mounting transmission sender for gauge - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2010, 08:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member # 21215
Location: Tennessee...The land of high horsepower and low IQ
Posts: 6,984
mounting transmission sender for gauge

Is there a simple way to mount the trans sender for this gauge
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/ATM-4457/
without drilling/tapping the pan. I've got a cast alum pan, plus it's freshly filled and installed in my buggy. I'm trying to think of an alternative way to mount the sender that would work. I've got an external cooler that is easily accessible. Wondering what others have done. Thanks
redneckengineered is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 08:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
rockinfive+2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Member # 2592
Location: dixon calif solano county
Posts: 1,796
Send a message via AIM to rockinfive+2
depends on what tranny you have but they all have test ports. The ports will give a reading but most wont do it in P or N. If not autometer sells a block that goes inline of tranny lines that has a port.
__________________
Ken Cecchini
Thanks To: RCV Performance, Ruffstuff ,12 voltguy & SFS Industries
rockinfive+2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 08-09-2010, 09:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member # 21215
Location: Tennessee...The land of high horsepower and low IQ
Posts: 6,984
Forgot to mention that. It's a turbo 400 and running a cooler with -6 tube ends.
redneckengineered is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-09-2010, 09:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
thhhpptthh!
 
sceep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10798
Posts: 46,918
Send a message via AIM to sceep Send a message via MSN to sceep
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockinfive+2 View Post
autometer sells a block that goes inline of tranny lines that has a port.

^^ this.

put it inline.
__________________
My mom wrote a kids book!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Quote:
Originally Posted by USDA forest service website
It is every American's birthright to use the national forests and grasslands in multiple ways, including outdoor recreation in all its forms.
sceep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 10:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member # 21215
Location: Tennessee...The land of high horsepower and low IQ
Posts: 6,984
http://www.autometer.com/cat_accesso...st.aspx?pid=40

Looks like they are made for hard line. I'm running all soft on mine. Also, would it be better to run the sender on the outlet from the trans (hot fluid) or return line to the trans (cooled fluid).
redneckengineered is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 10:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
thhhpptthh!
 
sceep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10798
Posts: 46,918
Send a message via AIM to sceep Send a message via MSN to sceep
Quote:
Originally Posted by redneckengineered View Post
http://www.autometer.com/cat_accesso...st.aspx?pid=40

Looks like they are made for hard line. I'm running all soft on mine. Also, would it be better to run the sender on the outlet from the trans (hot fluid) or return line to the trans (cooled fluid).
so adapt some hose nipples to the block and hose clamp the soft line to it. this isnt rocket surgery mang!!

gauge on the hot side.
__________________
My mom wrote a kids book!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Quote:
Originally Posted by USDA forest service website
It is every American's birthright to use the national forests and grasslands in multiple ways, including outdoor recreation in all its forms.
sceep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 10:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member # 21215
Location: Tennessee...The land of high horsepower and low IQ
Posts: 6,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by sceep View Post
so adapt some hose nipples to the block and hose clamp the soft line to it. this isnt rocket surgery mang!!

gauge on the hot side.
That's what I figured but thought that would be too ghetto. I guess there isn't really enough pressure in these lines to matter. This may even work better and wouldn't require any nipple rigging
http://www.autometer.com/cat_accesso...il.aspx?vid=49
redneckengineered is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 10:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Member # 1636
Location: East Rutherford NJ
Posts: 8,899
put it in one of the test ports.

