supra afm on 22re - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Truck and 4Runner
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2007, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
22r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54816
Posts: 138
supra afm on 22re

I want to increase power on my truck for cheap.. and i have understand talking about supra afm will increase power, torque and maybe gas mileage? Is it true? I want to know what year of supra and what number of afm will fit without problem, or check engine light.. ???
22r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 09:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Designated Wrench.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 62881
Location: Salinas, California
Posts: 287
There is a section in the FAQ on how to do it with the stock AFM.

Copied directly out of the faq:



Horsepower More Power

Thanks to DRM for saving this, and Tim for giving the advice.

Originally posted by DRM
-----------------------------------------------------------
"Ok ready, first pull off the efi fuse for a couple of seconds, then reinstall it. Grab some Autolite #65 plugs, and side gap them at .048. Set the valve clearance to .011 cold. Install the factory carbed thermostat {Pappy: it's a 180* vs. 190*). Adjust the AFM 3 teeth rich (under 5000 a.s.l.). Start the motor, let idle till you reach operating temp. Set the timing at 16* "not short circuted," {Pappy: about the same as 8* shorted} then take it for a putt, re check the timing, and enjoy. Leave the airbox alone, for it's not a cause of starvation on a stocker, and don't worry about the muffler for now. If you're going to modify the exhaust, start with a header, and 2.5" headpipe."

A follow-up from later that day:

"... you pull the EFI fuse to start the ECU's regathering of fuel mixture readings, because you are altering them via the AFM. The #65's are a hotter plug, and will in this case create a more efficient burn. You WILL NOT detonate when the timing is set 16* NOT SHORT CIRCUTED, because the end reading when short circuted will be 8* advanced. The afm adjustment enrichens the motor aproximately 3cc. This is necessary due to the timing advance, which requires a proper mixture."

I found the AFM 3 teeth to be too rich for my high desert home (driveway is 5200 ft) and have backed it down to 1 tooth rich.
__________________
Dragging more ass than a dog with worms...
VasToyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-05-2007, 09:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 54
Posts: 4,853
Differernt model afms have different internal resistance, and will not work, even if they look the same. You need to check out any afm that you might use to see if it matches the requirements of the 22RE.
Pazuzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 10:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
22r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54816
Posts: 138
Could i put directly the supra afm without any modification like plugs, timing, etc??? Should i need to adjust the afm after or its ok? If yes, how could i adjust the supra afm for my 22re? Dont need to change the air box and i can stay with a stock air filter?
22r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 10:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Member # 33208
Location: vegas
Posts: 211
read this

http://www.well.com/user/mosk/AFM1.htm no personal experience, but been playing on google about tuning 22re and found this. read the section about a bigger afm towards the bottom
__________________
When I'm not saving gas, I'm saving time
leorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 02:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Porch Monkey
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3132
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 5,109
Send a message via AIM to NOODLES Send a message via Yahoo to NOODLES
I have seen 85 5m air flow meters work with 22re in 91. i know they work. bigger, he liked the power increase with the bigger pipe and afm.
NOODLES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 11:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Member # 1852
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 1,928
Send a message via AIM to dcg9381 Send a message via Yahoo to dcg9381
What other mods have you done to your ride? A bigger AFM could be a decent mod, but that assumes that the AFM is the bottleneck in the air flow.... I'd do a header, a late model (88.5+) intake, K&N, and maybe a supra TB before you start messing with the AFM...

Jeff's tuned the supra AFM on a modified 22RTE motor, so it may not be an apples to apples comparison.. Also, the 22RTE measures boost pressure partly based on AFM readings - I think Jeff was trying to work around the stock ecu limitations on overboost....
__________________
[url=http://22returbo.com]22returbo.net[/url]
[url=http://lakebox.dnsalias.com/photos/1981%20toyota/megasquirt/]1981 Toyota 22r Supercharged (fuel only) - sold [/url]
[url=http://22returbo.com]1988 22RE turbo 4Runner[/url]
dcg9381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 12:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Rollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Member # 7140
Location: Rancho Cordova, CA.
Posts: 1,389
Here is a good mod for your AFM
Attached Images
 
__________________
Pirates of the Rubicon/ROLLIE/RON
Rollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 03:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member # 13707
Location: California
Posts: 2,078
Rollie:
Any pics of the mounting brackets for the afm.
Did you cut and splice the wires for the afm? Did it make any difference(internal resistance in the wires will go up a little, was it enough to make a difference?)
Toyoda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 03:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Rollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Member # 7140
Location: Rancho Cordova, CA.
Posts: 1,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toyoda View Post
Rollie:
Any pics of the mounting brackets for the afm.
Did you cut and splice the wires for the afm? Did it make any difference(internal resistance in the wires will go up a little, was it enough to make a difference?)
Pic of the brackets.
Yes I cut and spliced the wires. I was told it was not posible they were shielded. They are not.
No differance in resistance. (be shure to solder them with silver solder)
Big differance in air flow.
The boots are from a turbo 22ret with a piece of stanless tube between them
Attached Images
 
__________________
Pirates of the Rubicon/ROLLIE/RON

Last edited by Rollie; 01-06-2007 at 03:34 PM.
Rollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 06:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
4bangr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Member # 3014
Location: Boise,Id
Posts: 457
where did you get the rubber pipes?

