85 pickup/22re oil pressure gauge? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Truck and 4Runner
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2012, 09:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
usafcrawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Member # 206554
Location: wherever the air force sends me
Posts: 5
85 pickup/22re oil pressure gauge?

I want to install an aftermarket oil pressure gauge in my pickup. Just wondering what kind of gauge other wheelers run. Most importly what gauge is an easy install and trustworthy. If i could get some pics or part numbers that would be awesome! Thanks!
__________________
85 yota locked, bobbed, high steer, 33s played with hard and put away dented
usafcrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
I See You
 
Provience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Member # 138976
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 4,141
I don't run one, they will run for a while with poor to no oil pressure
__________________
Up is difficult. Down is dangerous.

I Like Bright Colors

Romans 1:28-32

Matthews 7:15-20

John 14

Surah 109


For the best deal on 8 lug disc brakes click here--> www.lugnut4x4.com
Provience is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-24-2012, 01:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Rock God
 
David D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 86280
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,086
Stick to autometer and mechanical and you will be fine.
__________________
Tribe 4x4

86' 4runner Build
David D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 03:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
79fourby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member # 195197
Location: San Diego
Posts: 113
yes easy to install, they plug into stock holes in the block since toyota built them with extra ports for add ons.

most are the same, just be careful routing it and use sealant and youll be okay
__________________
ASE
79fourby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 04:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member # 148065
Location: canada eh
Posts: 129
I used the hole where the stock sending unit was. Not sure what brand of gauge it is, neighboor gave me it. Had to use an adapter, 3/16 NPT to what the guy behind the counter said was 1/4" british pipe. It fit perfect, still put a little pipe dope on it. If you measure it with vernier calipers, the threads are tapered on the stock toyota oil pressure sender.

Last edited by LAILEY; 07-24-2012 at 04:36 PM.
LAILEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 05:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Piggin' Ain't Easy
 
TBItoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 43587
Location: Cookeville, TN
Posts: 4,222
Send a message via AIM to TBItoy
If you want it to be really reliable, adapt the gauge and block port to -3 AN and run a braided stainless steel line, that way you wont have to worry about breaking a little piece of shit nylon or brass line and pumping your oil out.
TBItoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 05:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Member # 156412
Location: Alabama
Posts: 109
I smoked my 22re because i didnt have one and lost oil pressure. On the rebuild, i put a cheap oil pressure gauge on it, but i also put a oil pressure sending unit from a chevrolet on it that works an idiot light, it goes off at 7 psi. Works great!

Sent from my Inspire 4G using Tapatalk 2
__________________
1987 Samurai, 22RE W56 2XRF1A with 4.7 in the rear, yota axles, one linked front and rear, 38" TSL SX
rlltide12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 05:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
CSR
____________
 
CSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3495
Location: in the trailerhood
Posts: 2,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Provience View Post
I don't run one, they will run for a while with poor to no oil pressure
I'll take a picture of mine at idle tomorrow. 0 psi. It's been like that for 2 years and 20,000 miles.

My '81 had a gauge in the factory SR5 pod under the dash. I didn't hook it up after the engine swap. Didn't like the idea of pumping hot oil into the cabin.
__________________
'85 4runner, locked, lifted, TSL's, 4.7:1 twin stick tcase...
CSR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Mr Stubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Member # 102813
Location: PNW, land of liquid sunshine
Posts: 3,562
I have a autometer mechanical gauge...

Braided line..

And the fitting in the block is a 28 BSPT thread type.

Search my build /forum/toyota-truck-4runner/731541-blueberry-krunch.html for pics
__________________
My friends call me "The butcher"


Because I didnt know until now how important this really is.....

Outstanding businesses (going above and beyond) that I have dealt with to date:


Marlin Crawler
Hellfire Fabworks
Daves Offroad
gearinstalls.com (Zuk)


Local 125
Mr Stubs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 09:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Member # 187757
Posts: 235
the block has two oil ports, one is behind the engine mount. I personally recommend using both. Use the one being the engine mount for the idiot light sending unit, then plug your mechanical gauge into the port where the original sending unit was. That way you have two methods to check oil pressure.
Unclejesse88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 07:21 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Member # 118757
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 777
Adding on to the last post..

I used the second port on the block, under the engine mount. Idle PSI is usually around 20psi. Here is all that I used:


1/8 BSP to 1/8NPT
1/8NPT 90deg adapter
1/8 NPT to 4AN
4AN 4ft Braided line
4AN to 1/8NPT
1/8NPT to 1/8 copper tube compression
about 3 ft of copper tube
1/8 compression to back of gauge.

And the pics:



__________________
[URL="www.swdr4x4.com"][COLOR="Yellow"][SIZE="4"]www.swdr4x4.com[/SIZE][/COLOR][/URL] - A site dedicated to outdoor life in the southwest
DTCsk8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Member # 153770
Location: Indpls IN.
Posts: 55
good info
atc70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 01:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
I See You
 
Provience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Member # 138976
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 4,141
Pimp.
__________________
Up is difficult. Down is dangerous.

I Like Bright Colors

Romans 1:28-32

Matthews 7:15-20

John 14

Surah 109


For the best deal on 8 lug disc brakes click here--> www.lugnut4x4.com
Provience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Member # 118757
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc70 View Post
good info
Quote:
Originally Posted by Provience View Post
Pimp.
If y'all are talking about my post.. maybe I should request it be added to the FAQ sine I think it's a bit lacking.. what you guys think?
__________________
[URL="www.swdr4x4.com"][COLOR="Yellow"][SIZE="4"]www.swdr4x4.com[/SIZE][/COLOR][/URL] - A site dedicated to outdoor life in the southwest
DTCsk8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 10:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Member # 153770
Location: Indpls IN.
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTCsk8er View Post
If y'all are talking about my post.. maybe I should request it be added to the FAQ sine I think it's a bit lacking.. what you guys think?
yes definitely
atc70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.