2WD 4l80, cut output shaft??? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2015, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
THE ROCK GODS
 
B2Krawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18818
Location: Lake Tahoe
Posts: 1,371
2WD 4l80, cut output shaft???

Can you cut the 32 spline output of a 2wd 4l80, and bolt to np241, black box, atlas, etc?
any special adapter?

using a 2wd because I want the built in rear VSS (1997 and up)
__________________
KOH CAR 415, McCarthy Motorsports
THE ROCK GODS, Reno Nv
Hey Tech Fabrication
HTF buggy, 6.0, 40s, Spidertrax/Megas,
RZR XP1000
B2Krawler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2015, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Member # 203330
Posts: 179
I cut the output on my 4l80e
Used a slightly modified t400 adaptor
Bolted on a ford np205
Zero issues
__________________
Have you ever noticed that "common sense" isnt that common anymore
bentupcj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 01-11-2015, 08:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member # 15502
Location: In the shop
Posts: 11,873
You can cut the output shaft, just make sure you keep any shavings from entering the trans housing. I cut my TH400 shaft with an angle grinder/cut-off wheel and then cleaned up the splines with a flap disc, no issues.
__________________
Working on going fast.
f0cker is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-11-2015, 08:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
THE ROCK GODS
 
B2Krawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18818
Location: Lake Tahoe
Posts: 1,371
I understand that this will work with a 205, but could you bolt a GM round 6 bolt pattern TC like a 241, atlas, etc. to cut down 2wd 4l80? any pics?
__________________
KOH CAR 415, McCarthy Motorsports
THE ROCK GODS, Reno Nv
Hey Tech Fabrication
HTF buggy, 6.0, 40s, Spidertrax/Megas,
RZR XP1000
B2Krawler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2015, 09:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80854
Location: SouthEast Texas
Posts: 1,162
I cut mine and added an Atlas behind an Oem adapter. GM PN# 15724745
This pic is before I cut it with a cutoff wheel.
Attached Images
 
__________________
94' Yota, LQ4/Atlas/Tons

Last edited by RebelRider; 01-11-2015 at 09:16 PM.
RebelRider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2015, 09:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
THE ROCK GODS
 
B2Krawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18818
Location: Lake Tahoe
Posts: 1,371
so those splines must go in quite a ways (where you have the towels) in order for that atlas to end up flush with the oem adapter?

did you start with a 2wd on purpose for the VSS?
__________________
KOH CAR 415, McCarthy Motorsports
THE ROCK GODS, Reno Nv
Hey Tech Fabrication
HTF buggy, 6.0, 40s, Spidertrax/Megas,
RZR XP1000
B2Krawler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2015, 09:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80854
Location: SouthEast Texas
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by B2Krawler View Post
so those splines must go in quite a ways (where you have the towels) in order for that atlas to end up flush with the oem adapter?

did you start with a 2wd on purpose for the VSS?
Yes, they go in a ways. The donor truck I bought for the 6.0 was 2wd so it's just what I had. I'll get a pic tomorrow of how much I had to cut off. You also have to notch out the hole at the 7 o'clock position on the adapter in order for the atlas to bolt up. No big deal at all. Here's the 2wd tail housing removed.

Edit: I think I cut off 3.25".
Attached Images
 
__________________
94' Yota, LQ4/Atlas/Tons

Last edited by RebelRider; 01-11-2015 at 09:41 PM.
RebelRider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2015, 09:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
THE ROCK GODS
 
B2Krawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18818
Location: Lake Tahoe
Posts: 1,371
thanks, this helps a lot
__________________
KOH CAR 415, McCarthy Motorsports
THE ROCK GODS, Reno Nv
Hey Tech Fabrication
HTF buggy, 6.0, 40s, Spidertrax/Megas,
RZR XP1000
B2Krawler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2015, 09:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80854
Location: SouthEast Texas
Posts: 1,162
No problem. My rig runs an drives with no issues. VSS works as it should also. It's a 2000 model 4L80E. I think I paid $60 shipped for the adapter new from gmpartsdirect.com

