Pirate 4x4 banner

Bigger tires or not

2K views 20 replies 16 participants last post by  bAdYoTa 
#1 ·
I need some advice from everyone I'm thinking i want so me bigger tires my runner is set up with rears up front, 63"s in the back and I'm running 35x13.50x15 BFG Krawlers I'm thinking like some 39.5 or 40 in IROKS. This should give me some more diff clearence which would be nice. Am I gonna have to worry about breaking axles I'm running some old school cryoed and ringed birfs from longfield with stock inners and 5.29 yukons with a lockrite in front w/dual cases NEEDS SOME HELP DECIDING!!! Heres a pic also, oh and I live in Oregon where its always wet the Krawlers are great in dry rocks but pretty much suck in everything else.

See less See more
#3 ·
Is there a law that requires your trucks to be silver with blue exos up there in the PNW?

I bet our terrain here in MI is very similar to what you guys get. I've been running 36" SXs for 2 years with 0 breakage, just sold them and am moving to 38.5" SXs. I wouldn't want any bigger in this truck. Front's a 62" diamond with all the good parts, rear's an IFS with 1.5" spacers, we'll see how it does. Truck is pretty light, and the current plans are to go F-toy next year with it, since I can't keep sheetmetal straight, and don't want to add more weight (I have a lightweight tube bed, no exo).

Any bigger, you'll be wanting to get hydro, 30 spliners, etc.

#4 ·
I'm no expert but I would think at the very least to run 39's you would need 30spl longs,brace your axle,mod your fire wall and trim your rear more.
I was thinking of 39's but will go with 36' irok or 37' toyo's when the time comes to replace my 35' toyo's.I wonder how 39's would be on the road with 5:29 gears?

#9 ·