how much can i eliminate? evap box? 1ton brake ? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Tacoma
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2010, 03:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26693
Location: Bonedale
Posts: 216
Question more 1 ton brake ?'s

i want to get rid of the black box( evap tank) that all the hose and sensors are hooked into, i know some of the sensors can most likely be tricked but how does it affect the truck in general? will it start and run?

we dont have emissions tests here in colorado and i need the room under the hood, dont know much about how all that stuff works

99 tacoma,stock 3.4l, all the stuff is right in front of the driver fire wall,black box with lots of hoses and sensors hooked into it
GOT THIS ONE ALL SORTED I THINK

need some more info on this:

got a 1/14 mc and am wondering about the lspv stuff and what is the easiest and most simple way to get rid of that stuff? there is a ton of hoses and fittings etc...

Last edited by jeremyg; 03-15-2010 at 09:42 AM.
jeremyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 06:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Shefron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80692
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,252
There is a section in my build thread we its discussioned of what is needed to be done to delete the evap setup. I've done it on my truck with no check engine lights or any other probelm.

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...shefron&page=3


For one ton brakes it is requiremented to switch to a one ton MC.
http://rockstomper.netfirms.com/shop...products_id=65

and for reading on it.
http://home.4x4wire.com/erik/4runner/brakes/
__________________
Steel Shooting Targets
Custom cutouts on request
AR500 plate for shooting targets

Now cutting 80% tomahawk for the DIYer
Shefron is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-28-2010, 08:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26693
Location: Bonedale
Posts: 216
thanks for the links
jeremyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 06:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Cheapj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 86615
Location: Jasper, Al
Posts: 420
so is the consensus 1 1/4 M/c with one ton calipers up front and 3/4 calipers in rear... or is the 1 1/8 a better option...

also, what modifications to the plunger/rod are needed???

hijack off...
__________________
03 Taco-Tons,linked,4 seated,Reds
[url]http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=825751[/url]
Cheapj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26693
Location: Bonedale
Posts: 216
thats the one i just got with the rock stomper adapter,should do the trick
jeremyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 09:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26693
Location: Bonedale
Posts: 216
so did the loop with the 2 small and 1 large hoses T'd together, vented the one hose, plugged the hose to the air box( can the charcoal filter on the intake go away as well?)what to do with the crank case vent? if that box goes, just vent i will assume, the hose that says delete runs into the frame (where does it go?), it that the gas tank and the other hose that has vent pictured need to flip flop? these were my only ?'s, seems i am missing something in those pics
jeremyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 09:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Shefron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80692
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,252
Ill have to look at some tomorrow when Im not at work
__________________
Steel Shooting Targets
Custom cutouts on request
AR500 plate for shooting targets

Now cutting 80% tomahawk for the DIYer
Shefron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 09:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Member # 133376
Location: Pismo Beach , Visalia
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shefron View Post
There is a section in my build thread we its discussioned of what is needed to be done to delete the evap setup. I've done it on my truck with no check engine lights or any other probelm.

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...shefron&page=3


For one ton brakes it is requiremented to switch to a one ton MC.
http://rockstomper.netfirms.com/shop...products_id=65

and for reading on it.
http://home.4x4wire.com/erik/4runner/brakes/
u lucky fing bastard haha.. no offense .. why do i get stuck in california smog crap.and here u all are taking that shit off that i dreamed about taking off ahaha
__________________
90 toy - fj80 axles - bobbed bed - TBI 350 - built 4l60E - np208c/208d tcase
SIKYOTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 10:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Shefron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80692
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by SIKYOTA View Post
u lucky fing bastard haha.. no offense .. why do i get stuck in california smog crap.and here u all are taking that shit off that i dreamed about taking off ahaha
I have emissions here in ABQ but they just hook up the OB2 reader and I dont throw codes on the truck so it passes.
__________________
Steel Shooting Targets
Custom cutouts on request
AR500 plate for shooting targets

Now cutting 80% tomahawk for the DIYer
Shefron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 08:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
briansc33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80201
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremyg View Post
so did the loop with the 2 small and 1 large hoses T'd together, vented the one hose, plugged the hose to the air box( can the charcoal filter on the intake go away as well?)what to do with the crank case vent? if that box goes, just vent i will assume, the hose that says delete runs into the frame (where does it go?), it that the gas tank and the other hose that has vent pictured need to flip flop? these were my only ?'s, seems i am missing something in those pics
I'm not by my rig, but let's see if I can answer your questions.

