4L65 line pressure issues? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2015, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Member # 482578
Posts: 923
4L65 line pressure issues?

Just swapped a 4l65 and LQ9 into my K5 Blazer and loving the combo so far. Trying to determine if I am having trans issues, or if this is how new trans shift.

My daily driver is a stick, so very little experience with the new computer controlled trans.

I replaced the pump and torque converter in the 4L65 before I put it in but my truck doesn't seem to be putting out the power I thought it would.

I tuned the 6.0 to about 425+ horsepower but don't seem to be getting it all to the ground. I do weigh in at about 6500 pounds, on 38's with 4.56 gearing, but it feels as if the trans is slipping.

Full throttle to the floor off the line gives me a civilized departure, no smoking tires, no screaming motor, just a steady climb up the revs. Almost feels like I have traction control or something enabled.

Truck won't do a burnout, motor just revs and trans slips. Seems odd.

Not sure if this is the new age of computer controlled malarky or if I have a line pressure issue, or PCM tuning issue.

Any thoughts?
K30_Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2015, 04:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Shift to the Best
 
R.DesJardin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Member # 68266
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,318
A quick opinion, 4.56 gears and 38's make a high geared setup. Probably not a tire smoking combo, just looking at R&P calculators. I would think 5.13 or 5.38 would be a much better choice. Also unless built up the 4L65 is not as durable under high hp/torque as the 4L80 series.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Shift controllers and shifters, AMS mounts
Toyota Triple & Twin Sticks
John 3:16- He is the answer.
R.DesJardin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 11-04-2015, 05:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Member # 482578
Posts: 923
What about the acceleration away from the line. Honestly feels like I have traction control but that would require abs.
K30_Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2015, 05:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 63684
Location: Northern Ca.
Posts: 648
Has to be something wrong, I have the same combo in my Jeepster and it will smoke the tires off the rim if I stay on it. 42's ,4.88 gear , about 4600#. Mark
__________________
Cantankerous A hole
Skorch is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2015, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Member # 1636
Location: East Rutherford NJ
Posts: 8,892
Might still have torque management enabled. Who tuned it?
chris demartini is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2015, 05:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Member # 482578
Posts: 923
That is what it is feeling like. Just feels very civilized. I want maniac.
K30_Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2015, 05:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Member # 482578
Posts: 923
Team 208 did. I have a call into him. He has been fantastic to work with
K30_Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2015, 07:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Member # 482578
Posts: 923
One other thing. I notice that to get it to shift when I am on the gas hard, I have to blip the throttle or it won't shift. Same thing on the freeway. If I am in torque lockup and give it the beans it doesn't really want to downshift unless I get off the gas first.
K30_Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2015, 11:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Member # 140878
Location: Fawkin NY
Posts: 2,899
What torque converter? Stock? What stall speed? It kinda sounds like it's too tight (low stall) converter for the combo.
TrailTamer XJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2015, 08:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Member # 482578
Posts: 923
Stock stall so like 1700 ish. I am beginning to think it is the active torque management is still at 100%.

What are opinions about removing completely? 80%??
K30_Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.