Constructive Criticism... Samurai Buggy Chassis Edition - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 10:54 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 146455
Constructive Criticism... Samurai Buggy Chassis Edition

This is my first time designing a chassis or cage of any kind. Let me know what you think.

A few questions:

Is the "X" behind the seats need to be tied into the frame rails or is it alright where it is?

It seems there is a wide span from the A to B pillar, will that be an issue?

Blue = .120 wall 1.5" HREW
Green = .095 wall 1.5" HREW

Quattro_USP is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2013, 06:06 PM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 13438
Bing a Samurai guy, I like the lines. After my last chassis I will never use HREW again. Bends way too easy, and is not worth the cost savings. I can't tell you how many feet of tube I ended up replacing.
Old 01-20-2013, 06:19 PM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 189239
Maybe a B to B spreader at the door line. DOM in the high stress areas at least.

Last edited by YROC FAB.; 01-20-2013 at 06:20 PM.
YROC FAB. is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-20-2013, 06:36 PM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 107607
x3 on using DOM. Id also like to see the rear down tube tied in to smothing more then that single horizontal tube and the green tube coming from the front really should hit the dash tube junction if possible.

Last edited by 84prerunner; 01-20-2013 at 06:37 PM.
84prerunner is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2013, 07:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice

Member # 78079
X brace behind the seat should probably go to the frame instead of the sliders
Old 01-20-2013, 07:38 PM   #6 (permalink)

Member # 8937