Swapping inputs on Atlas question - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2015, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Member # 102813
Location: PNW, land of liquid sunshine
Posts: 8,933
Swapping inputs on Atlas question

I have a 32 spline input on my Atlas and need to swap it over to a 23 spline. My plan was to get the input and seal kit, no big deal right?

I PMed a few vendors for parts quotes but only had one tell me this

"Am I correct in assuming you have an Atlas that has a different input spline on than the 23 spline you need? If so and you are not just fixing a broken/damage 23 spline input this is not as simple as just buying an input. I will need the serial number off the case."

What is the deal? I have never owned a Atlas until now and am learning about them.
__________________
[COLOR="Magenta"]Help bring back Swartz Canyon, Join
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
[/COLOR]

[COLOR="Lime"]The good guys...[/COLOR]

[COLOR="Red"]Marlin Crawler, Hellfire Fabworks, Dave'z Offroad, gearinstalls.com (Zuk), Diamond Axle, RADesigns, Advanced Adapters, Jantz Engineering, G-Fab motorsports, Got Propane, JHF [/COLOR]
Mr Stubs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2015, 05:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Jeepman14wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member # 46071
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,963
I swapped an input and did not go through that....
__________________
Instagram @mike_fought
Jeepman14wheel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 01-14-2015, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
RebelRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80854
Location: SouthEast Texas
Posts: 1,165
When I swapped my input, the serial number was needed to find out how old my case was. They have changed input shaft designs a couple of times.

Last edited by RebelRider; 01-14-2015 at 05:46 PM.
RebelRider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-14-2015, 08:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Member # 7233
Location: Jefferson
Posts: 27,614
Send a message via AIM to Wilson
Quote:
Originally Posted by RebelRider View Post
When I swapped my input, the serial number was needed to find out how old my case was. They have changed input shaft designs a couple of times.
^This, the swap is the same and simple, but AA has used two different input shaft splines (coarse and fine, essentially).
Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2015, 05:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member # 148067
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Posts: 112
I also had to verify my case when buying a new input. As stated above, they made some updates.

Just call Advanced Adapters and get what you need. Or at least the list of part numbers.
__________________
Tony Simeone

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Youngstown, Ohio

Last edited by Running925; 01-15-2015 at 05:42 AM.
Running925 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2015, 07:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Member # 186874
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 763
Same thing when I Rebuilt my two speed, had a very early production t case and aa sold me all the updates after giving them the number off the case.
homeboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2015, 07:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Member # 102813
Location: PNW, land of liquid sunshine
Posts: 8,933
Thanks guys!
__________________
[COLOR="Magenta"]Help bring back Swartz Canyon, Join
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
[/COLOR]

[COLOR="Lime"]The good guys...[/COLOR]

[COLOR="Red"]Marlin Crawler, Hellfire Fabworks, Dave'z Offroad, gearinstalls.com (Zuk), Diamond Axle, RADesigns, Advanced Adapters, Jantz Engineering, G-Fab motorsports, Got Propane, JHF [/COLOR]
Mr Stubs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.