Recommend me a home router - Page 3 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Miscellaneous > General Chit-Chat
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2017, 05:15 PM   #51 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ROCKTACO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6296
Location: Castle Rock
Posts: 1,470
Priest, How is the Netgear 3200 holding up?
__________________
CALIFORNIA CREEPERS
ROCKTACO is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-20-2017, 02:41 PM   #52 (permalink)
Registered User
 
LR Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member # 20396
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to LR Max
Something to consider. I got the Google Wifi unit. We only have 1200 sq ft, but one unit covers everything pretty good.

In the past, I've had trouble getting signal in the bedroom (farthest point from the router) but this thing does well. Also there is a common area outside our house. The old router barely reached it. No problems with this unit. I'm sure if I actually placed the router in a good spot, that would help as well.

What really does it for me, is the app that controls it. Very nice to instantly setup a guest network and take it down. Also I can check usage, etc from my iPad. Very easy.

Only downside is that it only has one ethernet output port. But really, the only thing we have that runs on ethernet is the amazon fire TV box (which really that doesn't have to be, but its more of a convenience thing).

For a bigger space, you can get these puppies to talk to each other easily. While not a professional setup, they made it easy to cover an entire house.

But yeah. Had it for 5 months. So far so good. Really like it. Great if you don't want to get too technical with your router setup.
LR Max is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-20-2017, 06:53 PM   #53 (permalink)
Man Child
 
Priest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Member # 2175
Location: Canton (Ohio not China)
Posts: 24,724
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROCKTACO View Post
Priest, How is the Netgear 3200 holding up?
0 problems. No complaints.
__________________
Dream big
Work hard
Don't be an asshole
Priest is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2017, 09:37 AM   #54 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ROCKTACO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6296
Location: Castle Rock
Posts: 1,470
Good to hear. I ended up buying the Nighthawk r7500.
https://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-Night...ighthawk+r7500
in retrospect maybe I should have paid a bit more and stepped up to the 8000 like you have. I have 30 days to refund if it doesn't perform to expectations.
__________________
CALIFORNIA CREEPERS
ROCKTACO is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2017, 04:39 PM   #55 (permalink)
Registered User
 
vanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Member # 422626
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overbear View Post
Dollar for Dollar one of the best routers on the market in its price bracket.

https://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-Night.../dp/B00F0DD0I6
Ditto. have had this hawk for a year. love it
__________________
y2kzr2
vanr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2017, 04:41 PM   #56 (permalink)
Registered User
 
fishbone333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Member # 77207
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 794
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanr View Post
Ditto. have had this hawk for a year. love it
I went and bought one too...blazing fast. My firestik loads movies fast, used to take 5 minutes...lol
__________________
99 Taco with stuff
fishbone333 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2017, 05:26 PM   #57 (permalink)
Registered User
 
44Runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Member # 9095
Location: Mount Pleasant, SC
Posts: 6,771
Send a message via AIM to 44Runner
I have had the Nighthawk X4 AC2350 for a few months now and it is amazing. On Amazon right now they are on sale for $171. Best bang for the buck out there.
__________________
Sold: 1999 4Runner SC 3.4 5spd D44/8" 35s, 1989 4Runner 3.slow 5spd SAS
1990 PZJ77 factory locked
44Runner is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2017, 05:46 PM   #58 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Member # 758930
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overbear View Post
Dollar for Dollar one of the best routers on the market in its price bracket.

https://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-Night.../dp/B00F0DD0I6
Also have one for of these... It's great. Covers a three story no problem.
Smogsucks is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2017, 05:49 PM   #59 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Member # 758930
Posts: 64
I also have this. https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00KW...d9L&ref=plSrch
It's a bit over your budget, but it is great for streaming and gaming, due to the 5ghz channel it has
Smogsucks is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2017, 09:32 PM   #60 (permalink)
Registered User
 
AzWebMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Member # 7449
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Posts: 5,163
I've been fairly pleased with the NetGear R6300V2 router provided by my internet service provider. However the only thing going through it are my wireless devices (3 phones + 2 tablets + the occasional "guest"). My server & PC's are all behind a Cisco ASA 5510. The NetGear router sits outside of the Cisco's firewall, so even if someone hacks into my NetGear, they still have to go through my Cisco to get to any real data.

There's a few reason's I went with this setup, the primary being a permanent tunnel with my wife's office.
__________________
WWG1WGA
AzWebMan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2017, 07:26 AM   #61 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ROCKTACO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6296
Location: Castle Rock
Posts: 1,470
The Nighthawk turned out to be a real POS. It was constantly dropping on the 2.4 band and the GUI was from 2001. Returned it for a Synology RT2600AC which has a kick ass GUI and so far is performing fantastically. It's also great for running a NAS.

For those interested:
https://www.amazon.com/Synology-RT26...+ac2900+router

https://www.amazon.com/Synology-RT26...+ac2900+router
__________________
CALIFORNIA CREEPERS
ROCKTACO is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2017, 09:00 AM   #62 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Lil Uzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6359
Location: Pond
Posts: 15,263
This is what absolutely sucks about "knowledge" and "information".

