EFI Problems - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Truck and 4Runner
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2006, 07:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
fatkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4862
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 3,967
EFI Problems

Started my 85 toy truck this morning to go to work, noticed the check engine light was on. While driving the truck, it has very little power and used nearly a quarter tank of gas to do 25 miles. Put the jumper in to check for trouble codes and the It reads nothing, in fact the light stays lit, no flash code whats so ever. Next I tried disconecting the O2 sensor to get a flash code and still nothing, light still will not go out. No idea whats going on, did some searching but didn't see anything like it.

Any ideas would be very helpful.

fatty
__________________
[url]http://www.myspace.com/jerrywsparks[/url]

Last edited by fatkid; 05-30-2006 at 07:13 PM.
fatkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 08:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Grim Reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6726
Location: United Socialist States of America
Posts: 3,096
That sounds like a smoked ECU.

If the ECU is good it should give you the code one to let you know ECU is able to give diagnostics.

Disconnect the battery and pull it out and check it for liquid damage.
__________________
[COLOR="Black"]Did you expect to find something deep and meaningful here?[/COLOR]
"He has all the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire." -- Winston Churchill
Grim Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-30-2006, 08:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
fatkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4862
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 3,967
Will a smoked ECU still allow the truck to run? and function well enough to drive?
I
__________________
[url]http://www.myspace.com/jerrywsparks[/url]
fatkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 08:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Rock God
 
2stroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Member # 8981
Posts: 2,258
did ya short the correct wires?
2stroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 08:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
fatkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4862
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 3,967
I thought I did (small yellow round two port plug), to make sure Desertoy came over and he did the same thing I did. I also tried with the other small odd shaped plug next to it to make sure I haven't totally lost my mind.
__________________
[url]http://www.myspace.com/jerrywsparks[/url]
fatkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 08:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Rock God
 
2stroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Member # 8981
Posts: 2,258
did ya disconnect the battery and start over to reset everything?
2stroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 08:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
fatkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4862
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 3,967
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2stroke
did ya disconnect the battery and start over to reset everything?
Did that too.

I've never even heard of the check engine light staying on like this before, anyone ever seen this?
__________________
[url]http://www.myspace.com/jerrywsparks[/url]
fatkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 08:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
fatkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4862
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 3,967
Just to make sure the jumper wasn't fawked up I made several jumper wires to do the short and they all had the same result.
__________________
[url]http://www.myspace.com/jerrywsparks[/url]
fatkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 11:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
fatkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4862
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 3,967
Checked to see if the EGR was working, pulled it off cleaned it and put vacume to it. Works fine, put it back on nothing changed. Could a TPS be make the check engine light stay on instead of flashing a code?
__________________
[url]http://www.myspace.com/jerrywsparks[/url]
fatkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 04:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Grim Reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6726
Location: United Socialist States of America
Posts: 3,096
Nop TPS would give a flashing code.

Check the grounds to the body of the truck.
__________________
[COLOR="Black"]Did you expect to find something deep and meaningful here?[/COLOR]
"He has all the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire." -- Winston Churchill
Grim Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 09:50 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
flaash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Member # 14557
Location: Benderville, CA
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grim Reaper
Nop TPS would give a flashing code.

Check the grounds to the body of the truck.
this is where you are wrong a mis adjusted or ad tps may allow a check engine light to not function properly...usually it wont come on at all when the pins are shorted if the tps i outta whack...
__________________
TINBENDER


[url=http://www.tinbenders.org/forum]I THINK YOU SHOULD GO HERE!![/url]
Suzuki Samurai powered tube buggy.:grinpimp:

