Project LQ4 BUGGY: Iraq out with my kawq out - Page 57 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2015, 09:10 PM   #1401 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
homeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Member # 186874
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 763
edit double post

Last edited by homeboy; 11-04-2015 at 09:12 PM.
homeboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2015, 09:11 PM   #1402 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
homeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Member # 186874
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdub0013 View Post
What is this and where does it run to since my rmvb eliminated this?
Attachment 1988953

More random

Attachment 1988961
its a vacuum modulator and no where you dont use it anymore, it is used to adjust line pressure based on engine vacuum to shift. with your manual valve body you always have full line pressure.

just remove it and plug it, most manual valve body kits come with a plug in the box.

Last edited by homeboy; 11-04-2015 at 09:13 PM.
homeboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 11-04-2015, 09:17 PM   #1403 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Member # 7233
Location: Jefferson
Posts: 27,613
Send a message via AIM to Wilson
It goes to manifold vac Keith.
Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2015, 09:17 PM   #1404 (permalink)
FOF
 
kdub0013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Member # 103588
Location: Garden Valley, CA
Posts: 8,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by homeboy View Post
its a vacuum modulator and no where you dont use it anymore, it is used to adjust line pressure based on engine vacuum to shift. with your manual valve body you always have full line pressure.

just remove it and plug it, most manual valve body kits come with a plug in the box.

Right but I'm just trying to run a stock th400 for now so don't want to swap parts around the two if possible.
__________________
COMBAT VET - USMC 01-05

FRIENDS OF FORDYCE
kdub0013 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2015, 09:21 PM   #1405 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
homeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Member # 186874
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdub0013 View Post
Right but I'm just trying to run a stock th400 for now so don't want to swap parts around the two if possible.
then you need it to go to intake vacuum with a stock th400. I run a stage two shift kit in my th350 which holds 1st and 2nd and 3rd is standard D that uses the vacuum to shift through the gears on my 6.0 with LS1 intake, tied it into the rear vacuum port off the back of the intake.

use vacuum line and hook it up off a factory vacuum port to it. if you dont it will shock load the transmission as it trys to shift ( all sort of bad )

seen a broken th350 case partially due to that.

Last edited by homeboy; 11-04-2015 at 09:26 PM.
homeboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2015, 10:42 PM   #1406 (permalink)
The dude abides
 
DEER TICK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Member # 114517
Location: Grass Valley
Posts: 1,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdub0013 View Post
Those would be my 3 year olds boots!
I was gonna say they looked a little girly.
__________________
Opinions are like assholes.Everybody has one,and most stink!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DEER TICK is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2015, 10:21 AM   #1407 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 111580
Posts: 3,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdub0013 View Post
Those would be my 3 year olds boots!
Don't lie, I've seen him in them, he says they are comfy.


__________________
BUCK OFAMA
4 seater LS1 buggy

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


best vendor on pirate...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dragrcr65 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2015, 06:21 PM   #1408 (permalink)
FOF
 
kdub0013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Member # 103588
Location: Garden Valley, CA
Posts: 8,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by homeboy View Post
then you need it to go to intake vacuum with a stock th400. I run a stage two shift kit in my th350 which holds 1st and 2nd and 3rd is standard D that uses the vacuum to shift through the gears on my 6.0 with LS1 intake, tied it into the rear vacuum port off the back of the intake.

use vacuum line and hook it up off a factory vacuum port to it. if you dont it will shock load the transmission as it trys to shift ( all sort of bad )

seen a broken th350 case partially due to that.

Ok so I guess that port I plugged in the back of the intake can be used for this vac line?

Got the trans in and everything bolted and rtvd. Even got the torque converter bolts in but what a pain in the ass that was. Going to try and get everything buttoned up this weekend.

Name:  ImageUploadedByAG Free1446772861.529660.jpg
Views: 582
Size:  71.5 KB

Name:  ImageUploadedByAG Free1446772871.183975.jpg
Views: 597
Size:  70.4 KB
__________________
COMBAT VET - USMC 01-05

FRIENDS OF FORDYCE
kdub0013 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2015, 07:16 PM   #1409 (permalink)
The dude abides
 
DEER TICK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Member # 114517
Location: Grass Valley
Posts: 1,350
Ok.I might be way out of line but,cant you bolt the converter to the flex plate,then put the Trans to the converter/motor? This is what I did,and it worked fine.The Trans mounting bolts sucked the Trans to the motor. No leaks,and everything works fine. I'm just curious?? Anybody care to enlighten me? Sorry to clog up your thread Keith, but you said it was a pain in the ass to bolt up the converter.
__________________
Opinions are like assholes.Everybody has one,and most stink!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DEER TICK is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2015, 07:30 PM   #1410 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
homeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Member # 186874
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEER TICK View Post
Ok.I might be way out of line but,cant you bolt the converter to the flex plate,then put the Trans to the converter/motor? This is what I did,and it worked fine.The Trans mounting bolts sucked the Trans to the motor. No leaks,and everything works fine. I'm just curious?? Anybody care to enlighten me? Sorry to clog up your thread Keith, but you said it was a pain in the ass to bolt up the converter.
No you won't fully seat the converter and I always pre fill the converter with a quart of oil if its new upon install.
homeboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2015, 08:55 PM   #1411 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Member # 7233
Location: Jefferson
Posts: 27,613
Send a message via AIM to Wilson
It's not the proper way. As said, you cannot make sure the converter is properly seated and you run a far greater risk of nicking the pump hub seal.