I'm working on putting a supra throttle body on mine.
4bangr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 06:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member # 22625
Location: norcal pleasanton
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to T34418L3one
he said he got them from the 22rte
__________________
86 4runner still ifs awaiting sas
T34418L3one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 07:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Cranky Moderator
 
steveh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Member # 2026
Location: Placerville, CA USA
Posts: 6,742
Send a message via AIM to steveh
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollie View Post
Pic of the brackets.
Yes I cut and spliced the wires. I was told it was not posible they were shielded. They are not.
No differance in resistance. (be shure to solder them with silver solder)
Big differance in air flow.
The boots are from a turbo 22ret with a piece of stanless tube between them
Ron, looking good. CT Engineering did a great job for you
__________________
85 Toy Xtracab
"I DON'T want to understand !!"
Click here to donate to the Rubicon Trail Foundation
Rubicon Trail Foundation
"Wow this is unbelievable"
10th Anniversary Cantina For the 'Con 2014
steveh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 06:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Brian Ellinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Member # 1088
Location: Colorado
Posts: 3,664
To swap in the larger AFM (2" dorr vs. 2.5" door) You will have to remove your old circuit board, and solder it into the larger AFM. It will increase power, however I have only done this on trucks running minimum header/exhaust. I have not run below ~3k feet with it so I dont know about running too lean at low altitude.
__________________
Now on FACEBOOK!

Thank you to our loyal customers!

Diamond Axle
http://www.diamondaxle.com

Diamond axled buggies take 2 1st's, at Worlds WEROCK!!

Front Range Off-Road Fab with NEW forum!
http://www.frontrangeoffroadfab.com


NEW BUILD FTOY #44
/forum/toyota-formula-toy-forum/562295-front-range-builds-new-toy-old-toy-44-a.html
Brian Ellinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 08:01 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
4bangr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Member # 3014
Location: Boise,Id
Posts: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Ellinger View Post
To swap in the larger AFM (2" dorr vs. 2.5" door) You will have to remove your old circuit board, and solder it into the larger AFM. It will increase power, however I have only done this on trucks running minimum header/exhaust. I have not run below ~3k feet with it so I dont know about running too lean at low altitude.
Brian, did you change the circuit board because you tried it and KNOW they are different, s it just your theory that you need to swap them. I was going to put both of them on my test bench with an oscilliscope and compare the profiles. My personal theory is that the profiles won't be very different because it's how the computers interpret the signal that is the key. I do expect that I'll have to richen the AFM for the extra air, but my guess is it will just be a proportional change. Of course my idea is just a theory, that's why I'm asking the question.
4bangr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 08:35 AM   #16 (permalink)
Cranky Moderator
 
steveh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Member # 2026
Location: Placerville, CA USA
Posts: 6,742
Send a message via AIM to steveh
Ron, are you at all worried about water getting sucked in on trails like Fordyce?
__________________
85 Toy Xtracab
"I DON'T want to understand !!"
Click here to donate to the Rubicon Trail Foundation
Rubicon Trail Foundation
"Wow this is unbelievable"
10th Anniversary Cantina For the 'Con 2014
steveh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 11:52 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Rollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Member # 7140
Location: Rancho Cordova, CA.
Posts: 1,389
No its up near the hood and to the back. I'll have allot more to worry about befor it gets that high
__________________
Pirates of the Rubicon/ROLLIE/RON

Last edited by Rollie; 01-10-2007 at 11:54 AM.
Rollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 01:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Cranky Moderator
 
steveh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Member # 2026
Location: Placerville, CA USA
Posts: 6,742
Send a message via AIM to steveh
Ron, which AFM is that?
__________________
85 Toy Xtracab
"I DON'T want to understand !!"
Click here to donate to the Rubicon Trail Foundation
Rubicon Trail Foundation
"Wow this is unbelievable"
10th Anniversary Cantina For the 'Con 2014
steveh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 06:14 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Rollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Member # 7140
Location: Rancho Cordova, CA.
Posts: 1,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveh View Post
Ron, which AFM is that?
86 2wd
__________________
Pirates of the Rubicon/ROLLIE/RON
Rollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.