, battery and Mass Air sensor. That and checking all the grounds.

I can't test it right now, the whole thig is torn down from the engine back for new Atlas and 9" axle
__________________
Nolen Grogan
1998 Land Cruiser, Slee'd Up on 34's
2013 RZR-XP4
www.cottonlandcruisers.com
www.rockmidgetphotography.com

USAF Veteran 1988-1998 GOD Bless America
wngrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 07:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Moderating Midget
 
wngrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Member # 1154
Location: Canton, MS
Posts: 22,385
Blog Entries: 6
Send a message via AIM to wngrog
I read up on that computer scanner and it IS nice. I just ordered it up. Thanks!

I have had lots of questions on this harness. Do you still do them? If so, I will let others know.
__________________
Nolen Grogan
1998 Land Cruiser, Slee'd Up on 34's
2013 RZR-XP4
www.cottonlandcruisers.com
www.rockmidgetphotography.com

USAF Veteran 1988-1998 GOD Bless America
wngrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 01:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member # 15237
Location: bothell, wa
Posts: 347
not really, i moved, and haven't done one in a long time. i'm in school so much right now that i haven't had time to do anything else but school. i haven't even checked on here much in the past 2 years. i graduate soon though, so i might get back into it.

if you have specific questions on the harness, PM me, and i can see what i can remember..
__________________
my truck is uglier than yours.

83 sr5 convertible rusted camo-rattlecan paintjob. 35"s, dual cases, lockers.. blah blah blah..

Last edited by penguinofdoom; 04-05-2007 at 01:14 PM.
penguinofdoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 01:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Moderating Midget
 
wngrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Member # 1154
Location: Canton, MS
Posts: 22,385
Blog Entries: 6
Send a message via AIM to wngrog
What is the firing order on a 3RZ anyway?
__________________
Nolen Grogan
1998 Land Cruiser, Slee'd Up on 34's
2013 RZR-XP4
www.cottonlandcruisers.com
www.rockmidgetphotography.com

USAF Veteran 1988-1998 GOD Bless America
wngrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 01:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Member # 75683
Location: Behind Government Motors Spring hill, Tn
Posts: 56
Quote:
Got a good ground connection between the engine/frame/computer?
My 96 was doing the exact same thing and I had a bad ground (back of engine to the fire wall). I`d try that before ordering anything. Mine would run rich sometimes and would shut off when the head, brake, signal lights were turned on sometimes.
It eventually threw an engine missfire code.

Last edited by toc-yo; 04-10-2007 at 01:57 PM.
toc-yo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 07:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Moderating Midget
 
wngrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Member # 1154
Location: Canton, MS
Posts: 22,385
Blog Entries: 6
Send a message via AIM to wngrog
Thanks! I have redone all the grounds while the thing is apart.
__________________
Nolen Grogan
1998 Land Cruiser, Slee'd Up on 34's
2013 RZR-XP4
www.cottonlandcruisers.com
www.rockmidgetphotography.com

USAF Veteran 1988-1998 GOD Bless America
wngrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.