Last edited by Wilson; 11-05-2015 at 08:56 PM.
Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2015, 09:31 PM   #1412 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 111580
Posts: 3,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilson View Post
It's not the proper way. As said, you cannot make sure the converter is properly seated and you run a far greater risk of nicking the pump hub seal.
that is the bigger issue. It's pretty easy to tell if the converter is into the pump right, but trying to stab the end through the seal blind while holding the trans up is a long shot, at best.
__________________
BUCK OFAMA
4 seater LS1 buggy

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


best vendor on pirate...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dragrcr65 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2015, 10:39 PM   #1413 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Member # 1636
Location: East Rutherford NJ
Posts: 8,892
I'm having difficulty understanding how it's easier to bolt the converter to the flexplate before putting the transmission on.
chris demartini is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2015, 07:31 AM   #1414 (permalink)
The dude abides
 
DEER TICK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Member # 114517
Location: Grass Valley
Posts: 1,350
I put it all together out of the rig.Guess I got lucky.Next time I'll try the right way.
__________________
Opinions are like assholes.Everybody has one,and most stink!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DEER TICK is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2015, 07:51 AM   #1415 (permalink)
FOF
 
kdub0013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Member # 103588
Location: Garden Valley, CA
Posts: 8,200
OK so I am going to grab some vacuum hose today from napa is there a different adapter or something I Can use to temporarily swap that plug out I installed on the back side of the intake? Figured worse case I would epoxy a barb pitting in the plastic plug or something like that.
__________________
COMBAT VET - USMC 01-05

FRIENDS OF FORDYCE
kdub0013 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2015, 08:03 AM   #1416 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Member # 7233
Location: Jefferson
Posts: 27,613
Send a message via AIM to Wilson
If it's threaded, pick up a brass barb adapter at the hardware store.
Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2015, 08:07 AM   #1417 (permalink)
Rock God
 
jemarshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Member # 50690
Location: Rainier, OR
Posts: 1,942
Send a message via MSN to jemarshall
If your talking the big one that you put the plug in on the upper section, just put the stock one back in it and get some of the crappy adapters to make it work for now since its only a temp setup.
jemarshall is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2015, 08:57 AM   #1418 (permalink)
FOF
 
kdub0013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Member # 103588
Location: Garden Valley, CA
Posts: 8,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilson View Post
If it's threaded, pick up a brass barb adapter at the hardware store.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jemarshall View Post
If your talking the big one that you put the plug in on the upper section, just put the stock one back in it and get some of the crappy adapters to make it work for now since its only a temp setup.
I can't find the stock piece I pulled out but the plug is only a 1/2" push to connect setup so I should be able to just stab some sort of 1/2" OD tube in and clamp a hose to it.
__________________
COMBAT VET - USMC 01-05

FRIENDS OF FORDYCE
kdub0013 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2015, 07:42 PM   #1419 (permalink)
FOF
 
kdub0013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Member # 103588
Location: Garden Valley, CA
Posts: 8,200
Trans back in and I have all gears now!

http://youtu.be/KWOXizBQ6tI

http://youtu.be/IIuAfvzh7pw
__________________
COMBAT VET - USMC 01-05

FRIENDS OF FORDYCE
kdub0013 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2015, 08:30 PM   #1420 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Member # 232324
Location: Yuba City
Posts: 137
Congratulations! Your neighbors may dislike you by tomorrow evening...haha
jeepyjca is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2015, 08:01 PM   #1421 (permalink)
FOF
 
kdub0013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Member # 103588
Location: Garden Valley, CA
Posts: 8,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepyjca View Post
Congratulations! Your neighbors may dislike you by tomorrow evening...haha

Thanks!

I got it moving under its own power and off jack stands tonight. Need to button up a few things and I will be doing hot laps up and down my street tomorrow
__________________
COMBAT VET - USMC 01-05

FRIENDS OF FORDYCE
kdub0013 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2015, 07:56 PM   #1422 (permalink)
FOF
 
kdub0013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Member # 103588
Location: Garden Valley, CA
Posts: 8,200
Well she runs, drives and moves. Fordyce here I come. I ran it up and down the street and backed it into the garage. It's not 100% but it's wheel able. I'm stoked.

Name:  ImageUploadedByAG Free1447210580.931881.jpg
Views: 349
Size:  46.9 KB

Name:  ImageUploadedByAG Free1447210604.950336.jpg
Views: 351
Size:  69.8 KB

Name:  ImageUploadedByAG Free1447210614.250984.jpg
Views: 350
Size:  48.6 KB
__________________
COMBAT VET - USMC 01-05

FRIENDS OF FORDYCE
kdub0013 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2015, 08:00 PM   #1423 (permalink)
Rock God
 
jemarshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Member # 50690
Location: Rainier, OR
Posts: 1,942
Send a message via MSN to jemarshall


Now go beat on it already
jemarshall is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2015, 08:03 PM   #1424 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Member # 7233
Location: Jefferson
Posts: 27,613
Send a message via AIM to Wilson
One week too late
Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2015, 08:15 PM   #1425 (permalink)
Registered User
 
YotaAtieToo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member # 25632
Location: Magalia, Jefferson State
Posts: 11,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilson View Post
One week too late
I was going to say the same thing, the weather forecast is not looking good for a while either. Probably have to wait until spring
YotaAtieToo is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.