Pirate 4x4 banner

project toyota

56K views 108 replies 34 participants last post by  gtr1990 
#1 · (Edited)
93 SAS VW turbo diesel

THIS PROJECT HAS CHANGED- page 5

Well I gave in and decided to join the forum and post my built for constructive Criticism. please let me know your thoughts and ideas. I guess i should say at this time that i do frame repair in the collision repair industry on 90% toyota. So most of the body work stuff is an everyday thing to me. but im new to everything else in terms 4x4 fabrication. My start of this project started with the ^!@#$*& gas prices. At the time i decided to take on this masive task of the buildup, i owned a gas gulping 5.2l Grand Cherokee Limited. I loved the vehicle expecialy the interior but hated the fuel economy 11.2mpg with my foot. So i decided i needed a economic, reliable 4x4. If you look around in the light truck market their are no diesels, namely YOU TOYOTA (GET ON IT). so easy solution build the truck you want heres the plans. at some point i will post my research bookmarks on all the info that helped me the most. All i can say is research the %^#* out of every aspect of your build. And be comfortable with each section before you start. FORUMS ARE GOLD

1993 toyota pickup ext cab
-2wd reinforced frame
-4runner rear axle
-solid front axle
-VW TDI/IDI 1.9l turbo diesel
-bob bed
-grand cherokee seats
-acme adapters adapter plate (Thanks Jeff)
-w56 tranny with gear driven transfer case
I will expand this list some day because its LONG

SORRY about the delay in posting pics

this is how i bought it rolled and 2wd (not for long)

getting her striped

the donner of rear axle and many many random parts

got some parts from pick and pull (and w56 with gear tranfer case from a 4cyl 4runner)

stripping the beatup 4runner with 3.0l

See less See more
#4 · (Edited)