10 bolt rear end new bearings HELP!!! - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2016, 06:58 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 269370
10 bolt rear end new bearings HELP!!!

Hey guys. So my boss has been having issues with his avalanche. He grabbed the yolk and it had play in it. Which told us that the pinion bearings were out. I've done this in the past on other vehicles without having to reshim, as it stayed the same, not change in the gear mesh and what not...I'm no diff expert by any means.

So he gets some pinion bearings, seal, and new crush sleeve. He comes over yesterday right after noon. We work on it until about 7pm last night and ran into issues. His carrier bearings were toast as well. Gears looked fine. So he ran to the parts store and got new carrier bearings. In the mean time I texted my neighbor who does this a little more than I do. He said that generally speaking you are fine with installing new carrier bearings as well without the need of reshimming.

So I get the old bearings off, get the new ones pressed on. The factory cast shims just will not go. So I take it back out, take a look at things, then try it again. This time it is going, or so it seems....SNAP, yep f*ck me....Broke the cast shim on the right side. So I'm frustrated at this point. We have no new shims, girlfriend is getting ready to get off from work to stay the night, work in the morning. My boss calls around and he finds a shim kit about 45 minutes away that he is going to go pick up today since we work about 20 minutes from there.