Sexy Waterproof fuse/relay box - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Electrical & Wiring
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2014, 08:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Member # 192237
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 11,365
Sexy Waterproof fuse/relay box

Didn't see another thread on it and searched for "fuse box" so if it's an R then .

Bussmann RTMR 15303-4-0-4 Mini Fuse & Micro Relay Power Distribution

Just got one of these with the proper terminals and seals. It is very nice looking and looks to fit mini and micro relays for 35 and 50 amp capacities, respectively.

Kind of regretting not getting the one with all the fuses bussed together on one leg, but that's life.
Bussmann 15303-5-2-4 RTMR Mini Fuse & Relay Power Distribution Module
[486] is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2014, 08:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Member # 226215
Location: The South
Posts: 1,628
Cheap too.
__________________
But not really.
Nixer600 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 07-08-2014, 08:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Member # 192237
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 11,365
Yup, ended up at $50 with 100 of the gray seals, and 50 each of 16-14 and 14-12 ga crimp on terminals, and $10 shipping.

Last edited by [486]; 07-08-2014 at 08:32 PM.
[486] is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2014, 07:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Member # 1636
Location: East Rutherford NJ
Posts: 8,882
Looks cool, definitely post pictures when you get it wired all together. I'm ass-uming the seals are the same as a Weatherpak connector, and I can use the same crimpers?
chris demartini is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2014, 07:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Member # 137726
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris demartini View Post
Looks cool, definitely post pictures when you get it wired all together. I'm ass-uming the seals are the same as a Weatherpak connector, and I can use the same crimpers?
Technically the Bussman boxes use Metripack terminals, but the seals are the same. I've found you can use the weatherpack crimper but it won't do both terminal and seal crimps at the same time.
MotoDave is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2014, 08:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Cranky Moderator
 
steveh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Member # 2026
Location: Placerville, CA USA
Posts: 7,366
Send a message via AIM to steveh
I plan on using these next time I do a wiring project.
__________________
85 Toy Xtracab
"I DON'T want to understand !!"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Wow this is unbelievable"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
steveh is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2014, 01:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
cajuntaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72152
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Posts: 240
This is pretty slick. I put an American Autowire harness in my samurai but I would like this for my buggy.
__________________
1987 Samurai Linked, Turbo 1.6, Yotas, Coilovers, 107" Wheelbase, 38" TSLs
cajuntaco is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2014, 01:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
"All Weeee Drive!"
 
MochaMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6450
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 12,047
https://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/gener...ml#post2576757
__________________
62 IH Scout, Built to wheel.
MochaMike is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2014, 07:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Rock God
 
jemarshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Member # 50690
Location: Rainier, OR
Posts: 1,921
Send a message via MSN to jemarshall
LMAO

This is what the parts ferry dropped off for me last week to do a re-wire on the daughters scout 800

(Sorry for the crappy pic, was working nights and had just gotten out of bed)

jemarshall is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2014, 07:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Member # 192237
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 11,365
heh

I just got one size of the seals, figured I can stretch them over the 12ga, and fill the holes with RTV to plug the unused holes.
[486] is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2014, 08:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Rock God
 
jemarshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Member # 50690
Location: Rainier, OR
Posts: 1,921
Send a message via MSN to jemarshall
The seals are to also refill the weather pack kit I have, its easier/cheaper to buy them in larger quantities and when you order other parts for shipping.

Not sure these are good enough for the beautiful wiring thread so I will just toss them out here, just finished these up.






Last edited by jemarshall; 07-09-2014 at 11:15 PM. Reason: Added Pics
jemarshall is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2014, 11:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
W6FTW
 
NorCalPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Member # 133266
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 3,785
I posted up about this a long time ago. Im surprised it didn't catch back then.

No issues here
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NorCalPR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2014, 02:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
The place for Parts!
 