Nighthawk router . WTF ?
__________________
not surprized yer confused yer face was burried in the pillow pretty deep as gizim drunk as you were
Lil Uzi is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2017, 09:10 AM   #63 (permalink)
Registered User
 
85f150dsel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 43079
Location: The Mitten...bible thumping heartland
Posts: 6,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROCKTACO View Post
The Nighthawk turned out to be a real POS.
Nighthawk has sucked ass for over a dozen years now.

I've been less than impressed with any home router, even SOHO bring the suck once you start to load them up with background services.
__________________
smileysarmory.com
85f150dsel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2017, 11:29 AM   #64 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ROCKTACO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6296
Location: Castle Rock
Posts: 1,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Uzi View Post
This is what absolutely sucks about "knowledge" and "information".

Nighthawk router . WTF ?
It a higher end offering from Netgear. And all Netgear routers use the same shitty outdated GUI. All router manufactures could learn from what Senology has done.
__________________
CALIFORNIA CREEPERS
ROCKTACO is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2017, 11:53 AM   #65 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nate379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member # 20099
Location: AK
Posts: 5,501
How about a router that I can use about 2 miles away? (House to shop). I have 10mb unlimited Internet at home. Shop is 128k (or maybe 256... its slow, even for just email, Quickbooks and parts lookups), 5gb limit. The unlimited is $100/month, so rather not get 2 plans.

Last edited by nate379; 06-04-2017 at 11:54 AM.
nate379 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2017, 09:06 AM   #66 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ROCKTACO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6296
Location: Castle Rock
Posts: 1,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate379 View Post
How about a router that I can use about 2 miles away? (House to shop). I have 10mb unlimited Internet at home. Shop is 128k (or maybe 256... its slow, even for just email, Quickbooks and parts lookups), 5gb limit. The unlimited is $100/month, so rather not get 2 plans.
Not sure your going to find a solution, but if you have power to your shop a wireless extender might do it.
__________________
CALIFORNIA CREEPERS
ROCKTACO is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2017, 09:19 AM   #67 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4178
Location: Lacey, WA USA
Posts: 899
Send a message via AIM to mlogan24 Send a message via Yahoo to mlogan24
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate379 View Post
How about a router that I can use about 2 miles away? (House to shop). I have 10mb unlimited Internet at home. Shop is 128k (or maybe 256... its slow, even for just email, Quickbooks and parts lookups), 5gb limit. The unlimited is $100/month, so rather not get 2 plans.
A yagi might work.
mlogan24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2017, 09:41 AM   #68 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Member # 312354
Posts: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate379 View Post
How about a router that I can use about 2 miles away? (House to shop). I have 10mb unlimited Internet at home. Shop is 128k (or maybe 256... its slow, even for just email, Quickbooks and parts lookups), 5gb limit. The unlimited is $100/month, so rather not get 2 plans.
Take a look at Ubiquiti, they make an air fiber antenna that'll reach 15mi if you have a clean site line.

I got sick of the consumer crap and put in a managed POE switch and two Unify access points. Rock solid performance and excellent range.
ironmangq is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2017, 09:35 PM   #69 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nate379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member # 20099
Location: AK
Posts: 5,501
Yup have power, plumbing, heat, etc. Just the internet that comes "free" with the phone and fax plan is poo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROCKTACO View Post
Not sure your going to find a solution, but if you have power to your shop a wireless extender might do it.
nate379 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2017, 04:18 AM   #70 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Haole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5859
Location: Here!
Posts: 108,055
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate379 View Post
Yup have power, plumbing, heat, etc. Just the internet that comes "free" with the phone and fax plan is poo.
If you have a line of sight, it's easy.
__________________
Ka 'aina uluwehi, ko kakou
kuleana.


- The lush life-giving land, our personal responsibility.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Darlington County Chapter
Haole is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2017, 06:46 AM   #71 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Member # 48233
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 11,383
i'm a little late to this game but Mikrotik routers are really sweet, especially if you like to play with them. They're user friendly for the illiterate too

I bought the RB2011iL-IN for $100 and made my own customized network. Their hex poe router is cheaper but the wireless is not as capable. I have a 1/2 acre lot and the router is just about centrally located on the property.. Wireless works at both ends.. The signal is weak when I get behind the garage though, so I may do an add on router/switch so i have the boosted signal in the garage and behind it
__________________
[quote=texasblake;11194923]
they may be waving like mccain for the rest of their life, but you taught them an important life lesson and they had fun doing it.[/quote]

[QUOTE=xyjbeaker;9759686]"mexican food reminds you of my face?"[/QUOTE]
Doc Holiday13 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2017, 08:01 AM   #72 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member # 193950
Posts: 1,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironmangq View Post
Take a look at Ubiquiti, they make an air fiber antenna that'll reach 15mi if you have a clean site line.
That's where I would look. I would try a pair of Nanostation M2s ($80 each): https://www.amazon.com/Ubiquiti-Nano...dp/B00HXT8K4O/
If that doesn't work, I would try a pair of Bullet M2s with a directional antenna (something like https://www.amazon.com/Ubiquiti-Bull...dp/B015X0QYQU/ perhaps)

Aaron Z
aczlan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.