Just cant get my idis plugs to glow - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Ford
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2019, 04:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ANGELO190471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Member # 798001
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 96
Just cant get my idis plugs to glow

so far I have 8 new motorcraft glow plugs, 6.0 harness and a new motorcraft controller. the controller has 12v on the main and ignition side of the solenoid, and has a good ground. when i turn the key my wait to start light comes on like it normally should, but the solenoid isnt actually activating. if i take my power probe and ground the solenoid out all the plugs will get power and the truck fires right up. what would be telling the controller to not activate the solenoid?
my last controller would was similar, except the light wouldn't be on quite as long and sometimes the light wouldn't turn on.

also not impressed with this 6.0 harness. the plugs are to long so it doesnt really sit right and they feel loose. think im going to make my own. i dont think this is my problem though, original harness did the same thing.
ANGELO190471 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2019, 05:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Rock God
 
bobbywalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member # 15473
Location: trenton mi
Posts: 2,007
Send a message via AIM to bobbywalter
are you using the whole 6.0 setup or the old school drx 01001 or 003 style?


if it is an old style.... does the glow plug light come up and wait 10 seconds and go out or does it just stay on?

sounds like you have some wires switched around.


just hook the jumper to a momentary and run it manual like the rest of us.
__________________
if only




88 ranger ext cab p.o.s. hackjob powered by a 6.5 diesel clattering against a 4l80 thats punishing a f208 that is turning ford 60's rolling on 33-44 inch tires depending on the mission at hand


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
how ya like me now??
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bobbywalter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 12-05-2019, 06:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ANGELO190471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Member # 798001
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 96
its a 92 so it has the new style controller. i am just using the 6.0 glow plug harness.

i dont think its wires switches, my glow plugs were fine for a couple years, then just started to get hard to start.

Last edited by ANGELO190471; 12-05-2019 at 06:31 PM.
ANGELO190471 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-05-2019, 07:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Rock God
 
bobbywalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member # 15473
Location: trenton mi
Posts: 2,007
Send a message via AIM to bobbywalter
temperature is the only thing that stops it, but almost always strokes it for a second.

so if the wiring is correct i would assume you have brand new out of the box junk controller.
__________________
if only




88 ranger ext cab p.o.s. hackjob powered by a 6.5 diesel clattering against a 4l80 thats punishing a f208 that is turning ford 60's rolling on 33-44 inch tires depending on the mission at hand


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
how ya like me now??
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bobbywalter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2019, 07:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Member # 192237
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 11,632
just switch the solenoid with a button in the cab
[486] is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2019, 07:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ANGELO190471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Member # 798001
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbywalter View Post
temperature is the only thing that stops it, but almost always strokes it for a second.

so if the wiring is correct i would assume you have brand new out of the box junk controller.
relay doesnt even click for a second. but my wts light is on for atleast 10...
im thinking it has to be the controller. just weird my other one was doing the same thing. keep reading how rare it is for the controllers to fail

Quote:
Originally Posted by [486] View Post
just switch the solenoid with a button in the cab
or fix the problem

Last edited by ANGELO190471; 12-05-2019 at 07:39 PM.
ANGELO190471 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2019, 07:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
clb 017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Member # 166307
Location: Nannyfornia
Posts: 2,171
you been here yet?
https://www.oilburners.net
The best site for idi info
__________________
If its made in china IT WILL FAIL!
Phawk photofukkit.
clb 017 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2019, 08:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Rock God
 
bobbywalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member # 15473
Location: trenton mi
Posts: 2,007
Send a message via AIM to bobbywalter
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANGELO190471 View Post
relay doesnt even click for a second. but my wts light is on for atleast 10...
im thinking it has to be the controller. just weird my other one was doing the same thing. keep reading how rare it is for the controllers to fail



or fix the problem

if it dont click at all....then its dead.

it should click just a hit at least at full temp. at full temp the glow plug light ma not turn on at all...but the relay should at least bump.


so...its junk....

i assume its the little home made bomb looking unit...those are usually potted. the other style screws into the block and runs the relay.
__________________
if only




88 ranger ext cab p.o.s. hackjob powered by a 6.5 diesel clattering against a 4l80 thats punishing a f208 that is turning ford 60's rolling on 33-44 inch tires depending on the mission at hand


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
how ya like me now??
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bobbywalter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2019, 04:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ANGELO190471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Member # 798001
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbywalter View Post
if it dont click at all....then its dead.

it should click just a hit at least at full temp. at full temp the glow plug light ma not turn on at all...but the relay should at least bump.


so...its junk....

