Rod End tech/preference... - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2012, 02:21 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 69819
Rod End tech/preference...

Im gathering parts to do a front 3 link on my 02 Grand Cherokee. I've spent ALOT of time searching what seems like an endless sea of rod ends/johnny joints. In searching for 1.25" shank joints, I have seen prices from $39.99 (Trail gear) to $99.95 (Currie). I have lots of fab experience, but I have not scratch-built a suspension before. Which joints are preferred by the masses, and why? My rig sees 80% street/ 20%trails.
dr hook is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2012, 02:27 PM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 141351
RuffStuff for basic long lasting, proven strong and well backed heims

EMF for ultimate, rebuildable, lifetime warranty rodends

JJ's... I got nothing.
Old 04-25-2012, 02:30 PM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 69819
So even for a mostly street driven rig I should go with heims>jjs? I know I sound like a stoopid fawkin noob But I only want to do this once.

Old 04-25-2012, 02:42 PM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 141351
decision time.
no experience with driving either on the road, that said most will say JJ absorb a bit of vibes, where as a heim will transmit more vibes.

imo, if your building a suspension, you're probably running a larger/meatier tire, bought some good shocks, and understand you're not driving a caddy... so a few vibes can be dealt with.

decision time.
Old 04-25-2012, 03:32 PM   #5 (permalink)

Member # 69819