Hyperterm Powermax 380 problems? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2006, 09:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Tim Florian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member # 19246
Location: Castaic, Ca
Posts: 5,143
Send a message via AIM to Tim Florian
Hyperterm Powermax 380 problems?

I know there used to be a shop talk forum but I can't find it on the front page so I'm gonna post this here and hope someone can help me.

Hobie brought his plasma cutter over to my house to help me cut up the F-Toy I just bought. The plasma cutter worked fine at his house, but it won't work at mine. The top (green light) starts flashing as soon as I pull the trigger. It arcs for a second then nothing. The Hypertherm book says incorrect to low/to high voltage. I checked my plug and I get 245v which should be fine??? My Miller 185 welder works perfect when pluged in the same outlet?????????

So what else can I try?

Has anyone had this problem before?
__________________
Skinny Pedal Motorsports #2175. Please support those that support us.

Trail-Gear
Sway Away
PSC
Trans Action (Sun Valley CA)
Kick Ass Offroad / Performance Cryogenics
Spidertrax
BFG
Tim Florian is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2006, 09:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Member # 1792
Location: Parachute,CO
Posts: 4,185
Check the tip.Or the ground.Also make sure the tip pieces are together correct.Is the tip old?Try a new one.
__________________
CJJuggy.FI406/465/205/D60/14bolt FF on 39.5 Swampers. Kid's '70 Jeepster D44/14bolt FF.
Cheepin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 08-15-2006, 09:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
John H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5676
Location: Squaw Valley CA not the dam ski resort
Posts: 1,967
Send a message via ICQ to John H
How old is the plasma? Try running it on 115 VAC and see if that works. That machine is actually built by Miller. Same thing as a Spectrum 375. Older units had a know programming issue with the board. Would work fine on 115 but when plugged into 230 it would do what you are saying.
__________________
X Chassis #58
83 Hilux LT1-TH400-203-205-60's-40 Irok's
John H is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-15-2006, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
I'm back and watchin
 
Easy Rick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 43607
Location: Building Trick cars, pretty close to heaven.
Posts: 4,787
I don't think 245volts is right? Around 215V is. I think it is easily adapted from 110 to 220 not just plug and play? You may have it wired wrong? Was it 110v at your buddies house?

Good luck,
Easy Rick.
__________________
KOH racer #554

Huge thanks to our partners:

Trick Toys Fabrication, NITTO Tires, Longfield Super Joints, PSC steering components, Brian Smith
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Easy Rick is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2006, 10:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Tim Florian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member # 19246
Location: Castaic, Ca
Posts: 5,143
Send a message via AIM to Tim Florian
We installed a new tip and shield after it started doing this and it didn't make any differance.

He was running it on 230v. it has a switch on the back for 115/230 ans it is set to 230. The plug on it is a 230v plug so its' not real easy to switch to 110. But I will go take the plug apart and wire it to 110 to help try and narrow the troubleshooting process.

thanks guys any more tips???
__________________
Skinny Pedal Motorsports #2175. Please support those that support us.

Trail-Gear
Sway Away
PSC
Trans Action (Sun Valley CA)
Kick Ass Offroad / Performance Cryogenics
Spidertrax
BFG
Tim Florian is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2006, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member # 19251
Location: Cedarville, Michigan
Posts: 1,501
Our club has a hypotherm plasma cutter that was donated because the owner couldn't get it to work on household voltage. It turned out that the transformer was bad which was a cheap fix.

It shouldn't make a lick of difference but you could see if it still works at your buddies house as it did before. That might help identify if it is the machine or your garage wiring. Doubtfull, but something come loose in transport?

Short of that start poking around with a voltmeter.
microtus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2006, 10:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Tim Florian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member # 19246
Location: Castaic, Ca
Posts: 5,143
Send a message via AIM to Tim Florian
Well
I switched it to 115v and hardwired the cord into anoutlet in my garage and it works perfect. WTF I just tried my welder again in the 230 outlet and it works perfect. So I'm guessing something went wacky in transport, but what could that be?
__________________
Skinny Pedal Motorsports #2175. Please support those that support us.

