22re stand alone wiring harness - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Truck and 4Runner
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2008, 05:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member # 18242
Location: NC
Posts: 32
22re stand alone wiring harness

Got a question, I'm attempting to do my first harness for my buggy. I have read the 22re convertion in facts about 20 times, but I have a 88 motor already EFI I just want the wires to make it run I will run switches for everything else. Can someone that has done a stand alone harness tell me what wires you used? How many were there? I am sick, I'v been
messing with these wires for the past 3 weeks please help me!!
__________________
Daniel
CrawlnYota33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 07:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
hardlinecrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 84551
Location: lincoln ca
Posts: 44
Lightbulb

cntact megasquirt and they can help you.there kit is way cheep and alows you to delete a lot of crap...
hardlinecrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-10-2008, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member # 24377
Location: Pioneer.CA
Posts: 226
Send a message via Yahoo to Dickdog
I've done a 85 efi in a 79 and made my own harness using factory wiring..... I known 88 has only one connector at the ECU ....would love to help you out. I 'm looking for a wiring diagram right now. the basic would be

1 12v power to ECU
2 12v ignition switched power to ECU
3 ground to ECU


the mass airflow switches the fuel pump on buy grounding a relay.


does any out there have a conector pin print out of a 88 ecu?
__________________
89 toyota 4runner,Exo, marlin crawler, 5.29, lockright in rear, ARB in front, toy rear main leafs in front, 3" body lift, and 36" tires

Buildup thread [url]http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=540218[/url]

[CENTER][SIZE="3"][COLOR="Lime"]I wheel toyotas and fix jeeps for a living!
[SIZE="6"]JV #589[/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][/CENTER]


[SIZE="3"]I read more than I post!!! [/SIZE][CENTER][/CENTER]
Dickdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 12:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3370
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 6,539
megasquirt has a pinup diagram on their site http://www.diyautotune.com/tech_arti...oyota_22re.htm
__________________
Pook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 04:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Member # 47035
Location: Fitchburg, MA
Posts: 410
Send a message via AIM to Intrepidyota
Quote:
joey ended up laying out the hole harness on the floor and cutting everything out that we dont need in the engine harness. the truck ran off of 4 wires. he did all of the work in about 4 hours. i guess thats why we call him the toyota ninja. her is a pic of the engine with the all the wires that it needs to run. still have to cut a few and shorten.
http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...=412927&page=6

So you might try asking Homegrown or avery if you can track him down, he hasn't been here in over a year.
__________________
[URL="www.toyotacrawlers.com"][COLOR="DarkGreen"][SIZE="3"]Northeast Toyota Crawlers[/SIZE][/COLOR][/URL]

[QUOTE=xjemily;9797675]The last thing i want to do is read a three page thread about a bunch a dudes claiming to be swinging, threesome having ass masters with no photographic evidence.[/QUOTE]
Intrepidyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 10:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member # 17544
Location: PARADISE norcal
Posts: 1,182
I did a motor swap into my 83 with an 88. I found out that all other efi's are pretty much the same, except for the 88. The 88 is like the problem child when it comes to the wiring. There are subtle differences, and that's the problem. There are differences when it comes to this wiring. What I ended up doing was using the toyota factory wiring diagrams for the 88 specific and got it figured out. Fortunately I knew someone who had these books and I did not have to purchase them from toyota because they were like 100 bucks a book!!! Good luck, but definitely keep it 88 specific.
__________________
1990 Toyota EX cab 22RE Dana 44 Front Alloys, T-100 Detroit rear. Duals 4.7s. 5.29s 5.38s This combo works

Friends Of the High Lakes
Cal4wheel
BRC
Tread Lightly
porterwagner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 07:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member # 18242
Location: NC
Posts: 32
All right, I got my harness stripped and put back on the motor,and it does have 3 plugs at comp. But I got a couple questions. The stoplight switch wire what do I wire it into? Somehow I stripped the starter relay out, were do I put it back in at? Do I need all the fuses in the panel that is behind the driver kick panel, and I have 2 wires that come from the comp. and splice into the EFI relay, but 4 wires come from the relay witch ones do I use and what do I do with the others?
__________________
Daniel
CrawlnYota33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 07:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
texasammi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72468
Location: Houston
Posts: 407
man....it sounds like you are in knee deep without a shovle. here is what you need to do...

First off. Find a in depth wiring diagram if you havent already. Factory is the best but kind of hard to come by unless you or someone you know has a manual. The best thing i have found to do is go find an auto shop that has either alldata or mitchel-on-demand. I found that mitchel has better diagrams. ask them to print you a diagram for the entire chassis and one for the engine managment. some places will do it for free but just be ready to throw down a few bucks. i think i paid like 10 last time i had to do this.

next. your going to pull all of the wires from the ecu (computer). Basicly any wire that comes from those three connectors your going to want to keep. Use your diagrams as reference as you go along.

That should get you started. And a tip that will save lots of time and money. Dont cut any closer than 3 inches to a conector...just incase you have to splice it back in, so you have enough wire to work with.
__________________
[SIZE="4"]"Ya gotta be handy with tha steel if you know what I mean, earn ya keep"[/SIZE] [I]Warren G.[/I]

[url]WWW.SHROCKWORKS.COM[/url]

97 Tacoma- Ol' Man Camper Rig
96 runner - Baby Mobile
texasammi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 09:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
jimbo74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Member # 53319
Posts: 336
have you thought about an fsm? www.ncttora.com
__________________
84 22R 4x4 X-Cab G52 4.10s SR5
jimbo74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 02:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Member # 154515
Location: Idaho
Posts: 2
im doing a 22re swap in my 85 toyota and was wondering how i can get it running all i have is the ecu and engine harness. i just want it to start.
90whitexj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 02:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Not a Wenzelite
 
MT4Runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member # 44480
Location: Kalispell, MT
Posts: 18,517
Search for the 22R-22RE swap thread by Iseloz.