Tow rig 2005 F-350,



[QUOTE=DRM;12804141]Really? Then how about you explain what "I am missing" by not shoving my tongue up my wife's ass. No, really... I'm dying to know what exactly *I* am supposed to get out of that.[/QUOTE]
flaash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 10:10 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Grim Reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6726
Location: United Socialist States of America
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by flaash
this is where you are wrong a mis adjusted or ad tps may allow a check engine light to not function properly...usually it wont come on at all when the pins are shorted if the tps i outta whack...
Then unplug the TPS once its started ..no shorted pins and it will idle with the TPS unplugged.
__________________
[COLOR="Black"]Did you expect to find something deep and meaningful here?[/COLOR]
"He has all the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire." -- Winston Churchill
Grim Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 11:17 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
flaash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Member # 14557
Location: Benderville, CA
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grim Reaper
Then unplug the TPS once its started ..no shorted pins and it will idle with the TPS unplugged.
almost any vehicle will idle with the tps unplugged it is written in their program to figure out a way to run with no tps input
__________________
TINBENDER


[url=http://www.tinbenders.org/forum]I THINK YOU SHOULD GO HERE!![/url]
Suzuki Samurai powered tube buggy.:grinpimp:

Tow rig 2005 F-350,



[QUOTE=DRM;12804141]Really? Then how about you explain what "I am missing" by not shoving my tongue up my wife's ass. No, really... I'm dying to know what exactly *I* am supposed to get out of that.[/QUOTE]
flaash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 12:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Grim Reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6726
Location: United Socialist States of America
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by flaash
almost any vehicle will idle with the tps unplugged it is written in their program to figure out a way to run with no tps input

And if you read the complaint the light is on when jumped with no flashes....so your argument with me still has no merit to the problem the truck has.

If unplugging it does not change the symptoms then the problem is somewhere else or do you want to argue about that as well?

Offer the guy something to try with a valid reason or STFU.

BTW...the first thing the FSM says for these symptoms is inspect the harness for shorts. The second thing is says is try a different ECU. Since the truck was fine when parked chances are, unless and animal chewed up the harness, that the harness is good.

What ever happened is a result in a circuit failing when powered (spiked) or there is a power problem. Since he has a light at all we know the body (where the ECM is mounted) is getting 12v. Now a dropped ground due to corroded battery terminals or rust to the body might then let the ECM pull a ground through the sensors, running lights and injectors and sort of work BUT it would probably have some real issues if it was pulling ground from anywhere but the body.
__________________
[COLOR="Black"]Did you expect to find something deep and meaningful here?[/COLOR]
"He has all the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire." -- Winston Churchill
Grim Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 01:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
flaash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Member # 14557
Location: Benderville, CA
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grim Reaper
And if you read the complaint the light is on when jumped with no flashes....so your argument with me still has no merit to the problem the truck has.

If unplugging it does not change the symptoms then the problem is somewhere else or do you want to argue about that as well?

Offer the guy something to try with a valid reason or STFU.

BTW...the first thing the FSM says for these symptoms is inspect the harness for shorts. The second thing is says is try a different ECU. Since the truck was fine when parked chances are, unless and animal chewed up the harness, that the harness is good.

What ever happened is a result in a circuit failing when powered (spiked) or there is a power problem. Since he has a light at all we know the body (where the ECM is mounted) is getting 12v. Now a dropped ground due to corroded battery terminals or rust to the body might then let the ECM pull a ground through the sensors, running lights and injectors and sort of work BUT it would probably have some real issues if it was pulling ground from anywhere but the body.
how about you go fuck yourself...for one i have been on the phone with him a couple times and offered him better solutions than the shit you are pulling out of your ass..thankyou and fuck off...
i was just correcting your innaccurate solutions....if you want to questioin what someone knows you should know if they are knowledgeable in the workings of vehicles which i am seeing as how i am a smog tech master certified . and i have been offering him solutions that i know from experience....and i dont think the body would be getting 12v seeing as it is a ground no a power supply the check engine light is getting 12v and ground seeing as it is on.... and further more just unplugging the tps to see if anything changes doesnt tell you if there is a problem there or not....
__________________
TINBENDER


[url=http://www.tinbenders.org/forum]I THINK YOU SHOULD GO HERE!![/url]
Suzuki Samurai powered tube buggy.:grinpimp:

