91 22re to 94 22re swap - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Truck and 4Runner
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2010, 12:38 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 164113
Angry 91 22re to 94 22re swap

Hey guys, I have never done this before but I did get the mechanical side finished with few hiccups.

I began rerouting the old wire harness when it occurred to me that a few of the "91" harness connectors are different shapes. They have the same purpose just wont fit

Is it ok to cut the connectors off the "94"donor harness and splice them onto the "91"harness I am using so I can plug them up to the"94" motor. If so any particular splicing methods recommended.

Also there is a plug coming out of the back of the efi housing but my harness doesn't have a wire fore that. Should I be worried about that?

Thanks
Tynian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 12:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Granite Guru

Member # 49159
I tried mixxing knock sensors from different years didn't work. I drove 3 miles and my headers were glowing orange. put the correct year sensor ran bitchen after that. Moral of the story is make sure harness, sensors and ecu match.
Old 07-12-2010, 01:53 PM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 164113
Thanks for your reply Seabass.

Knock sensor huh. Where is that located? err the 91 didn't have one for some reason but it is located as usual on the 94 donor block.

Recon the absence of the knock sensor plus the fact that the 91 wasn't even bolted to the frame and only 2 bolts holding the tranny to the engine

had a helping hand in dislocating a rod?

the bigger question is does the old harness have a line for the knock sensor shyt!!! I have plans to restore the old 91 engine and put it in the 94 donor to resell help? I listen, If you guys got any pull let me post attachments so I can give yall a little visual on the situation.