If you have a later 22RE, search under Pietro's username. He posted up some good wiring diagrams.
MT4Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 03:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 109693
Posts: 164
I just finished my '91 today. Gimme a couple days and I'll have my write up done. Feel free to PM me with questions. There's very little info. out there.
ksp04031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 07:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
sucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member # 147955
Location: Colorado
Posts: 389
I have an 85 that was previously carbed. I think the intake plenum is an 89 because the egr plug running off it. And every wire is stock from a running 85 22re. I tore the harness apart and re-spliced all the factory crap. Had to splice in a few plugs, but check continuity on everything I did. I'm an aircraft mechanic and I'm very familiar with electrical, but I mostly deal with AC not DC I have everything hooked up. I have fuel and spark, but it won't start....???? I've been checking resistance throughout the ignition circuit. I'm lost I don't have a timing light and I played with the distributor quite a bit. I have 85 instrument cluster, steering columb, ecu. Checked and rechecked vaccuum lines and plugs for good connection. All grounds are good. distributor was 180 out but fixed that and still nothing. Unless timing is that sensitive, I am lost...
Any ideas?
sucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 08:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
TacoRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member # 31873
Location: Hiram Ga
Posts: 497
We got a guy here in Ga on the TTORA boards that goes by Yotaman that built a complete harness.

http://www.tacomaterritory.com/forum...d.php?t=130653
__________________
King James
TacoRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 08:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
I need a garage.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Member # 98895
Location: New Caney, TX
Posts: 1,344
Send a message via AIM to dezrik Send a message via MSN to dezrik Send a message via Yahoo to dezrik
Quote:
Originally Posted by sucker View Post
I have an 85 that was previously carbed. I think the intake plenum is an 89 because the egr plug running off it. And every wire is stock from a running 85 22re. I tore the harness apart and re-spliced all the factory crap. Had to splice in a few plugs, but check continuity on everything I did. I'm an aircraft mechanic and I'm very familiar with electrical, but I mostly deal with AC not DC I have everything hooked up. I have fuel and spark, but it won't start....???? I've been checking resistance throughout the ignition circuit. I'm lost I don't have a timing light and I played with the distributor quite a bit. I have 85 instrument cluster, steering columb, ecu. Checked and rechecked vaccuum lines and plugs for good connection. All grounds are good. distributor was 180 out but fixed that and still nothing. Unless timing is that sensitive, I am lost...
Any ideas?
Are you getting spark to the plugs?
dezrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 08:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
I need a garage.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Member # 98895
Location: New Caney, TX
Posts: 1,344
Send a message via AIM to dezrik Send a message via MSN to dezrik Send a message via Yahoo to dezrik
Quote:
Originally Posted by TacoRunner View Post
We got a guy here in Ga on the TTORA boards that goes by Yotaman that built a complete harness.

http://www.tacomaterritory.com/forum...d.php?t=130653
WOW, he knows how to strip a harness down for sure lol. SICK sick sick sick sick.
dezrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 04:55 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
sucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member # 147955
Location: Colorado
Posts: 389
getting spark to each plug, the wires are installed in the correct order. I've gone over the easy misses a few times.
sucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 06:16 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
TacoRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member # 31873
Location: Hiram Ga
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrawlnYota33 View Post
Can someone that has done a stand alone harness tell me what wires you used? How many were there?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dezrik View Post
WOW, he knows how to strip a harness down for sure lol. SICK sick sick sick sick.
Hey he wanted to know someone that could help. I gave him info. Its a hellva lot more than he had.
__________________
King James
TacoRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 10:27 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Member # 153213
Location: krawlorado
Posts: 51
is there any market for a motor-only rebuilt harness(stripped down factory harness with no cracked wires and all of the clips fully intact)...... i have access to a bunch of harnesses, and know a thing or 2 about wiring.........
turbotoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 09:27 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member # 35699
Location: gainesville, GA
Posts: 250
i thought i saw a thread were a guy would make a factory harness stand alone for 250 anyone know who that was?
scottiebobbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 07:04 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
sucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member # 147955
Location: Colorado
Posts: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbotoys View Post
is there any market for a motor-only rebuilt harness(stripped down factory harness with no cracked wires and all of the clips fully intact)...... i have access to a bunch of harnesses, and know a thing or 2 about wiring.........
My garage...
__________________
I just like to do stuff and see what happens
sucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 07:11 PM   #22 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Propane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Member # 30839
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,407
At one point I thought about making stripped down harnesses, kind of like my own competition. After realising how many different combinations/differences in sensors, harnesses, and computers,it wasn't worth it from a business standpoint. The tech support would be unimaginable.
__________________

Bulletproof, complete propane kits for carbureted offroad and street vehicles.
Please visit our website for details or call with any questions. 480-430-8033


Free shipping on complete kits!
_____________________________

www.gotpropane.com




Check us out on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/gotpropane?
Propane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 09:29 PM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 107909
Posts: 62
just plug everything in you can, label all your wires at the comp., tear all the loom off the harness, then start tracing wires to their source and delete them as needed. you'll end up with 3 or 4 power wires to be wired to a keyed power and fused along with stock efi relay, and 2 ground wires. you'll need to shorten a few wires also. i have done it a bunch and it is simple.
brian l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 12:10 PM   #24 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Member # 189113
Posts: 32
is this dead? or can someone build me a harness?
Travy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.