Pirate 4x4 banner

Longfield 4340 chromo 27spline broke?

4K views 46 replies 31 participants last post by  slug 
#1 ·
i have only been running since last october and i have yet to brake a birfield yet. so i am a newbie at breaking birfs.
before i tds i installled the 4340 27pline longfields. at tds i broke my outputshaft. also, my front housing was bent a little so i took it apart and got a new one. when i went to grab my axels, i noticed that the longfield is really tight and its hard to henge the axel in the longfield back and forth. its almost binding. also, the star is loose and has alot of slack. it is the same way on both sides. so my question is: should i just throw them back in and forget about it? and is this normal wear? or did i catch them right before they broke and i should replace them?

#2 ·
longs

I've heard of the stars getting manipulated a bit, I say run, and if you break one, you are the man!! :D

#4 ·
is this manipulated?

it moves freely back forth that much on both longfields. also, it take all my body weight to move the axel inside the birf 2 of the 4 direcitons in the birf, its a little easier to move it the other 2 directions.

#8 ·
NCtoy76 said:
yes we have the same problem,, the only good longfield was the weld ring ones IMO, my wheeling group have broke and mangled hes other birs,,,,i think iam goning to state making the ringed ones my self, if i can get good $ on the cryno treatment

Ever though about proof reading before you click submit. :flipoff2:

When you say " we have the same problem", you are talking about the chromo longs, correct?

#9 · (Edited)
rockota said:
doesn't look like the welded ring would make a hill of bean difference in the instance above - from the pics, the ball appears fine. It's the star that may be roken, which bobby has stated over and over is the same strength as previous.