Pirate 4x4 banner

I like bright colors

138K views 709 replies 74 participants last post by  Provience 
#1 · (Edited)
and shiny objects. :grinpimp:

EDIT: I would like to start off by saying "Thank You" to RuffStuff Specialties, WFO Concepts, Davez Offroad Performance, Trail Gear, Trail-Worthy Fabrication, Marlin Crawler and all you fine folks at Pirate4x4.com for the great service and support that I have recieved :bounce: :beer:

I have been collecting parts for my little red truck for several years, got into the Army this year and will be shipping off to BCT in September so the wife told me to get the damn truck done so I don't waste all summer wrenching :laughing:

I have been spending a little more money buying parts instead of making everything, but here is the plan so far.

1987 std cab/short bed 4wd
SAS with 83 front end
Knuckle Gussets/trunion eliminators
Ifs hubs w/Taco rotors
RUF with 2 83 front springs added and overload removed for 5 leaf pack total
63 chevy rears/frenched hangers
dual 2.28 cases
5.29 spool rear/lockright front
Longfield birfields and hub gears
CV rear/u-joint front driveshafts
H1 takeoffs and 8 bolt rims

Standard shit, figured I might as well have a thread too :flipoff2:

At the end of december '10 I put in a rebuilt, .020" over 22r

Engine Vehicle Auto part Car

I started around the second week in June this year. First things First, remove the bed

Land vehicle Vehicle Car Automotive exterior Pickup truck

Turns out that the rearmost exhaust hanger also makes a great spot to hold the grinder

Auto part

Got the rear springs done, time to turn the truck around to work on the front

Land vehicle Vehicle Car Automotive tire Tire

Here you can see how much higher the rear sits vs. the front using chevy's and stock IFS. Notice the angle of the cab vs. my pos 4runner in background, both trucks on 31" all terrain tires.

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)