Trail-Gear
Sway Away
PSC
Trans Action (Sun Valley CA)
Kick Ass Offroad / Performance Cryogenics
Spidertrax
BFG
Tim Florian is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2006, 10:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
I'm back and watchin
 
Easy Rick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 43607
Location: Building Trick cars, pretty close to heaven.
Posts: 4,787
I believe that the plug is wired incorrectly? Otherwise you have it, and something mysterious happened in transport! Sucks either way. Did you have to change the plug or use an adapter?

Easy Rick.
__________________
KOH racer #554

Huge thanks to our partners:

Trick Toys Fabrication, NITTO Tires, Longfield Super Joints, PSC steering components, Brian Smith
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Easy Rick is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2006, 11:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Tim Florian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member # 19246
Location: Castaic, Ca
Posts: 5,143
Send a message via AIM to Tim Florian
I took the plug off the end of the power cord and just wire nutted the wires directly into my 110 outlet box. I pulled the 230 plug apart and checked the wiring in the panel at the breaker and everything checks out. Plus the welder works. I'm thinking that the 245v seems high and may be out of the range of the plasma cutter's circuit board but I can't find anything that says what the range of volatge is for the powertherm. My electrician buddy says that 245 Volts isn't that high and that's probably not the problem, but who knows? I guess I need to try to call them tomorow to see what the range is.
__________________
Skinny Pedal Motorsports #2175. Please support those that support us.

Trail-Gear
Sway Away
PSC
Trans Action (Sun Valley CA)
Kick Ass Offroad / Performance Cryogenics
Spidertrax
BFG
Tim Florian is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2006, 11:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
I'm back and watchin
 
Easy Rick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 43607
Location: Building Trick cars, pretty close to heaven.
Posts: 4,787
You could try google, and I think its actually a Hypertherm Powermax 380? I found alot of info quickly like that.

Goood Luuuuck buddy,
Easy Rick.
__________________
KOH racer #554

Huge thanks to our partners:

Trick Toys Fabrication, NITTO Tires, Longfield Super Joints, PSC steering components, Brian Smith
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Easy Rick is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2006, 11:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Tim Florian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member # 19246
Location: Castaic, Ca
Posts: 5,143
Send a message via AIM to Tim Florian
I've found a ton of info but nothing that shows the range of voltage that the circuit board has paramiters for.

thanks Easy
__________________
Skinny Pedal Motorsports #2175. Please support those that support us.

Trail-Gear
Sway Away
PSC
Trans Action (Sun Valley CA)
Kick Ass Offroad / Performance Cryogenics
Spidertrax
BFG
Tim Florian is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2006, 06:34 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
John H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5676
Location: Squaw Valley CA not the dam ski resort
Posts: 1,967
Send a message via ICQ to John H
The voltage range is suppose to be +/- 10%. Sound like you need a new board. Hope it's under warranty. The board is expensive.

BTW I fix equipment like this for a living so I not just guessing. I've seen this happen before.
__________________
X Chassis #58
83 Hilux LT1-TH400-203-205-60's-40 Irok's
John H is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2006, 09:02 AM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member # 24704
Location: Illinois
Posts: 7,673
The range is likely more than that. I've never had a problem running 240v equipment on 208v.
Tim84K10 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2006, 09:30 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Flashover Mfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member # 25028
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 1,493
I have about 245V at my house as well. I have never had a problem with my Powermax 380 running at that voltage. Sorry, I don't have any suggestions for you.

Ryan
Flashover Mfg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2006, 11:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
I'm back and watchin
 
Easy Rick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 43607
Location: Building Trick cars, pretty close to heaven.
Posts: 4,787
So what happened? Inquiring minds want to know!

Rick.
__________________
KOH racer #554

Huge thanks to our partners:

Trick Toys Fabrication, NITTO Tires, Longfield Super Joints, PSC steering components, Brian Smith
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Easy Rick is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2006, 12:13 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Tim Florian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member # 19246
Location: Castaic, Ca
Posts: 5,143
Send a message via AIM to Tim Florian
I got really bus with phone calls 1st thing this morning and stayed busy all day so I still haven't called. But I will update as soon as i do. Thanks for asking.
__________________
Skinny Pedal Motorsports #2175. Please support those that support us.