Yes, you can delete the intake canister.I have a custom intake tube, so mine may be different, but... There should only be one hose vented, that's the one that goes to the gas tank through the frame. There's a line coming off the top of the intake manifold, cap that. The only other hose you should have goes from the intake tube to the PVC, maybe that's the one that comes off your intake canister, if so just vent it.
If this does'nt help I'll get more pics info when I get home
__________________
Degenerate Wheelers'/ Degenerate Racing #488


Thank you to our sponsors:

Diamond Axle
Front Range Off-Road
22RE Performance
4wheelunderground
.
briansc33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 12:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26693
Location: Bonedale
Posts: 216
i kind of understand what you said there, so i need to vent that first hose that runs into the frame, i fiqured that was the gas tank, i vented the other one that is shown in the pics from that link, is that the one you are saying cap off? i have one hose that went from the air cleaner tube black box into the evap can and one into the back of tha manifold whoich i will assume is the crankcase vent, just vent it most like(is that gold disk the pvc on these?), i think i got all the others right if those pics are correct

Last edited by jeremyg; 03-09-2010 at 12:58 PM.
jeremyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 05:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
briansc33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80201
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 707
Leave the one that is connected to the throttle body where it's at (connected to the VSV)... It's not crankcase vent, I'm not actually sure what it's for Vent the one from the frame (fuel), delete both the air drain hose, and the hose from the air cleaner (the two on the left if you are standing on the drivers side looking over the canister). Loop the rest together with all the vapor pressure sensors plugged in. You have a 5vz, so some things are a bit different, (fuel hose is ran in a loop with the vapor pressure sensor on some years) but that's basically it. Here's a pic of my clusterfuck before cleaning it up (3rz)



Also look at Shefrons http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showp...4&postcount=66
See where he has "plug this", and "vent this" ?
Delete the one that says "plug this", vent the one that says "vent this" Look at the lines he has drawn in red. The red "leg" on the right needs to be coupled to the red "leg" on the left with a "T". Look closely under the "leg" in the center, there's a small hose underneath that goes in the other part of the "T".
__________________
Degenerate Wheelers'/ Degenerate Racing #488


Thank you to our sponsors:

Diamond Axle
Front Range Off-Road
22RE Performance
4wheelunderground
.

Last edited by briansc33; 03-14-2010 at 10:00 AM.
briansc33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 06:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Shefron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80692
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,252
I followed the same thing you did Brian with no issues for the 5vz. I think you explained it alot better then I could have due to my piss poor grammer skills.
__________________
Steel Shooting Targets
Custom cutouts on request
AR500 plate for shooting targets

Now cutting 80% tomahawk for the DIYer
Shefron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 10:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26693
Location: Bonedale
Posts: 216
thxs guys
jeremyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 10:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 108480
Location: Colorado
Posts: 804
I wil buy that evap off you if you still have it
__________________
Formula 4 build in progress:D
ColoradoToy91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 07:31 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26693
Location: Bonedale
Posts: 216
i have it but need to hang on to in in case this doesnt work properly and or if we start emissions tests in colorado again, i bet that box aint cheap through toyota
jeremyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 08:23 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26693
Location: Bonedale
Posts: 216
anyone got any more info on what needs to be done to take out the rear porportioning valve and all the extra fittings to get this gm master working? can one or both of the hard lines be kept and used to replumb everything? dont want to have to make a whole new line for that if i can avoid it etc...
jeremyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 01:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Grocery Getter
 
ErikB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 59
Location: Auburn, CA
Posts: 10,583
Its just pipe. Reuse it if it works for you. and get rid of the ones you don't need.
ErikB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 02:00 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26693
Location: Bonedale
Posts: 216
just really dont know much about how all that works and dont want to mess it up too bad, gonna start at the mc and work my way back, i have the sky metric to standard adapters and i will for sure need others to get this done once it all comes apart, iam a do it right the first time guy and i dont have much time left
jeremyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.