Pirate 4x4 banner

Transmission Temp

3K views 31 replies 15 participants last post by  mwilliamshs 
#1 ·
I’m new to towing, so this is a weak topic, but I’ve been searching and finding tons of different information.

I’m towing about 3,000lbs. with a 5.3l Tahoe. Transmission temperature this past weekend reached 217, when I was crawling along mountain roads in WV. The typical temperature heading down was about 170-190 changing with terrain.

On the way home it pretty much maintained 163 degrees.

My main concern is, is there a temp that is dangerously low for a DD? I want to install a trans cooler to help with slower towing up those mountains, but am finding all types of stuff online for low temps for transmissions.

We’re towing out to SD this summer and I’m dreading Chicago. I know it’s going to tax that transmission if I don’t add a cooler.

If it matters, this is the 6 speed, with 120,000 on the clock.

Thanks.

#5 ·
Yes and yes, and I don't know how accurate they are. Probably not very.

It's really hard to over cool a transmission once it gets up to temperature. Getting it up to temperature is why it is recommended to run it through the factory radiator cooler first, then into an auxilary cooler. Down here in Texas where cold is a myth I run all my coolers straight and bypass the radiator, never had an issue, I do it mostly because I don't want anything else pulling cooling capacity from my radiator not because of fear it heating up the trans fluid too much before the aux cooler.
That makes sense. I just know sometimes in the winter my truck's transmission temp is pretty low, even driving 20-30 miles. But it was really nice towing, because it never went over 170.

#4 ·