Tow rig 2005 F-350,



[QUOTE=DRM;12804141]Really? Then how about you explain what "I am missing" by not shoving my tongue up my wife's ass. No, really... I'm dying to know what exactly *I* am supposed to get out of that.[/QUOTE]

Last edited by flaash; 05-31-2006 at 02:33 PM.
flaash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 02:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
flaash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Member # 14557
Location: Benderville, CA
Posts: 394
by the way fatty did you remember to check you canuter valve and muffler bearings?????????????
__________________
TINBENDER


[url=http://www.tinbenders.org/forum]I THINK YOU SHOULD GO HERE!![/url]
Suzuki Samurai powered tube buggy.:grinpimp:

Tow rig 2005 F-350,



[QUOTE=DRM;12804141]Really? Then how about you explain what "I am missing" by not shoving my tongue up my wife's ass. No, really... I'm dying to know what exactly *I* am supposed to get out of that.[/QUOTE]
flaash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 04:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Grim Reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6726
Location: United Socialist States of America
Posts: 3,096
hehehe what a tool. So I suppose you are a ASE certified tailpipe sniffer?


My credentsial....about as good as yours unless you pull up factory toy tech and a ASE certificate.....I'm also referencing a 85 FSM.

It gives no codes...till it gives codes you are getting nowhere.

If resetting and unplugging the The TPS or the AFM doesn't get it reading codes then one by one you have eliminated anything that could give that symptom short of the harness being chewed up or the ECM. The rest of the sensors work on a ground reference and they could all be dead short to ground or open and you would get codes but not a solid light.

.....Fastest thing to do is find somebody with a 85 or 86 (87 and newer is a different system and not interchangeable) and stick the ECM in their truck and see if it starts acting right.....

My bet...ECM is tits up. Like my My first post said.....Solid light is not a good thing or a normal thing. You yourself pointed out a shorted harness or TPS is more likely to lock the light out not give it a solid light.
Attached Images
 
__________________
[COLOR="Black"]Did you expect to find something deep and meaningful here?[/COLOR]
"He has all the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire." -- Winston Churchill

Last edited by Grim Reaper; 05-31-2006 at 06:29 PM.
Grim Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 04:52 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
fatkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4862
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 3,967
Thanks for your help guys, until I get my junk running I'm going to be trying whatever it takes to get this thing fixed.
__________________
[url]http://www.myspace.com/jerrywsparks[/url]

Last edited by fatkid; 05-31-2006 at 04:52 PM.
fatkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 05:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
fatkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4862
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 3,967
I have a 89561-14182 (84-4runner with A/T) will it work with my 85? Read the FAQ's and got mixed answers.
__________________
[url]http://www.myspace.com/jerrywsparks[/url]
fatkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 05:20 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
flaash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Member # 14557
Location: Benderville, CA
Posts: 394
master certified ase yes!!!!
Smog tech yes!!!!
ford factory trained yes!!!!!
Chevrolete factory trained yes!!!!!
Toyota factory trained still in the progress of taking classes but am partially factory trained!!!!!!!!
certified diesel tech
certified heavey equipment tech
transport refrigeration certified
do you want me to keep going!!!!!!
__________________
TINBENDER


[url=http://www.tinbenders.org/forum]I THINK YOU SHOULD GO HERE!![/url]
Suzuki Samurai powered tube buggy.:grinpimp:

Tow rig 2005 F-350,



[QUOTE=DRM;12804141]Really? Then how about you explain what "I am missing" by not shoving my tongue up my wife's ass. No, really... I'm dying to know what exactly *I* am supposed to get out of that.[/QUOTE]
flaash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 05:22 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
flaash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Member # 14557
Location: Benderville, CA
Posts: 394
if there is a hard code the light stays on solid....no as far as not giving codes that is harder to track down....but you have to pick a starting point and mine would not be pcm....
__________________
TINBENDER