4wp Tech 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Member # 224718
Location: Compton, CA
Posts: 178
If you're lazy like me Painless wiring offers almost this exact box pre-wired part number 30004
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Toll-Free: 877-474-4821
Life Is Better Off-Road
4wp Tech 1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2014, 06:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Rock God
 
jemarshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Member # 50690
Location: Rainier, OR
Posts: 1,921
Send a message via MSN to jemarshall
That one is for fuses only, there are different types of them, mine is 5 relays with 10 fuses, but you can spec them out differently when you order them.
jemarshall is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2014, 10:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
W6FTW
 
NorCalPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Member # 133266
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 3,785
You can also order with no buss bat, on either side, or both sides
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NorCalPR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2014, 07:02 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
jsawduste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Member # 77571
Posts: 4,703
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorCalPR View Post
I posted up about this a long time ago. Im surprised it didn't catch back then.

No issues here
Like NoRCalPR been pimping the RTMR`s for 5 years now.

Downside is having all the wires coming up to the bottom. Prefer to mount in an enclosure and bundle the harness(es) together.

I am anal about wiring
__________________
Sent with smoke signal.
jsawduste is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2014, 09:21 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Member # 192237
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 11,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsawduste View Post
Like NoRCalPR been pimping the RTMR`s for 5 years now.

Downside is having all the wires coming up to the bottom. Prefer to mount in an enclosure and bundle the harness(es) together.

I am anal about wiring
Eh, didn't see a thread.

Mount it to a project box or something. That'd enclose the back side. Then drill drain holes in the 4 corners of the enclosure so it doesn't hold a puddle of water on the underside of the box.
[486] is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2014, 04:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Rock God
 
bigtoy302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 36440
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 1,465
I used two for my buggy. They are very nice.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bigtoy302 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2014, 10:57 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Member # 485250
Posts: 6
Very nice and compact.
shaohaeyu is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2014, 05:38 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2000
Member # 963
Location: Maricopa AZ
Posts: 690
I had 2 show up yesterday. They are very nice for the price.
__________________
Parts and zip ties powered by Got Propane.
overeasy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-02-2014, 09:37 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member # 141877
Posts: 39
Please put weather stripping foam in the lid or the relays will vibrate from their sockets.We use 2-500 of these boxes a year. They are great load centers with that one
design flaw. Steve
EFIHARNESS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-03-2014, 12:53 PM   #22 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Member # 410201
Location: mid MI
Posts: 394
omg that is a sexy sexy wiring harness. Must make like this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigtoy302 View Post
I used two for my buggy. They are very nice.

Greg5OH is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2014, 03:04 PM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Member # 1636
Location: East Rutherford NJ
Posts: 8,882
I ordered mine last week during Delcity's 20% off sale. I got the 15303-2 with the dual busses. One bus powers the fuses, and the other bus grounds all the relays. Really nice setup, looking forward to installing it.
chris demartini is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2014, 03:51 PM   #24 (permalink)
Registered User
 
jsawduste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Member # 77571
Posts: 4,703
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris demartini View Post
I ordered mine last week during Delcity's 20% off sale. I got the 15303-2 with the dual busses. One bus powers the fuses, and the other bus grounds all the relays. Really nice setup, looking forward to installing it.
Chris, those are the same boxes I am rewiring my junk with. One thing I thought of was using a piece of copper bar as a buss strip to power both terminals with one cable. Could just connect off one terminal or do a T with the cable in the middle.

I am leaning towards doing the T because if you put the cable of top of the copper it would be "captured " with the head of the fastener buried in the trough between the two terminals. That way the cable could not come loose unless you lost both nuts on the RTMR`s power terminals.

Just a thought.
__________________
Sent with smoke signal.
jsawduste is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2014, 08:36 PM   #25 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Member # 1636
Location: East Rutherford NJ
Posts: 8,882
If you want to power the coil side to all the relays at once, then that would work. Then you would just ground the coil side to the relays one at a time.

I'm using the relay bus to ground the coil side of the relays, and providing 12v to the coil side from my switches. The fuse bus will get a 8 awg wire from the battery switch, and the relay bus will have a 10 awg wire to the negative battery terminal.

I assembled the jumpers between the fuses and pins 30/87 (high side) of the relay tonight. The terminals would not lock into place for some reason. I tried bending the latch tangs out a little but they still didn't catch. Maybe it's just the bigger terminals that do this, I haven't tried any smaller wires yet. I'll try getting them to lock into place another time.
chris demartini is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.