Pirate 4x4 banner

2 to 1 driveshaft

606 views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  miniyota 
#1 ·
whats everyone think about taking out the 2 piece shaft and carrier and putting in one driveshaft in a 87 toy?? i could see the driveshaft becoming a skid plate in certain situations but was wondering what everyone thought...

#2 ·
I have several buddies who have ditched the two piece shaft for a one piece with no bad side effect's. Wouldn't be able to tell you if it is bad in a way we have not discoverd yet though :confused: . Two of them are DD so if there was a problem with doing it I am sure it would have been noticed by now.

Kevin

#3 ·
I have been running a one-piece for about five years now, and I am thinking about going back to a two-piece. I have bent five shafts and the one that I have on there now is made from almost .200 wall tubing. With my 122 inch WB my rear shaft is almost five feet long. It works ok but I am tired of bending them.

#5 ·
If you do decide to go to a one peice, youll probably have to cut the spring perches off and rotate the axle to point the pinion at the t-case, if you plan on running a c/v at the case. (which you should). I'd run a one peice if I were you, because I hate the carrier bearing piece of shit. I went to a one piece after shortening my wheelbase, And I like it.

#6 ·
I am running a one piece as well at appoximately 68" and I am at about 123" WB. I haven't destroyed any yet shafts but, have tagged it on numerous occasions. It has been bothering me as well to look under my truck and see so much driveshaft exposed. I am leaning towards that recent carrier bearing that one of the fellas on Pirate is offering. This will require tilting the 3rd a little higher once I am done but, at last there will be less shaft exposed. The reason why I went to one piece in the first place was because the original carrier bearing was going but, perhaps with that solid carrier housing I will have less play reversing up hills (if I need to).