[url=http://www.tinbenders.org/forum]I THINK YOU SHOULD GO HERE!![/url]
Suzuki Samurai powered tube buggy.:grinpimp:

Tow rig 2005 F-350,



[QUOTE=DRM;12804141]Really? Then how about you explain what "I am missing" by not shoving my tongue up my wife's ass. No, really... I'm dying to know what exactly *I* am supposed to get out of that.[/QUOTE]
flaash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 05:23 PM   #22 (permalink)
Registered User
 
flaash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Member # 14557
Location: Benderville, CA
Posts: 394
cause if the pcm fried there would have to be a reason so why put another pcm in it to fry that one also with out checking out other things first???
__________________
TINBENDER


[url=http://www.tinbenders.org/forum]I THINK YOU SHOULD GO HERE!![/url]
Suzuki Samurai powered tube buggy.:grinpimp:

Tow rig 2005 F-350,



[QUOTE=DRM;12804141]Really? Then how about you explain what "I am missing" by not shoving my tongue up my wife's ass. No, really... I'm dying to know what exactly *I* am supposed to get out of that.[/QUOTE]
flaash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 05:24 PM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
flaash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Member # 14557
Location: Benderville, CA
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grim Reaper
hehehe what a tool. So I suppose you are a ASE certified tailpipe sniffer?

Sorry the smog guys I met are some of the last people I would want working on my junk.

My credentsial....about as good as yours unless you pull up factory toy tech and a ASE certificate.....I'm also referencing a 85 FSM.

It gives no codes...till it gives codes you are getting nowhere.

If resetting and unplugging the The TPS or the AFM doesn't get it reading codes then one by one you have eliminated anything that could give that symptom short of the harness being chewed up or the ECM. The rest of the sensors work on a ground reference and they could all be dead short to ground or open and you would get codes but not a solid light.

.....Fastest thing to do is find somebody with a 85 or 86 (87 and newer is a different system and not interchangeable) and stick the ECM in their truck and see if it starts acting right.....

My bet...ECM is tits up. Like my My first post said.....Solid light is not a good thing or a normal thing. You yourself pointed out a shorted harness or TPS is more likely to lock the light out not give it a solid light.
and this flow chart you posted up shows nothing of any value....
__________________
TINBENDER


[url=http://www.tinbenders.org/forum]I THINK YOU SHOULD GO HERE!![/url]
Suzuki Samurai powered tube buggy.:grinpimp:

Tow rig 2005 F-350,



[QUOTE=DRM;12804141]Really? Then how about you explain what "I am missing" by not shoving my tongue up my wife's ass. No, really... I'm dying to know what exactly *I* am supposed to get out of that.[/QUOTE]
flaash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 06:25 PM   #24 (permalink)
Registered User
 
fatkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4862
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 3,967
Just pulled the ECM and I can hear shit rattling around inside, that can't be good...
__________________
[url]http://www.myspace.com/jerrywsparks[/url]
fatkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 06:49 PM   #25 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Grim Reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6726
Location: United Socialist States of America
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatkid
I have a 89561-14182 (84-4runner with A/T) will it work with my 85? Read the FAQ's and got mixed answers.
Wait!

Is it the same size with the same plug configurations? 84 Carbs had a ECM under the passenger seat. 85 RE have a ECM in passenger kick panel....Not interchangeable if thats the under seat module.

Running that part number through Google pulls up reference to a 84 EFI BUT I was not aware or a 84 EFI on a truck...might be a cali model. I know 84 Cellicas ran EFI and that part number also matches the Celica.....I don't think it will work.

It looks like you want a 89530-35030 is what I find when looking for a 85.....doesnt specify if there is a AT or MT difference. I think their is a ECM for the AT mounted to the left side of the glove box on the side of the HVAC box.
__________________
[COLOR="Black"]Did you expect to find something deep and meaningful here?[/COLOR]
"He has all the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire." -- Winston Churchill
Grim Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.