Pirate 4x4 banner

Driver side Wheel Bearing Issues?

938 views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  Kajo4x4toy 
#1 ·
OK, need some confirmation on my thinking. Today I destroyed my third inside driver's side wheel bearings in less than 1.5 years. I have also went through 2 sets of knuckle bearings. I have been driving straight axle Toys for 19 years so I know I am setting them up properly, I have a nice worn out FSM, and the passenger side is fine. I am guessing that the axle housing is bent but have never been able to "SEE" it bent. What other possibilities are there?

current setup:
Stock Axle, shaved with e-locker
30 spline longs
1.5" spacers
37" MTR's on 15X10" Aluminum wheels with 3-5/8" backspacing. my first bearing went out with my 37" IROK's on 17x8" with 4.5" backspacing.
1/8" Toe-in

#2 ·
Have you had a set of tires on it long enough for a wear pattern to develop on the tire? If the bearing was getting loaded unevenly I would think it would show up on the inside of the tire. Maybe try switching driver and passenger sides, it would only cost you one wheel bearing to find out:flipoff2: But its most likely bent, big tires and spacers are hard on stuff but they should be lasting longer. Are the knuckle bearings just wearing out on one side or both? They are not going to last forever being abused.

#3 ·
John, I remember vaguely that you had a pretty rapid gear oil leak coming from the driver side knuckle seal. It could possibly be washing out the grease in the bearing if the oil can find its way in there. I know that I have that problem too but, in my case, the oil stays in the axle/spindle/hub/locking hub assembly and might be just enough to lubricate it. I also don't drive my truck regularly as you do and overfill my axle. I am thinking that the leaking gear oil may have something to do with it. I know that Russell also has this problem and pretty much like me, gave up trying to fix inner axle seals and grease bearings.