4l60e won't bolt to 5.3? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2017, 09:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
1990GT50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 109423
Location: Benicia, CA
Posts: 4,605
4l60e won't bolt to 5.3?

I have a one piece case 4l60e (older 4l60e) that Im mating to a lm7 5.3. Trans bolted up fine on mockup. I installed converter (generic 4l60e converter rebuilt), and now I have about 3/8" gap between bell housing and motor when attempting to mate them.
Currently-
Converter is definately completely seated. Tripple checked, and its about 1/8" from hitting the bolts on the trans, so it cant sit any deeper towards trans.

Converter "snout" fits into flexplate hole fine.

Were there multiple flexplates used, or do I have a funky converter? It has to be one or the other....
I can try to get more pics tomorrow...

Pic of how close I can get everything. Dowel pins barely touch, but iat his point, the converter is seated, and converter pads against the flexplate...


This is what the converter/ flexplate looks like when I have the spacing seen in the first pic. Everything is touching fine here, but bellhousing gap exists...


The converter... You can see the pads in the lower right corner.... They step out twice if that make sense (1 step out from converter, then another). Im thinking this could be the issue??


I was 8 hours deep working on it today, so I didn't think to try to bolt the converter to the flexplate without the trans (just to double check everything lines up). Ill do that tomorrow and can take any other pics.

What am I missing here?
__________________
Quote:
If you try to fight me I'm simply going to interpret it as an attempt to kill me.
Quote:
Go back to riding your Fag Dog Brokeback or whatever the fuck its called.
1990GT50 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2017, 10:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Member # 130483
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 1,510
Ls cranks are closer to the block then prev gen motors
Do you have a spacer between the crank and flex plate?
What are the applications for the flex plate and converter?
__________________
99 Silverado,35's,locked 14b,4.8L,nv4500
92 s dime is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 07-30-2017, 10:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
1990GT50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 109423
Location: Benicia, CA
Posts: 4,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by 92 s dime View Post
Ls cranks are closer to the block then prev gen motors
Do you have a spacer between the crank and flex plate?
What are the applications for the flex plate and converter?
The flexplate on the 5.3 is whatever came stock. Ill grab a pic of it tomorrow. I have no spacer between the crank and flex, but if I did, it would make the issue worse, as it would push the bell housing and engine apart more.
Engine is an 02 5.3 with DBW (if that matters)

4l60e is older 1 piece housing. I tried to bring up the e-bay add I bought the converter from, but couldn't. Headline was "4L60E 4L65E 4L70E TMBX TORQUE CONVERTER 4.8L 5.3L 5.7L 6.0L TRANSMISSION"

Im an LS newb so hopefully this is not too costly a lesson...
__________________
Quote:
If you try to fight me I'm simply going to interpret it as an attempt to kill me.
Quote:
Go back to riding your Fag Dog Brokeback or whatever the fuck its called.
1990GT50 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-30-2017, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Member # 1956
Posts: 5,535
That is one odd looking convertor compared to the last one I swapped out.
__________________
The forest was shrinking, but the trees kept voting for the axe because itís handle was made of wood
Shadow man is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2017, 07:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
DCXterra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Member # 228471
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 257
That's not even close to the 2 4l80e converters or th350 converter I've put behind an ls engine. The 4l80e's and th350 looked a lot different, they didn't have that snout coming out from the center. Which I'm guessing is your problem. That and the centering pin looks to be way too big. It's one of those that's the problem.
DCXterra is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2017, 03:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
zen as fuck
 
gmcxt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 115122
Location: Branson, MO
Posts: 2,958
X3
That converter looks odd.
__________________
"..hey Guy come on, were sympatico here look at us. Huh, we even web wheel on the same forum...hey hermano."
gmcxt is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2017, 10:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 85796
Location: dillon mt
Posts: 1,069
He has later model 4l60e converter there, he needs earlier style converter, like for the transmission that is looks like 93-98 , the converter he has is for like 2002 and newer? with removable bell housing
BIGJOEDUCKSLAYER is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2017, 10:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3132
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 12,631
Send a message via AIM to NOODLES Send a message via Yahoo to NOODLES
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGJOEDUCKSLAYER View Post
He has later model 4l60e converter there, he needs earlier style converter, like for the transmission that is looks like 93-98 , the converter he has is for like 2002 and newer? with removable bell housing
If that is the case, there is no way the converter can be seated all the way. Different input. Earlier 4l60 had 3 steps. Late has only 2.