Also, I can't take credit for all of the research. I picked a lot of it up from Hardline crawlers forum.
__________________
94' Yota, LQ4/Atlas/Tons

Last edited by RebelRider; 01-11-2015 at 10:00 PM.
RebelRider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2015, 07:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Vertical Limits
 
blacksheep10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26443
Location: Paola, KS, smelling the burn table fumes
Posts: 5,029
There are a couple 4l80 2wd ouputs, make sure you have the one with tons of splines. Some are only splined a little ways, others are fully splined, from what I can rememeber.
__________________
Kelly Kaiser
Vertical Limits Inc
913.731.3040

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
for the fastest quick release extinguisher mounts available and UTV parts
blacksheep10 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2015, 07:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80854
Location: SouthEast Texas
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by blacksheep10 View Post
There are a couple 4l80 2wd ouputs, make sure you have the one with tons of splines. Some are only splined a little ways, others are fully splined, from what I can rememeber.
Yes, I should have mentioned that also. IIRC, it's the early 4L80's that aren't splined all the way down. Don't hold me to that though.
__________________
94' Yota, LQ4/Atlas/Tons
RebelRider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2015, 08:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
THE ROCK GODS
 
B2Krawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18818
Location: Lake Tahoe
Posts: 1,371
shift kit in 4l80?

I have been told the 4l80 has to be completely disassembled in order to install a shift kit and cannot be done just through the pan/VB, can anyone confirm this?

I would like for it still to shift normal in Drive, but be able to hold 1st and 2nd
__________________
KOH CAR 415, McCarthy Motorsports
THE ROCK GODS, Reno Nv
Hey Tech Fabrication
HTF buggy, 6.0, 40s, Spidertrax/Megas,
RZR XP1000
B2Krawler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2015, 12:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
inphobic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 8422
Location: Kansas City, Kansas
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via AIM to inphobic
My 4l60 holds 1st and 2nd like a ford transmission. (As far as I know it's factory)
__________________
Jake Good

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
inphobic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-08-2015, 01:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
etcv97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Member # 607810
Posts: 11
will this 2wd 4l80/ np205 swap work in a 2007 2500hd classic with no electrical issues? I want to get rid of my chain drive stock case.
etcv97 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-08-2015, 02:10 PM   #15 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Jeepman14wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member # 46071
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by B2Krawler View Post
shift kit in 4l80?

I have been told the 4l80 has to be completely disassembled in order to install a shift kit and cannot be done just through the pan/VB, can anyone confirm this?

I would like for it still to shift normal in Drive, but be able to hold 1st and 2nd
Take a look on TransGo website, you do not have to disassemble the whole thing. It can be done pan/VB. You can also modify it for a FMVB and get away from the electronics.
__________________
Instagram @mike_fought
Jeepman14wheel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-08-2015, 05:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80854
Location: SouthEast Texas
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by etcv97 View Post
will this 2wd 4l80/ np205 swap work in a 2007 2500hd classic with no electrical issues? I want to get rid of my chain drive stock case.
There will be no wires going to the t-case if you use a 2wd trans. If you have an electric shift stock case, I don't know if unplugging it will set off any lights.
__________________
94' Yota, LQ4/Atlas/Tons
RebelRider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2015, 11:19 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
etcv97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Member # 607810
Posts: 11
My truck has the manual floor shift but I haven't looked at anything real close yet.
etcv97 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2015, 01:08 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Member # 368602
Location: western CT
Posts: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by bentupcj View Post
I cut the output on my 4l80e
Used a slightly modified t400 adaptor
Bolted on a ford np205
Zero issues


