Coil over shock set up technique - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2019, 06:58 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 113388
Coil over shock set up technique

I’ve been tuning my truck for about 8 years now and I’ve hit a road block that I’m sure many of you have also seen. I’m curious what some of you do to address this tuning hurdle.

This situation pertains to a single coil over shock (non bypass) and dual spring rates, focusing on rebound.

Following the standard spring rate setup technique, it’s simply not possible to get your rebound set correctly to handle both spring rates.

I.E. if you get it dialed for the initial rate, things get scary when the main spring come into play. Or, you compromise and your initial ride suffers substantially causing packing on all the small stuff.

It has made me realize that this is one of the biggest reasons for bypass shocks.

But, there has to be a better set up for single shocks. Less than a 200% step up? No step up?
weswes01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2019, 08:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice

Member # 73093
I leave this to the professionals... send your shocks into AccuTune Offroad and be done.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Overbuilt 97 Wrangler | 40" Black Labels, 14" Fox Coilovers, Trailing Arm Suspension, Atlas 4.3, Warn Winch, fully caged and tested
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
#BajaJeep @BajaJeep_mike
miguelitojeep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 11-26-2019, 08:21 AM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 6170