Last edited by chris demartini; 08-09-2010 at 10:49 AM.
chris demartini is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 11:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member # 21215
Location: Tennessee...The land of high horsepower and low IQ
Posts: 6,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris demartini View Post
put it in one of the test ports.
Do you happen to know the pump pressure test port size? The sender I have is 1/8" NPT and I'm thinking that's the size of the port. If so, I could do this with no adapter rigging. Will the fluid reading from there be as accurate as taking the reading from the outlet fitting? My experience with automatics is limited and after grenading one built 400 already I'm not taking any chances.
redneckengineered is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 11:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Fistful of Boomstick
 
usmcdoc14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Member # 13344
Location: Utility Muffin Research Kitchen
Posts: 45,474
Send a message via AIM to usmcdoc14 Send a message via Yahoo to usmcdoc14
Last time I did one it was inline/hot side before the cooler. I ran AN lines so it was easy to plop one in right by the trans.
__________________
Doc-14 Tactical Products:
When it absolutely, positively needs to be made from random crap found in the back of my garage.

usmcdoc14 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 11:59 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Member # 1636
Location: East Rutherford NJ
Posts: 8,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by redneckengineered View Post
Do you happen to know the pump pressure test port size? The sender I have is 1/8" NPT and I'm thinking that's the size of the port. If so, I could do this with no adapter rigging. Will the fluid reading from there be as accurate as taking the reading from the outlet fitting? My experience with automatics is limited and after grenading one built 400 already I'm not taking any chances.
Every test port I've seen was 1/8 NPT. My Dodge has the sender screwed right into the test port.
chris demartini is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 12:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member # 21215
Location: Tennessee...The land of high horsepower and low IQ
Posts: 6,984
Awesome. I've been looking at Earl's fittings and have put together a pretty decent setup in my head that would work for the outlet line and be clean. However, since the test port on the drivers side is 1/8" NPT and pretty easy to get to I can screw the sending unit directly in there. The question is, is there an advantage/disadvantage either way? I did some research and like everything else this has been hashed out on Pirate somewhat. There's a good thread where Keith chimes in and says he runs on the test port
https://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showp...0&postcount=30
I'm thinking if that's good enough for him that's good enough for me but I'm still interested in hearing technical reasons why.
redneckengineered is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 02:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3370
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 8,129
I put a T in the line going out to my cooler and put the sending unit in there. You need to add a ground wire to the T. I just used a crimped end and hoseclamp to hold it to the Brass T. Mines all AN-6 fittings as well. I also used that T to add an AN checkvalve to keep the fluid up in the cooler.

Next build I'll machine my own t with a tapped hole for a ground screw and mounting brackets built in.
__________________
:grinpimp:

Last edited by Pook; 08-09-2010 at 02:51 PM.
Pook is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 03:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
One Big Zuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Member # 11145
Location: Hamburg (Buffalo), NY
Posts: 762
art carr told me hot line. you want to know when it if getting hot not when it is overheated.
__________________
TTC 2010 Competitor #48 Thanks for the votes it was a great time.
Thanks to Micky Thompson Tires,King Shocks,Warn,RCV axles,ARB,Viking Winchline, OMF Wheels for the help to make my junk run.
One Big Zuk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 05:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4197
Location: tennessee
Posts: 1,486
Andrew,
I put one in line. I took a chunk of aluminum, one inch thick by 3 inches square, and drilled a passage way all the way through it. Then tapped both ends of this passage to a pipe thread. The made another passage intersecting the original passage like a 'T". Then taped it to a pipe thread and put the sender into the block of aluminum. I then drilled two holes through the block of aluminum,taking care not to hit the passages I drilled through and mounted it to my firewall with two bolts. I used PIPE thread to AN adapters to hook up my soft trans line to the block. Looks exactly like the autometer block except it is polished aluminum instead of anodized..
brian

Last edited by onetonwillysands10; 08-09-2010 at 05:35 PM.
onetonwillysands10 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2010, 07:50 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member # 21215
Location: Tennessee...The land of high horsepower and low IQ
Posts: 6,984
Haha, Brian you kill me man. That is totally you...custom, clean, and badass. BTW, the pan you sent me was perfect. Fits my chassis great. If I install the sender in my hot line I'll probably just use this little guy instead of the autometer adapter.
http://www.holley.com/991703ERL.asp
Combine that with a couple nipples and I should be good to go. I'm still considering just threading the sender into the pump test port though and trying that.

Last edited by redneckengineered; 08-10-2010 at 07:51 AM.
redneckengineered is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.