Trail-Gear
Sway Away
PSC
Trans Action (Sun Valley CA)
Kick Ass Offroad / Performance Cryogenics
Spidertrax
BFG
Tim Florian is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2006, 08:43 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member # 32139
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 322
I Agree, I want to know! Ive got a Powermax 380 in my garage.

I had a problem with mine when running on 110v. I would hit the trigger sometimes and it would kick the breaker. Switched it to 220v with new breakers and it works great.
NotSosimple is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2006, 08:01 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
KNZRHOG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member # 24973
Location: Stockton, Ca.
Posts: 153
What ever happened? I was just about to order a 380 when I found this thread. Are they OK or should I go Thermal Dynamics?
__________________
75 Bronco
02 Superduty
KNZRHOG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2006, 09:25 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Tim Florian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member # 19246
Location: Castaic, Ca
Posts: 5,143
Send a message via AIM to Tim Florian
I never fixed the problem, but when Hobie got it back to his house it worked fine on 230v
__________________
Skinny Pedal Motorsports #2175. Please support those that support us.

Trail-Gear
Sway Away
PSC
Trans Action (Sun Valley CA)
Kick Ass Offroad / Performance Cryogenics
Spidertrax
BFG
Tim Florian is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2006, 09:30 PM   #20 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4375
Location: Quail Valley
Posts: 8,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Florian
I never fixed the problem, but when Hobie got it back to his house it worked fine on 230v
I have the 380 and run it on 220. Sometimes it will do what you described. I've fixed it each time by removing the tip, and either replacing it if it's bad or worn, or if in good shape, just turning it and snugging the holder back down.
mrblaine is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2006, 09:35 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Tim Florian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member # 19246
Location: Castaic, Ca
Posts: 5,143
Send a message via AIM to Tim Florian
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrblaine
I have the 380 and run it on 220. Sometimes it will do what you described. I've fixed it each time by removing the tip, and either replacing it if it's bad or worn, or if in good shape, just turning it and snugging the holder back down.
We tried new tips and the other part (shield???) as well. Nothing would work. It worked fine on 110. He got it home and walla back to working perfect?
__________________
Skinny Pedal Motorsports #2175. Please support those that support us.

Trail-Gear
Sway Away
PSC
Trans Action (Sun Valley CA)
Kick Ass Offroad / Performance Cryogenics
Spidertrax
BFG
Tim Florian is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2006, 09:35 PM   #22 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
300sniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26382
Location: Greenwood, Ca
Posts: 23,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by John H
That machine is actually built by Miller. Same thing as a Spectrum 375.
are you sure? i thought hypertherm were built by hypertherm. i know some hobart products are made by miller but i thought hypertherm was their own considering all they make is plasma cutters.
__________________
It's time to switch to whiskey, we've been drinkin' beer all night.
300sniper is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2006, 10:09 PM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
AthlonAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10462
Location: Iowa
Posts: 4,486
I've had the exact same thing happen with mine. I've had the Powermax 380 for a good 5+ years and never a problem through all the daily abuse I put it through. Earlier this year we needed it over at my buddies place, wouldn't work, flashed the same lights and I thought it was busted on the way there. Got it home, has been working fine ever since. All the other 220 stuff (air comp, arc welder...) work fine at his place. I was the one who actually wired up his shop, I doublechecked everything and nothing was out of place. However when he mentioned it to another electrician he said something about the freq. or something in the line and that certain sensitive devices would have problems?? Beats the shit out of me, that's beyond my scope.
AthlonAJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2006, 10:19 PM   #24 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Member # 21887
Location: pleasanton ca
Posts: 2,860
Send a message via AIM to extremetoy
the same thing happened to me when i got mine bace after lending it to a friend. every time he uses it he puts a different plug on and when he put my plug back on he put the wires in the wrong spot.
__________________
Sit down lawn mower
extremetoy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2006, 11:20 PM   #25 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 63225
Posts: 1,739
How many problems can one man have?
TeenyCAR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.