Take a pic of the trans input. Then take a pic of the inside of the torque converter snout.
NOODLES is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2017, 11:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
pcoplin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member # 17986
Location: Santiam, OR
Posts: 1,677
Agree. If the converter is for sure seated in the trans, and is sitting against the flex plate when the trans is still spaced from the block, the converter is too thick for that combo. There should b a gap in the converter when the trans is seated against the block.
__________________
98 TJ LQ4/TH400
FullStack MotorSports
pcoplin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2017, 11:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
1990GT50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 109423
Location: Benicia, CA
Posts: 4,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGJOEDUCKSLAYER View Post
He has later model 4l60e converter there, he needs earlier style converter, like for the transmission that is looks like 93-98 , the converter he has is for like 2002 and newer? with removable bell housing
This is what i started figuring today, which would make sense since i ordered without knowing any better....

Quote:
Originally Posted by NOODLES View Post
If that is the case, there is no way the converter can be seated all the way. Different input. Earlier 4l60 had 3 steps. Late has only 2.

Take a pic of the trans input. Then take a pic of the inside of the torque converter snout.
Maybe newer will still seat but is too thick overall? Its def. seated as far back as possible. Its about 1/8" from touching the bolts holding the input to the trans or whatever.

I took some more pics today and measured shit- not that that mattered as im thinking i need a new converter anyways as stated above. Ill post some pics tomorrow anyways, but all in all, i guess a $200 mistake wont kill me. Live snd learn...
__________________
Quote:
If you try to fight me I'm simply going to interpret it as an attempt to kill me.
Quote:
Go back to riding your Fag Dog Brokeback or whatever the fuck its called.
1990GT50 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2017, 03:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
1990GT50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 109423
Location: Benicia, CA
Posts: 4,605
So after some phone conversations, it appears I need a Pre 98 4l60e converter, and also a spacer that moves the flexplate away from the crank. Does this sound correct to others? Is the earlier converter that much shorter than the style I have? It will need to be 3/8" shorter to bolth the trans to the motor, plus the distance of whatever the crank spacer is.....

Nobody could clearly answer this question on the phone....
__________________
Quote:
If you try to fight me I'm simply going to interpret it as an attempt to kill me.
Quote:
Go back to riding your Fag Dog Brokeback or whatever the fuck its called.
1990GT50 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2017, 07:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 85796
Location: dillon mt
Posts: 1,069
Yes earlier converter is shorter, If I get time tomarrow at my transmission shop I will tell how much taller the later converter is?????? and yes the later converter has larger spline and will go into early trans.
BIGJOEDUCKSLAYER is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2017, 08:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
1990GT50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 109423
Location: Benicia, CA
Posts: 4,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGJOEDUCKSLAYER View Post
Yes earlier converter is shorter, If I get time tomarrow at my transmission shop I will tell how much taller the later converter is?????? and yes the later converter has larger spline and will go into early trans.
Much appreciated!
__________________
Quote:
If you try to fight me I'm simply going to interpret it as an attempt to kill me.
Quote:
Go back to riding your Fag Dog Brokeback or whatever the fuck its called.
1990GT50 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2017, 12:37 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3239
Location: Benicia,CA
Posts: 10,509
Send a message via AIM to Brad Send a message via Yahoo to Brad
Just cut the fucking shaft down 3/8" and DONE!
__________________
TDO DYSFUNCTIONAL ROCKCRAWLERS
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.