'97 4runner won't start - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Truck and 4Runner
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2007, 07:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wait this ain't Tx..
 
TxCruzr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Member # 9380
Location: Del Boca Vista, AZ
Posts: 2,201
Send a message via AIM to TxCruzr
'97 4runner won't start

I'm going to go work on my brothers 4runner this weekend and want to get some ideas on what to look at.

It is a '97 4runner with v6 and was running fine until the starter solenoid freaked out and kept turning the starter when the motor was already started and running. Since it has over 200k miles he went ahead and replaced the whole starter and solenoid but now it will just crank. So either no fuel or no spark.
Since it was running fine right before this my first thought is maybe a fuse blew when the starter went ape shit.
Second, I don't know if 4runners have it or not, but when he put the battery terminal back on the anti-theft alarm went off and it took him a while to turn it off since he didn't have the key with the button on it. I was thinking maybe there is some anti-theft switch of some type that shuts the fuel pump off like in fords when they are in a accident and it just needs to be reset.
Other then that I cannot imagine the fuel pump crapping out a split second after the starter did.
Also thinking maybe the ignition switch took a dive with the starter?

Any ideas on what to look for or if a '97 4runner has any type of fuel pump shut off switch or relay? Google hasn't been very helpful so far.
Thanks!
__________________
"There is no hunting like the hunting of man, and those who have hunted armed men long enough and liked it, never care for anything else thereafter."
-Ernest Hemingway

'69 FJ-40 - under construction
TxCruzr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member # 16719
Location: coastal virginia
Posts: 786
did he disconnect the battery before diving in?
jdrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-29-2007, 07:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wait this ain't Tx..
 
TxCruzr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Member # 9380
Location: Del Boca Vista, AZ
Posts: 2,201
Send a message via AIM to TxCruzr
He had the battery disconnected when he replaced the starter. Also wondering if the computer has some anti-theft deal and just needs to have the battery disconnected for a while to reset it and then when reconnected, be ready to shut the alarm off with the key.
__________________
"There is no hunting like the hunting of man, and those who have hunted armed men long enough and liked it, never care for anything else thereafter."
-Ernest Hemingway

'69 FJ-40 - under construction
TxCruzr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 09:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 73413
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 865
check fusible links
Bansheestu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 86771
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 294
They have the fuse for the ignitor its a square one that you have to buy special at autozone they run about 5 dollars. I had the same problem one day it turned out I just knocked off the wire that goes to the ignitor and was not making contact. good luck
tomjordanphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
schleprock
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Member # 88698
Location: Long beach
Posts: 489
Disconnect the battery, then put the key in and turn it to the on position, then reconnect the battery....sometimes, depending on what antitheft system is in the car, this will get past it. Give it a shot.
LBHSBZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Member # 88600
Location: placerville,ca
Posts: 75
check the EFI fuse, i had one and that blew a few times
83sleepr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wait this ain't Tx..
 
TxCruzr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Member # 9380
Location: Del Boca Vista, AZ
Posts: 2,201
Send a message via AIM to TxCruzr
Where are these fuses at, both the efi and the igniter fuse? I haven't see the car in a few years but I want to say there is a fuse box by the dash and also one under the hood.
Stupid technology, if this was my cruiser I would only have to check 12 fuses and 3 or 4 wires
__________________
"There is no hunting like the hunting of man, and those who have hunted armed men long enough and liked it, never care for anything else thereafter."
-Ernest Hemingway

'69 FJ-40 - under construction
TxCruzr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 08:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grocery Getter
 
ErikB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 59
Location: Auburn, CA
Posts: 10,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxCruzr View Post
Also wondering if the computer has some anti-theft deal
No, not from the factory anyway.
ErikB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.