i assume its the little home made bomb looking unit...those are usually potted. the other style screws into the block and runs the relay.
Yeah it's the bomb looking one lol. Is there anyway to test the controller other then with a known good one?
ANGELO190471 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2019, 05:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
today
 
fredycruger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Member # 225557
Location: MA
Posts: 1,483
is the relay grounded good?
fredycruger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2019, 06:44 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ANGELO190471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Member # 798001
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbywalter View Post
if it dont click at all....then its dead.

it should click just a hit at least at full temp. at full temp the glow plug light ma not turn on at all...but the relay should at least bump.


so...its junk....

i assume its the little home made bomb looking unit...those are usually potted. the other style screws into the block and runs the relay.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredycruger View Post
is the relay grounded good?
Yes. I've even tried a jumper straight to the battery
ANGELO190471 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2019, 07:47 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Member # 192237
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 11,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANGELO190471 View Post
or fix the problem
eh, the problem imo is trying to automate things that shouldn't be automated, then doing it with 1980s computer technology
[486] is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2019, 10:35 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
AllGoNoShow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member # 46318
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,965
Like everyone said, just push button it. Simplifies the system for future diagnosing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Vote Trump 2016.
AllGoNoShow is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2019, 05:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ANGELO190471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Member # 798001
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 96
idk, its worked just fine since 92, and its a pretty simple and cheap system.. no reason not to keep on letting it work
ANGELO190471 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2019, 10:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Rednek
 
billybob_81067's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member # 52387
Location: Rocky Ford, Colorado
Posts: 8,732
Send a message via AIM to billybob_81067 Send a message via MSN to billybob_81067 Send a message via Yahoo to billybob_81067
Another vote for push button.

If you're using the IDI glow plugs still just remember they are a 6V plug and you can only hold the button down for like 10 seconds max, and then wait a minute before you try again if it doesn't start.

If you hold the button down for much longer than that it will burn them right out.
__________________
The one, the only, the Dane.
billybob_81067 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2019, 08:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Rock God
 
bobbywalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member # 15473
Location: trenton mi
Posts: 2,007
Send a message via AIM to bobbywalter
said he had motorcrafts....all the modern ones should be self limiting..


i like the beru or 60g's....

no voltage issues.
__________________
if only




88 ranger ext cab p.o.s. hackjob powered by a 6.5 diesel clattering against a 4l80 thats punishing a f208 that is turning ford 60's rolling on 33-44 inch tires depending on the mission at hand


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
how ya like me now??
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bobbywalter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2019, 10:26 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ANGELO190471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Member # 798001
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 96
motorcrafts are berus.

when i disconnect the plug on the driver fender and test continuity between the two ignition wires on the relay, one of the wire has higher resistance. then on the other side of the harness it has only 5.4 volts, when the other wire has 12. that sound normal?
ANGELO190471 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2019, 01:16 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4243
Location: Westcoast Canuck... eh?
Posts: 5,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by [486] View Post
just switch the solenoid with a button in the cab
+1

Done this on every diesel I've had any glowplug issues on, ever.
__________________
Dodge cobbler... (1stgen cummins theme)
u2slow is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2019, 07:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
Rock God
 
bobbywalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member # 15473
Location: trenton mi
Posts: 2,007
Send a message via AIM to bobbywalter
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANGELO190471 View Post
motorcrafts are berus.

when i disconnect the plug on the driver fender and test continuity between the two ignition wires on the relay, one of the wire has higher resistance. then on the other side of the harness it has only 5.4 volts, when the other wire has 12. that sound normal?
i dont know if i am following you correctly. but if its sub 10 at the gpr...no
__________________
if only




88 ranger ext cab p.o.s. hackjob powered by a 6.5 diesel clattering against a 4l80 thats punishing a f208 that is turning ford 60's rolling on 33-44 inch tires depending on the mission at hand


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
how ya like me now??
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bobbywalter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2019, 09:28 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ANGELO190471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Member # 798001
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbywalter View Post
i dont know if i am following you correctly. but if its sub 10 at the gpr...no
no the relay has 12v. but the ignition side of the relay has 2 wires. i was testing where the engine harness plugs into the truck harness.
ANGELO190471 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2019, 09:11 AM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
AllGoNoShow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member # 46318
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANGELO190471 View Post
no the relay has 12v. but the ignition side of the relay has 2 wires. i was testing where the engine harness plugs into the truck harness.


No not normal, should have 12 on other side, bad connection there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Vote Trump 2016.
AllGoNoShow is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2019, 09:12 AM   #22 (permalink)
Registered User
 
AllGoNoShow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member # 46318
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllGoNoShow View Post
No not normal, should have 12 on other side, bad connection there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Your glow plug timer could be bad, or not getting power.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Vote Trump 2016.
AllGoNoShow is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.