What's the amp capacity on this circuit? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Miscellaneous > General Chit-Chat
Notices

Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2016, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 168923
What's the amp capacity on this circuit?

Sorry to start another electrical thread, I didn't want to hijack the other one or ten that are going right niw. I'm looking at picking up a 220v welder, what's the capacity of this circuit, 30a or 60a? I'm not an electrician, and never will be, my Google fu has also failed me today. I lost our house to a fire in 2014, I'd like to not repeat it again.

crawlerman79 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2016, 09:59 PM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 20099
Looks like 60 amp dryer and 100 amp A/C. I've never seen those tie bars used before, though though type of breakers are pretty rigged IMO. Should use a larger panel instead.

Least they did use those connectors though, I rented a house that they just used 2 single buss (120v) breakers to feed the kitchen stove, baseboard heat, etc. Couple times I had just one breaker trip and still have 120v feeding. That was the house that with every breaker turned off half the house still had power somehow.

Last edited by nate379; 01-24-2016 at 10:01 PM.
nate379 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2016, 10:05 PM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 18369
Sounds like a way to add two 240V circuits to a panel that only has enough room for 1 left.

So what you have is a 240V 30A circuit and a 240V 50A circuit. The metal thing is suposed to pull the other breaker off like the pin does between the 50's.

Why Do They Group Four Circuit Breakers Together? - DoItYourself.com Community Forums

Last edited by Wazzobie; 01-24-2016 at 10:11 PM.
Wazzobie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message