More info on this please. I am attempting todo the same thing but was going to use a doubler as the 4l80e to 205 adapter.
sardo_67 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2015, 01:11 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Member # 368602
Location: western CT
Posts: 571
Also this will help too


https://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/chevy...e-2wd-4wd.html
sardo_67 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2015, 10:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Member # 203330
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by sardo_67 View Post
More info on this please. I am attempting todo the same thing but was going to use a doubler as the 4l80e to 205 adapter.
I used a 2wd 4L80e witch had a output shaft with a long 32 count. ( don't remember exactly how much I cut off. If I remember correctly about 1.5 to 2 inches. But don't quote me on that.)
Had to obtain and install a gm 32 spline input for the Ford np205 tc
Used a TH400 advanced Adaptors, adaptor witch I had to have the outer Oring boss milled out just a bit.
I found the biggest advantage by going with a 2wd tranny verses a 4wd one was the fact that both speed sensors were in the tranny case verses one in the tranny and one in the tc .
No screwing around with gettin a speed sensor into the 205 and getting it reading correctly, or opening up the tranny to swap in the sensor.
( I'm not 100% sure it even needs both sensors but my tranny shifts just like it did in the donor, and no tuning problems too deal with )

Is my way the best or only way ?? Probably not😉
Did it work out ?? Sure did !!😄
Best part about the whole thing, I was able to reuse parts I already had laying around. 😎
__________________
Have you ever noticed that "common sense" isnt that common anymore
bentupcj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2018, 05:18 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5799
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by bentupcj View Post
I used a 2wd 4L80e witch had a output shaft with a long 32 count. ( don't remember exactly how much I cut off. If I remember correctly about 1.5 to 2 inches. But don't quote me on that.)
Had to obtain and install a gm 32 spline input for the Ford np205 tc
Used a TH400 advanced Adaptors, adaptor witch I had to have the outer Oring boss milled out just a bit.
I found the biggest advantage by going with a 2wd tranny verses a 4wd one was the fact that both speed sensors were in the tranny case verses one in the tranny and one in the tc .
No screwing around with gettin a speed sensor into the 205 and getting it reading correctly, or opening up the tranny to swap in the sensor.
( I'm not 100% sure it even needs both sensors but my tranny shifts just like it did in the donor, and no tuning problems too deal with )

Is my way the best or only way ?? Probably not😉
Did it work out ?? Sure did !!😄
Best part about the whole thing, I was able to reuse parts I already had laying around. 😎
I know this is old but did you change the plug in the back of the tranny with a plug that didnt have a hole in it?
__________________
Esteban
Esteban86K5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2018, 12:56 PM   #22 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member # 41764
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
Posts: 3,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esteban86K5 View Post
I know this is old but did you change the plug in the back of the tranny with a plug that didnt have a hole in it?
One should.

Also plug that stupid return hole to the pan on the bottom. Fluid just pours out of it on climbs and then leaks between your stupid clocking ring and t-case
__________________
No one is ever gone if they are always remembered.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bggrnchvy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2018, 10:16 AM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5799
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by bggrnchvy View Post
One should.

Also plug that stupid return hole to the pan on the bottom. Fluid just pours out of it on climbs and then leaks between your stupid clocking ring and t-case

What up Kyle!

So in theory, if I plug both those holes, then the oring on the adapter is not needed right?
__________________
Esteban
Esteban86K5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2018, 08:38 AM   #24 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member # 41764
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
Posts: 3,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esteban86K5 View Post
What up Kyle!

So in theory, if I plug both those holes, then the oring on the adapter is not needed right?
Living the dream

Yea, I guess you could forgo the o-ring that seals the adapter. If anything it, won't let pressure build in that section since you blocked off all the fluid paths.
__________________
No one is ever gone if they are always remembered.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bggrnchvy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2018, 11:34 AM   #25 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5799
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by bggrnchvy View Post
Living the dream

Yea, I guess you could forgo the o-ring that seals the adapter. If anything it, won't let pressure build in that section since you blocked off all the fluid paths.
I may try to do that. The less portholes to allow the fluids to leak the better.
__________________
Esteban
Esteban86K5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.